We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate Samudra inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Samudra Inn

Save Saved
You added Samudra Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samudra Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111/54, Poonamallee High Road | Periamet Park Town, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hate Samudra inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I booked a room at Samudra using clear trip. These Clear trip people are very clever indeed. They never inform you on the check in time till the booking is completed. Once I booked the ticket, I got to know that I can check in only at 12.00hrs. So I called Samudra inn and informed that I will be arriving early by 5.00AM and leaving by 2.00PM. They said it can't be done or else I have to pay 300 Rs extra. Then I asked about the location and nearby landmark for the hotel. The person from Samudra inn, Just said periamet and nothing else and hung up the phone, When I was about to say thank you the line was disconnected. Seeing all the reviews from trip advisor about Samudra inn, I made a mistake of booking this room. I don't know about rooms or other facilities but the staff was so impolite. Good bye to Cleartrip and Samudra inn. Will never use you again in my life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
10
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Value for money, spic and span rooms, good and spacious rooms with courteous staff. Only draw back is the approach road is narrow and the hotel does not have a eatery attached but thats not an issue since plenty are available at stone throw distance.

The triple bed a/c room we stayed was good for Rs 1500

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The place was a good value for money - rooms were clean, they had a big fan and good TV programmes. It's a short (10 min) walk away from Central Railway Station, and Park Railway Station, so it's quite accessible. Would be great if they had Wifi access!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calicut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Good value for money, very friendly staff with helping mentality with own transport / taxi station. Easy access to Metro / Rail network and excellent restaurants near by with in the walking distance, unfortunately they don't have a own food outlet but it is not at all an issue. Rest all easy.. Including their clock room, where they kept our baggage safe for nearly 10 hours! with often access to the baggage room!.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Accessiblity: Half a km from Chennai Central Rly Stn. Walkable. On Main Road
Exterior: Good Looking. Could be impressive if the waterlogging of the bypassing drain can be cleaned.
Interior: Small Lobby but Impressive.
Rooms: Differently sized. All Double bedded. We were accommodated in a very small room.
Service: Good
Housekeeping: Clean job, except for the floor service area which is visible to guests.
Food: Bad luck. Only Room-service. They don't have a Food Outlet.

Liked: Helping Staff. Set-up of the room.
Disliked: Lift - extremely small. Can accommodate three Adults without body contact. (I've never seen one like this) Floor Service area is open. Phone calls to Housekeeping disturbed a lot at early morning.

My comments: Value for money. Rooms are affordably priced.

  • Liked — Clean & well set-up room
  • Disliked — Disturbance from the Floor Service area
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samudra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samudra Inn

Address: 1111/54, Poonamallee High Road | Periamet Park Town, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samudra Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, MakeMyTrip and Hotels.com so you can book your Samudra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samudra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.