We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The First Chinese Veg Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Drum

Flower Drum
Prince Plaza, Pantheon Road, Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 4,449 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The First Chinese Veg Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For a change you can eat with out fear, in a Chinese joint, if you are a pure vege, as this place do not make any non-veg stuff. The small write up they give for Veg food is also make you a pround eater of grass!
The food with starter and the soup is out of the world. You are plesently surprised at the quality of food and the taste is made for an Indian. The main course that follows with noodles and rice with Thai curry and sause is also very tasty. This is a very nice eat out for a week end lunch/ dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“eat without guilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

well this is the only pure vegetarian chinese and thai food joint in chennai.the variety on offer is awesome.food isvery good but again highly understaffed.service is pathethic ,just 3 fellows taking care of such a big restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is my hot favorite. Whenever i am in Chennai i have to visit Flowerdrum...the best part about this place is the interiors...you feel relaxed.

The serving staff are so appropriately managing the show that its worth a watch seeing them serve. Then comes the food...my favorites are Veg fried rice and fried baby corn...Dragon noodles is also nice.

Well the kitchen is closed from 3pm to 6pm. So avoid going at these times. I have a sentimental attachment to this place because before my marriage me and my wife had their first lunch out here together...

Highly recommended place for Chinese food lovers...

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Spicy veggie place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

One of the best places in Chennai to get some spicy vegetarian food, somehow, not many reviews here. Their "Corn Cornets" starter is splendid. Their soup bowl serves 4. We ordered about 3 starters and 3 main courses and a couple of desserts. All were very tasty. Waiters are courteous. Ambiance is pretty cozy. It cost us Rs.1600 for 4.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We used to book this resturant for our company guest senior management and we found this resturant very good, Resturant ambience Very good, Food Quality very good and most importantly services of hotel is very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flower Drum also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Flower Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Drum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.