We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget long term stay for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lotus Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lotus Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
The Lotus Serviced Apartments
15, Burkit Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Budget long term stay for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is an ok budget long term stay hotel for business purpose. I stayed on and off for many months at various times. They serve buffet breakfast but nothing great and not so clean too. They dont have a restaurant but they get food arranged from their other hotel and surrounding restaurants. Lots of types of rooms (some recently renovated) to choose and excellently clean. No proper cable channel service which is a sore point.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor and / or new renovated rooms. Ensure you get all cable channels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
7
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed at many service apartments and hotels in major cities. Based on reviews I thought it is nice place to stay. For the price charged, you can stay at a luxurious hotel with all the amenities.Rooms are small and there is no walking space inside the rooms.Bathroom cieling is not finished in one of the room. Very slow service.

Forget about room service, they produced wrong bills at the time of check out.

Stay away from this place

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

An OK hotel. The room was clean, but an unpleasant smell consistently drifted in from the drains. Things like requesting soap and towels (4 people, staying 5 days) required repeated effort. The breakfast is adequate but not great; it had the only really bad coffee I've had in India, mediocre cereal, but very good chutneys. The location is good -- auto drivers can find it if you give the nearby Residency Towers as a landmark, and there's a great sweets / snacks shop on the same street as the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Lotus this weekend.

My first requirement was an extended checkout. They have a 24 hour checkout policy and you can check in any time. That kind of flexibility is great when you are driving down and cannot be sure when you'll get there.

My other requirement was a room with a kitchen. This I did not get. Like someone else mentioned before, the kitchenette room had a strange musty smell and we traded in for a suite instead.The kitchenette is adequately stocked and this room would be a great option for someone staying long on work. They DO need to check the plumbing though.

Also, the whole place is by design sealed and air conditioned so if you like fresh air and open windows you might want to look elsewhere.

The breakfast was ok but they have a lot of other eating options close at hand - being so centrally located - so that was not a problem.

The room was neat and clean. It was spacious enough to give the kids room to play for the short while we were there.

However, this is purely a functional place. No pool and I did not notice(to be fair i did not look or ask for) any kind of entertainment. The TV had sufficient channels and decent display quality.

So all in all, for short or business trips, a good place to stay in the center of the city. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Unless you <i>really</i> want to cook, skip the kitchenette room. It smells. Saravana do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was initially staying in an expensive hotel in T Nagar which has mediocre service for the price it charged. Lotus apartment was good change from the hotel. Rooms were clean and well managed. Break fast was decent. Wi-fi was slow but reasonable. Would recommend stay for business and personal tour. Hotel is a kilometer away from Pondy bazaar and little more for T nagar.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here again for three day with my girlfriends and we were happy with the reception and the fast check in . The room were clean and breakfast was good . Staying here we felt safe as all of us were ladies and the people were kind and caring. The airport drop off was on time as not many taxi will arrive as early as 430am . The staff were very effective ESP mr Srinivas who help book my room many months ago. We enjoy our stay very much...

Room Tip: We love the 1st floor.... Corner rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in this hotel on business trip. First, I got hotel room where wifi connection was very poor, mostly not available. After few days of raising this issue manager agreed to move me to another room.

Breakfast is purely Indian, basically no western options. Corn flakes are some cheap stuff so the don't taste like corn flakes.

Nice bathrooms, comfortable stay and quality reflects price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lotus Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Serviced Apartments

Address: 15, Burkit Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 324 Specialty Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lotus Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Serviced Apartments Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lotus Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.