We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nayagara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nayagara Hotel to your Saves list
Nayagara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, United India Colony | Station View Road, Kodambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600024, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
“not clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms were old and were not kept well. There was no hot water in the two rooms that I booked. Plumber from housekeeping just acted as if the problem was unknown, wasted a lot of water and finally said there was a problem. The manager did not even bother to call us back & check. Except 5-6 channels, none of the TV channels were clear.

Overall, a poor experience

Room Tip: I booked Deluxe rooms and they were not good. Not sure about the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 2 days.. we booked ac delux room for us ..we 2 couples with 3 kids checked in this hotel..the room size is enough for 2+1 kid... the bathrooms r very clean. Mr.Venkat is honest and dutiful person. He gave us good advises for shopping and sight seeing.. as the hotel is just 5 min away from Kodambakkam station.. he advised us to catch train to go to Tnagar or any other sight..which was really very helpful..we reached T nagar in just about 15 mns..did our shopping and we were back in 2 hrs at hotel. room rates r quite reasonable as breakfast was included and as complimentary he gave us bed tea also. Buffet breakfast was southindian. For lunch and dinner u get nominal varieties so no issues in having food at their restaurant Online booking was only option with us but it turned out well. They served as they promised on our emails conversations. Overall stay was pleasant.. Thank you mr.Venkat..All the best...:-)

Room Tip: Keep options open for choosing rooms If you r nt going in peak season.. as after seeing rooms you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Appalled by the service
1. All travelers must produce Identity cards
2. If traveling with spouse, must carry marriage certificate
3. the receptionist insisted that he needed to scan my entire passport (including visas and immigration stamps) for "security purposes"
None of the above were informed by clear-trip at the time of booking, otherwise would not have booked this hotel
Other negatives:
1. cockroaches on bed in the first room
2. cockroaches on floor in the second room
3. AC was working at bare minimum in Chennai heat
4. towels were not clean and had spots
5. Overall shabby rooms for 2k

Would have spent another 1k and stayed in a better hotel, had this not been rated as #3 value hotel in Chennai on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Gurgaon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very good hotel in this rate.
Clean rooms with very good food quality. Efficient service team. Overall a very good experience of staying in this hotel. Now I am regularly staying in this hotel. Great Job

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and hence the slightly over rated tariff.
There is a free buffet breakfast which is good. Rooms are not spacious but moderately clean and neat. The hotel is a little old and that shows up everywhere. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was very near to the kodambakkam railway station from which connectivity to chennai central is very good by local trains. So, even if i was new to chennai, did not feel any difficulty in reaching the hotel. Actually i went for an exam at a school in arcot road which was walkable from this hotel and so, everything went very well. Totally, i can say that its good and worth the amount we spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff made me feel welcome and provided excellent service. No complaints, save to say that a repaint of the interior walls would make a big difference to the overall appearance of the place. I was very satisfied and from what I have seen of other hotels on the web I think Nayagara was good value for the price.The hotel is also very close (100m) to a trainstation, very convenient for getting to/from the airport and a lot faster and cheaper than taking a taxi - get off at the Koddambakkam station for the Nayagara Hotel. Wifi was also very efficient.
I have no immediate plans for returning to Chennai, but if I did I shall be happy to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are not more expensive than budget and you can negotiate discount and free breakfast fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayagara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayagara Hotel

Address: 15, United India Colony | Station View Road, Kodambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600024, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayagara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nayagara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayagara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.