We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in service delivery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Tower Lodge
Save
You added Golden Tower Lodge to your Saves list
78, E.V.R. Periyar Street | Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Ernakulam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average in service delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Neat and tidy rooms.good infrastructure.Service delivery not very commendable just average.
Ideally located place near to central railway station .Mobility to anywhere in chennai and beyond is easy.food in the restaurant is good.

Room Tip: select corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have seen a few negative comments out here.. Although I did not experience any of them.. Possibly the management had read them and rectified it..

1. Do not go by the name... Its not that grand.. and the picture that I had in my mind reading the name was not what I had encountered... Having said that, its a pretty decent lodge
2. We had chosen Deluxe room, the AC was working fine but could have been improved in terms of the the control of the cooling..
3. Location was amazing.. 5 minutes walk from Chennai Central and Park Station
4. Plenty of options for food nearby (if you are ordering for Room Service then your food would also come from one of the nearby restaurants)
5. 2 days stay.. no problem for water,electricity as such. Bathroom was clean, Shower working
6. Front desk helpful in guiding and letting me know about the places/distance and auto rates

3/5

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to this hotel. The service has improved considerably.. We used the newly done triple suite and think that its good value for money (2500). I don't see why the front desk staff were so bad with regards to previous reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been coming to this Hotel since 2006 Aug. I use to proffer this hotel as it is near to R.Station, and also i can get a bus to Koyembedu if necessary, as u know Autorikshaw travel here in chennai is the worst mode, compared to any part of India.

The Hotel service is pathetic, water in bathroom is Dark brown with pungent smell every day. I used to brush my teeth with mineral water every day. Very bad T.V, Rooms filled with masquito and some time bedbugs also,

Both rooms even though it better the flushes never work, wrinkle"s are very very bad

I can keep writing, but All these are Harsh truth.

The price they charge and service they give is North and South.

I visit chennai at least 8 to 10 times in an year for a period of 2 to 5 days stay.I am writing this with pain, and what a fool I am it took 6 yrs to judge this hotel. Every time i thought its ok next time let me look for some better hotel, but today i am really made up my mind that i will never check into this hotel in my life.

Before checking out today, i will give them my view, hope they will take right step.

Even then, if the take right step also, this is not the hotel which needs consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Dalhousie, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I Think the management has teach there front staff how to behave with the guest being in the same industry i think the way to approch the guest is not right as they dont belive in the word Atithi devo bhavaḥ. The room service is ok type

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We got one of worst ever experiences at reception at this hotel.The Front Office Person was pathetic, His way of talking and behaviour was ruthless and cruel and he had no idea of customer service.They are not at all service oriented. The service is very bad, actually there is no service. Please Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I checked in the hotel and the 1st room alloted to me was poor.Wash room was not proper,AC was not working.After complaining I was shifted to another room which was better.Food quality especially for North Indians is good.Service is average.I was charged 1435/- per day including tax.Rates are not worth when you compare it with the hotel.It is an average class.

Room Tip: Always ensure that washroom fittings are proper,AC is working,geaser is in proper condition,linen on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Lodge

Address: 78, E.V.R. Periyar Street | Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.