We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maris Hotel
Save
You added Maris Hotel to your Saves list
No 11 Cathedral Road | Near Chola Sheraton Hotel, Gopalapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and loved everything about this place. The location is ideal and central. The Restaurant at the Hotel is vegetarian and excellent in every respect. The rooms are large , clean , bright and it has lovely broad corridors.

The staff is helpful in every respect. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: the 5 th floor is better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
1
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a total of five nights. The check in was quick and courteous. Stayed in the deluxe room on the 7th floor. The room was spacious, neat and tidy. The hot water geiser in the bathroom was an advantage as i could have hot water for 24 hrs. The location of this hotel is excellent ( Cathedral Rd ) as all important places in the city could be reached easily.

The vegetarian restaurant on the ground floor served some delicious South Indian dishes. There are some very good Chinese, Kerala and Andhra restaurants within three minutes of walking distance from this hotel. The hotel staff were helpful and polite. I would reccommend this hotel to friends and relatives and would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose street facing rooms on the 7th or 8th floors away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel many times in the last 25 years. The service is great, the rooms are large and spacious. None of the hotels in Chennai can offer room sizes as this hotel for this price. Some of the room are being refurbished. The staff have not changed in the last 20 years, some of the services by staff can make you feel bit intrusive, probably a standrad of the days gone by, not at this day and age. If you are looking for a budget accomodation in Chennai, the best place to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

First: I am not sure that the picture on Tripadvisor matches the hotel Maris on Cathedral Road... there is no such swimming pool or beach front next to this hotel. Second: it is indeed quite close to the Sheraton Chola, but do not expect to be allowed to use the services (such as currency exchange) of this other hotel next door since they are only for the guests of the Sheraton.
My experience: the room was not so good and kind of dirty. I am not sure that the sheets had been changed since I found a hair on them... The AC and the TV were working. There was no hot water but we did not need it anyway. We could finally get toilet paper after requesting it.
We were the only non-Indian guests of this hotel during the time of our stay.
We encountered some problems to get our laudry back, but finally everything was settled.
They have a 24h check-out policy. There was a misunderstanding with the reception: I had asked for an early check-in since we arrived with an international flight from the airport around 5 AM. We could do the early check-in with no problem (they only called us at 9:30 AM, as we were still sleeping because of jetlag, to get photocopies of our passeports... that could not wait! They are really serious about filling in the forms for foreign guests). The problem is that no one told us than we would have to check-out at 5 AM two days afterward in order not to be charged a supplementary night. We almost ended up paying for 3 nights instead of 2, but could negociate with the lady at the reception desk, which was nice and helpful... In any case, this type of information should be provided to the customer at the time of check-in. It was not written anywhere either.
They have a travel desk and can organize for expensive airport pick-ups (better take the prepaid taxi).
I would give this hotel a "poor" grade if it were not for its excellent restaurant. The restaurant downstairs was really great, the staff smiling, clean and efficient and the dosa delicious. I'd definitely recommend the restaurant, but not the hotel.
My advice: if you can go with something simple, go for a cheaper hotel because the price paid is not worth the value, or, if you can afford it, go to a real 3-4 stars hotel. It may still be a good option if you don't find anything better.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms that are at the back are less noisy than those facing Cathedral Road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is one of the old hotels, which is still run professionally for many years.
Located on Cathedral road, next to chola sheraton, it is a walkable distance to US consulate. Beach is also very nearby. The hotel could do with some more improvements in its amenities. (Ex chola which has improved considerably). The food is good & the location is the best advantage for this hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was on a quick business trip. The Tariff was very moderate though its on Alwarpet. The Rooms are spacious and clean. Ask for the newly renovated rooms which are clean and better. But for this price, there are no hotels with such comfort and ease to get around Chennai. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

location is highly comfortable.staffs are good.restaurant okay.but you will have more famous restaurant near by in walkable distance like china town ,saravana bhavan and andera hotel.
bar is good .only vegitarian stuff available. rooms are found litlle bit dirty but for business trip it is okay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maris Hotel

Address: No 11 Cathedral Road | Near Chola Sheraton Hotel, Gopalapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.