We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Pod

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Pod to your Saves list
The Park Pod
4.5 of 5 Inn   |   23/13 Khader Nawaz Khan Road, | Chennai (Madras) 600006, India, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 225 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Damp, overpriced, mosquito infested, total horror.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
16
13
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The rooms were nice with cool art painted on the walls. The Apple system on the TV with music was great.
Breakfast was nice and the wi-fi is free.
Definitely recommend the hotel as it is trendy with big rooms.
The pool was brown though so don't get your hopes up about having a swim!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
All of us at The Park Pod are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Its a boutique hotel and is away from the honk and bonks of Chennai City. I stay here as my office is 5 minutes by walk so I am free of the traveling within the city. The hotel is on Khader Nawaz Khan Road which is a high end area of Chennai, but ask any auto rickshaw driver or even car rental companies about its location, they cannot find them and initially go berserk. I have raised this point many times in my comments form but nothing has been done, so I have stopped writing about it.

I guarantee you that your driver wont be able to locate the hotel if you were to arrive late midnight into this hotel as it happened to me.The lighted signboard goes dead at midnight and you have to be Sherlock Holmes to locate it. The hotel is tucked inside from the road and is not easy to find as the signboards are not clear to read. The designer of the hotel didn't bother too much about it this issue....

I have stayed here 6 times already and find the place fitting to my work needs. the rooms are big, designer types, reservation is not an issue, very cordial staff, nice and comfortable beds and the complementary wi-fi works perfectly. Its is a dead silent place compared to other hotels as there are only 20 rooms. No great views from the windows so the curtains are always closed..........

There is only one restaurant which serves the same breakfast everyday with limited choices but you can ask for the food you wish to eat and they will make it if it was available. Breakfast is complimentary but I guess they can add more choices by bring the food from the The Park Hotel which is a 5 min drive from this hotel

Dining is Italian but i guess they have Thai too. Italian food is great and there is a good collection of fine wines. the bar closes at 11 pm and the last order for food is 11.30 pm.....

The management can think of adding another restaurant where the swimming pool is situated. Its a sheer waste of space as the pool is hardly used. Make a nice Thai or Mexican restaurant...

If you stay here you can use the gym, pool and the bar at The Park Hotel free of charge and the trip is free with a pick up and drop.....

So it a mix of both the worlds as I say, but the hotel makes it perfect for a business traveler if you are not those fussy types......rewind in your own world away from the hustle n bustle of the Pondy or T Nagar.............

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Santosh,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad we met your expectation of service, however, our endeavour is to exceed them and I assure you that the efforts are ongoing. Thank you for your detailed feed back on the visibility of the Hotel especially in the night, I am glad to inform you that your feedback is well taken by my tam and we are already in the process making it more brighter and prominent. I am also pleased to inform you that we are indeed working on adding additional cuisine options as well as a chic, modern and unique dining space. I am sure that this facility will be available to our guests very shortly.
My Team and I once again look forward to welcoming you at The Park Pod and wish you an inspiring stay with us."

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel has innovative styling and in room features are good. Staff was courteous and very helpful.

Room was NOT spotlessly clean (Whitewah problem). Housekeeping, though was very good.

Room doesn't get locked from inside by push of button. You have to use key for locking. A common bolt inside the room would be useful. I opened another room by mistake and others opened my room also when I was changing clothes. Leads to awkward situations as you don't generally lock BY KEY AFTER entering the room.

There is no switch near the bed which will switch off all lights at night. You have to go to each swich separately. Some switches worked sometime and at other times refused to respond.

Hotel is not so bad but it would be better for hotel to look into these small issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Namboodri
Thank you for your recent stay at The Park POD. Your valuable feedback is appreciated. We regret that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel with regards to the electrical switch connections in the room and assure you that my team is already on the job to take the necessary corrective measures. I am glad to inform and thank you for your suggestion for an additional common bolt/ latch for the doors which has been well taken by the team at The Park Pod and the work is already in progress to implement the same.
Please do view our lapses with a small degree of tolerance and do afford us a chance to receive you at The Park Pod Chennai for a great stay next time. I would also like to use this opportunity to acknowledge your positive comments on the Design, Staff courteousness and the performance of the Housekeeping staff. Your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We believe that the small details make a big difference and help us generate some very special moments for our guests.
We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director | Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Nice place to stay with excellent staff and amenities. One can always book with no regret but will have to manage with Italian cuisine (am sure TPP guys are working on offering varied cuisine in future). Perfect place unless one is hell bent on natural ventilation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Ms. Tanya,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad we met your expectation of service, however, our endeavor is to exceed them and I assure you that the efforts are ongoing. I am pleased to inform you that we are indeed working on adding additional cuisine options as well as a chic, modern and unique dining space. I am sure that this facility will be available to our guests very shortly. My Team and I once again look forward to welcoming you at The Park Pod and wish you an inspiring stay with us.

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director | Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was definitely not a regret for me. Good stay. Its away from the honking sound of the chennai city. Wonderful and comfortable room..It was by accident I choose park pod however it is a good accident indeed. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
“Dear Ms. Baalamani,
All of us at The Park Pod are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai.”

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director | Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Clean room. Interesting play of artwork on the wall in a very modern tech room. Great bathroom. Food was surprisingly great with generous serving.
Sad windows; would have been great to see further then 1 meter; and have more natural light.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, Manager at The Park Pod, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Ms Michel,

Thank you for your valuable time and comments, all of us are delighted to know that you have had a memorable stay with us and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your feedback motivates all of us to sustain and enhance our focus on small details. We eagerly await your return and hope to become the preferred destination for you whenever you travel to Chennai.
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at The Park Pod during your recent visit to Chennai.

Regards
Feroze Khan
Director | Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Pod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Pod

Address: 23/13 Khader Nawaz Khan Road, | Chennai (Madras) 600006, India, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Pod 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Pod is a 20 room boutique hotel located in the high street of Chennai’s fashion district - Khader Nawaz Khan Road, Nungambakkam. Designed by Vikram Phadke, this elegant contemporary hotel features a collection of individualistic spaces. A driveway studded with twinkling lights slips into a space dominated by floating lights & lots of lustrous glass. Enjoy a swim in the startling red mosaic-tiled lap pool while the Resident DJ plays lounge & house tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Pod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Pod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.