We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastline

Coastline
84, Dr. Radhakrishna Salai, Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
44-28110553-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #711 of 2,483 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Variety not much... appams were ok. Expected much more from a seafood restaurant. The service staff was courteous. Ordered for a neer dosa..after a while the service staff told us that the batter was not good and hence could not serve it to us..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice fresh sea food but nothing outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I went there for the first time yesterday. It is just above Amravati, and is quite empty at lunch time. Lovely prawn chilli-garlic and a chicken biryani which is a bit like Pullao rather than biryani. Very polite service and the sea food is fresh. I really don't know why the chicken in all these places is a rubbery.

As I sat there I saw a group walk out without ordering. I guess unlike in Bombay a speciality sea food place is not appreciated.

Try it for a quick sea food lunch. I wish they would replace the Ravas fry with Surmai fry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing Overall”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The overall experience at this restaurant was disappointing - inattentive staff (who charged us a service charge which we insisted they roll back), poor service (the appams came one at a time several minutes after each other), lousy food (what was called prawn green curry was nothing but prawns dunked in a palak gravy). Not a restaurant I would recommend or ever want to go back to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Seafood speciality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Located in the Amaravathi complex, this serves mostly seafood items. Menu has good choice, ambience is good, service is satisfactory. Tastes good, it can be better for the seafood items to reveal its flavor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Simply great, a wonderful place to relax and just chill out on your own or with friends. Sitting there and watching all those beautiful girls in their brightly coloured sarees was heaven

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastline also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Coastline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.