We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okayish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Tower

Central Tower
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Central Tower to your Saves list
Central Tower
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17/2, Poonamallee High Road | (Opp central Railway Station), Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okayish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Chose the hotel because work was 2 minutes away. Was there for a night so fine nothing really to add. Not a bad property. Liked the breakfast. Like other reviews was a bit miffed with early check out time but had no option. Hotel policy is a hotel policy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
17
14
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Forest UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I arrived by train and so the best thing was being able to walk straight to the hotel, grab a meal and sleep. I would recommend it for that reason
The room was nice as was the service
The only downside was the 9am check out time. I would have paid more to have longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We checked in at 10.30pm after a long day and a flight from goa we were very rudely greeted made to wait 20 unexplained minuits and finally sent up to our grubby stained room. It REEKS of mothballs and the sheets are stained, they just don't feel clean. The breakfast has no western option except bread (no toast) I believe they're are much better hotels than this in chennai and would not reccomend it to others. They also tried to make us pay 2000 rupees for laundry when infant I had the bill for 500 I believe they are out to rip you off

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a recent business trip. I normally do not stay in hotels in Chennai but this time had to for some reason and I chose this one for its location to the customer I had to be with for 3 days.

Well I sometimes wonder the hotel pics should always be viewed from the ones taken by the customers as the professional ones could be really misleading. The hotel front is like what you see in the pic but it on its left and right are also shady buildings which you cannot see in this pic. Anyways that does not matter much. This hotel has average rooms and very small washrooms. Hence to say its value for money maybe just right. But what i really was shocked to see was there service.

If you order food it takes about 45mins to get a simple Daal roti. And water...it took them almost 1:40 minutes to get a bottle of water to me which they got after I called some 6 times to Room Service and escalated the matter to Senior manager whom i had to call twice too....so really i dont know what this was about. I thought this was one off.

But the same thing happened the next day also with food taking more than an hour to come. Now i called them to clear the room, no body came for about 2 hours. Then finally i personally had to keep it out of the room myself.

The icing on the cake was when the day i was about to leave, i had asked for an Airport transfer and the reception told me to come down at 5:30 am which i did only to find that there was no drop arranged for me. This is after they have a travel shop right in the same premises. After shouting and cursing something was arranged. I thanked god that i managed to leave and then decided never to come back again here.

So my recommendation is when you come in next here, make sure you point out to the reception about the service you would want and if you do not get it....make a noise!!

Room Tip: Try not to take the rooms toward the main road. The whole night the trucks move and it coudl be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

After travelling for 3 months, I met my finance here to start his two week trip and end my travels. The hotel room was fine, has air conditioning etc. The location was good, near the station and some restaurants. However, when we left the receptionist debuted the price and tried to charge us twice the agreed amount. Luckily we had a print out of the email and stuck to our guns... in the end we just walked out, but it wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GORAKHPUR ,U.P.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

i go to chennai atleast twice a year and i always stay in this hotel. room service is excellent . being near to the central railway station is a plus point. food is also good though i think the waiting period between ordering and getting the food on table is little bit long.but the superb taste of food makes up for it. rooms are neat and clean . staff nature is very co operative .ONE OF THE BEST HOTEL FOR THE PERSONS WHO ARE GOING TO VISIT CHENNAI FOR THE FIRST TIME.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I spent 5 nights here in Early February. Big problem with communicating. Breakfast for Indians. Westerners not catered for. Had to ask for room to be cleaned, toilet paper was requested but a pack of unflushable serviettes was sent. Bad value. wouldn't recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. I had view of a wall till I changed and then had a view of the mosque next door. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Tower

Address: 17/2, Poonamallee High Road | (Opp central Railway Station), Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Tower 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Central Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.