We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
49 GN Chetty Road, T. nagar | The Residency, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
44-28253434-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #432 of 2,482 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

the first thing to hit you in this restaurant is that the manchow soup is not premixed with soya and vinegar, and hence appears white / transparent in colour. In that sense, chin chin reflects the authenticity of the chinese dishes that is served. there are Thai and indonesian dishes as well that make use of generous red / geen curries and peanut sauces.

The ambience is not so bad with a TV at the wall. Go for the tables near the walls that give you somne privacy. The tables near the gangway give you no privacy as other guests trudge along seeing you eat , while on the way to their tables. Slightly pricey, the other negative is that the music from the pub drowns the chinese background music making you swing like a pendulum between underground thumps and the hilly serene.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best Chinese Restaurants in town...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Easily one of the best chinese restaurants in town... Excellent ambience, combined with warm and friendly staff, and food that is truly "Indian Chinese" :-) They have an awesome lunch special that is priced reasonable and you can pretty much eat from starters through to desserts (try almost everything on the menu)... Portion size is good for two folks. Lunch time favorite for business folks - given the location, ambience and food...It is a hot favorite with our family - we have celebrated many special occasions there and we always leave with fond memories. We return not just for the food but also for the fantastic folks at Chin Chin who make it what it is... Do visit and enjoy (Make sure you try to spicy mangoes / carrots that are given as starters - it is simply superb)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Of all the Chinese Restaurants I've visited, this is by far the best.
Star hotel ambience, coupled with excellent staff and quality of food.
Slightly on the expensive side but you won't be disappointed when you leave the place. They have an extensive menu and the food offered is extremely delicious. Most of the dishes were perfect, except the rice was slightly soggy on one occasion, but nothing too obviously bad.
The staff are extremely efficient and the choices they provide turn out to be the best in the menu!
They provided chopsticks on request, and even modified it for us when we found it difficult to eat the traditional way!

The highlight of the day was when one of us in the party had their birthday that day. We secretly informed the waiter regarding this and in 10 minutes they came up with a wonderful mini firecracker in the middle of the table and a chocolate cake, all on the house.

Definite revisit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good Chinese and Thai and a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Chin Chin Chennai

We went to this restaurant last Sunday, after a dozen or more years. We had always thought of it as a good place for Chinese food, but other, newer restaurants led to Chin Chin somehow dropping out of our consciousness. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the place not only continued to serve very good Chinese food but had added a Thai menu as well.

The fried prawn wontons (Rs 295) we had for starters were very good. For the main course we had Chicken Kuey Tiew (Rs 375), Chinese Chop Suey (Rs 250), from the Chinese menu and Bulgogi (Rs 275) and a curry called Kaeng Kiey Waan (Rs 375) from the Thai menu. Each dish was very good with the Bulgogi standing out. The portions are quite generous.

Chin Chin was the first restaurant to serve fried ice cream in Chennai and it was nice to see that this dessert is still excellent (Rs 200). The toffee banana was ok.

The ambiance is nice and the service is good. Their week day lunch buffet is well spoken of.

Since this restaurant is in a hotel, it is allowed to serve liquor under the quirky rules and you can choose from a fairly decent wine card and liquor menu.

We enjoyed the meal and the bill was easy on the wallet. I am sure it will not be too long before we go again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never ending delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Try their unlimited buffet on weekdays. The caption says it all.. Even the Great Wall of China has an end somewhere..their refills do not.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.