We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok ok!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Woodlands

New Woodlands
TTK Salai (Outside Narada Gana Sabha/ Satguru Gnanananda Hall), Chennai (Madras), India (Nungambakkam)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 2,483 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nungambakkam
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ok ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

food: ok ok nothing great!....few items are good...some bland!
ambiance: very dim!...needs to put some light.
service: good
overall: nothing g8

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    36
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brindhavan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We often visit here, esp to Brindhavan for all business lunch... It is a very good multicuisine veg restaurant........

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tasty and keeping with the tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nothing to complain about. I had a party recently for about 25 people with no reservation but was very happy with the service and they were very accommodating. A broad array of items were ordered and none was disappointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Overpriced, pretty hygenic and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overpriced, pretty hygenic and tasty food, sums up the place. Its a huge restaurant and thus I have never seen anyone waiting in queue. The parking arrangement is also outstanding and thus you are bound to get a parking. The A/C works just right and thus you can enjoy your meal in the right temperature. Also, the food is pretty tasty and not placid as in most vegeterian restaurant. The price is really premium, but I believe it okay to splurge it.

The best is the cofffee, its much better to the new breed coffees which we pay through our nose. Its one of the landmark place of Chennai and should be visited,

Turn off: The waiters just dont speak anything apart Tamil, thus if you do not understand it, please use sign language without trying too much.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent quality of food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went with my dad for breakfast after years to this restaurant. I can guarantee that the quality of food has never depleted and they have continued to maintain the excellent service and quality of food. You will find regular customers visiting this restaurant because of the food. The dosai I ordered was topnotch and it came the way I asked I.e. without oil. The chutneys and sambar are so tasty and in fact my mouth was watering even before I had the first bite of my dosai and chutney. Nothing has changed at this restaurant hence you will find the regular clientele eating here often. Perfect for south Indian food. A meal for two would cost on an average of rs 250/-.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Woodlands also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to New Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.