We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite parts of India.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savista Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Savista Retreat to your Saves list
Savista Retreat
Sanjharia,P.O. Thikaria | Off Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302026, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Housotn, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of my favorite parts of India.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After volunteering, I was able to spend a week being a tourist around Northern India where I discovered the jewel of Savista. At Savista, we were taken care of beyond our expectations, relaxing and enjoying the delicious meals or wine on the rooftop while taking in the sunset. It was one of our favorite parts of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And that you felt that Savista gave you the space and silence to reflect on your experience of volunteering and travelling in this country. Thank you for contributing to our blog with your thoughts on what it meant for you to be a volunteer. Your pictures in your post of the "baby lamas" you spent time with, are truly amazing and will forever define the viewer's perception of Buddhist monks. We wish you a great life as a photographer and cultural explorer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    22
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
81
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Savista was recommended to us by friends in Delhi who had stayed there last year. We found it so special that I am sitting down to write my first ever hotel review!

The most unique thing about the place is that it is both a holiday destination and a cultural experience. (by this I don't mean the puppet shows and folk dances and snake charmers put on by routine hotels for visiting tourists!). In our time there we got all the quaity material comforts of an excellent hotel at moderate prices. Beautiful rooms in subtle ethnic design, amazing fresh vegetarian food, quiet tree filled surroundings, plenty of recreation options for adults and children, genuninely warm service. And of course, their excellent car service which was always available to take us into Jaipur city and Amber. No haggling, no being coerced with recommendations for shopping. The value addition was that we aso got a refreshing dose of cultural insights - through conversations with our hosts, visits to peasant homes during the camel cart tour, watching Savista's environmental ehtic actually being put to use, helping ourselves to their well stocked library, being introduced to south Indian and north Indian classical music. All of this in an oasis of refinement where international travellers can feel perfectly at home, without having to feel and behave like quick and dirty tourists.

I have been in India with my family for some months now (nearing the end of our stay), and we have sampled many hotels. Savista was definitely one of our more unique experiences. We would love to come again, if possible, for more explorations before we leave for home. And we would recommend it as a destination for all discerning travellers to India.

Room Tip: We booked the Indigo and Jasmine. All their rooms are beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are happy that you were able to appreciate that Savista's uniqueness indeed lies not in it being yet another typical hotel, but in its cultural appeal for the visitor to India. If you enjoyed it, so did we enjoy the cultural exchange, for truly, nothing is ever one-sided. We hope to have yet another opportunity to welcome you and the family to Savista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A restful and satisfying stay in a place of beauty, harmony, and peace. We spent 3 nights at Savista and didn't want to leave! We would recommend it to all who wish to visit Jaipur and see and do much more than just the monuments and markets.

Room Tip: We loved the Mayura suite. The view was outstanding and the terrace gave us ample space to lounge ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your time in Jaipur. We enjoyed hosting you and would have loved for you to stay forever! Do come back again. The Mayura will be yours whenever you come, or you might perhaps like to try another one of our rooms for variety!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My friend and I booked 2 nights at this hotel. We chose it so we could have 2 days rest and relaxation after a gruelling trip round northern India, The website looked fantastic and the location perfect as away from the hustle and bustle of the cities. It offered a pool, yoga, massage, indian cooking lessons and home cooked food!! However when we arrived there not only were we the only one's staying there, there was no water in the pool, no-one to do yoga with us, no indian cooking lessons, the massage was substandard and more like a rub down with some oil and massively overpriced (3800 original price but reduced to 2000 rupees) !!!! The room was basic and not of the standard we had just come from in Jaipur and that hotel was a quarter of the price that Savista was charging!! The food was prepared the day before and you were given no choice in the foods given to you. The food was extremely expensive (1200 rupees per person) and not of the standard that we would expect from a retreat of this apparent standing. The breakfast basic!! You are a captive audience in this hotel due to its location & at their mercy and I think this is taken advantage of!! The staff were helpful especially Jake but I would not recommend this hotel unless you have money to burn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Both this review and the one preceding it – expressing “disappointment” - are from two guests who stayed as a single unit occupying the same room for two nights in February. As they have posted similar feedback, we may be excused for posting a unified response to the two independent reviews.

At the outset, dear guests, we unconditionally regret and apologise for the sense of unhappiness that seem to have been caused to you. Much as we wish to redeem it there is very little that we can do about it now. You expressed unhappiness at the time of paying your bill, so we agreed to your paying whatever you deemed fit. The value of your comments now is for our future guests, and our response is directed to that end, and is not meant to join any issues with you.

Well, the happy news is that the pool is now fully operational. The reason why it did not function then was that a choking had occurred in the pipes and it became a massive operation in terms of time and effort. This was beyond our control. Mercifully, the problem occurred during the coldest spell Jaipur has ever witnessed, so swimming in those conditions was probably better avoided. The loss of a pleasant ambience by way of a sparkling and full pool was admittedly there, which is regrettable.

While we believe that the two reviews are well-intentioned, two independent reviews expressing the same opinions by guests occupying a single room, have caused a cumulative damage to our ranking and reputation, something that was avoidable had we received their feedback in time to take the remedial steps. It is our request to our guests, therefore, to please let us know immediately if they find that they have a concern that needs to be addressed. We could then take immediate corrective action to arrive at a satisfactory conclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were hoping for a beautiful haven, a spa that we could relax, do some yoga, swim in the pool, do a cooking class and have a massage and just enjoy a couple of days away from the hustle of the city. Well I'm sorry to say this isn't quite how it turned out.

Whilst an undeniably beautiful and tranquil setting, we were disappointed by a number of things:
Firstly, that unfortunately the pool was out of action and empty. We are cognisant that these things happen and cannot be anticipated, but we would have been grateful of a call or communication in advance, as this was one of the reasons for wanting to stay. Likewise, an indication that the lady who was to do yoga, would not be present, and we asked about cooking classes and were told this too was not possible. I had a massage, which was administered by a local lady who had no techinique to speak of and I was grateful for the reduction in the overpriced service afforded to me on check out. The room was comfortable but basic and we were lead to understand we had received an upgrade, not sure how much more basic the room could have been.

The food was tasty, but limited choice. Dinner was a set menu, which was not apparent until it arrived, which was overpriced at 1200 rps per person. we were given a discounted rate of 800 rps each, but this was still overpriced and I would urge the proprieter to rethink this. The al a carte menu for lunch was limited and we were unable to have our first choice.

The camel cart ride was an amazing expereince and we enjoyed it thoroughly, it meeds to be made transparent that payment is made to the hotel, and not directly to the owner of the camel (Gupal), thus avoiding any awkward moments.
The owner, was very pleasant, as was Jake an american intern, all the staff were helpful, if not a little absent.

I wouldn't recommend the Savista from our experience, which had promised so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and support. We are happy that you had a restful
vacation during your time with us. We greatly valued hosting you - as indeed we
had enjoyed hosting your brother the year before - and we look forward to having
you and other members of your family and friends with us again in the not
too distant future. Until then, our best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We can't say enough good things about Savista Retreat. From the stunning and private location in the Jaipur countryside to the home- cooked, nutritious meals, everything about our stay was perfect. We were very impressed by the amount of entertainment options, including an intelligent and comprehensive collection of books to choose from in the library, a theatre room with excellent dvd collection, a tennis court, a fresh-water swimming pool and guided walks (and camel rides!) through the area and neighbouring villages. Our room was gorgeously and tastefully decorated and the bed was superbly comfortable. We had a massive private balcony perfect for sunbaking and reading on (as well as hammocks throughout the grounds and on the roof - a beautiful view of the Jaipur countryside). But probably the best part about Savista is the hosts. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel like part of the family. The owners, who themselves made a point to welcome us and make sure we were happy, are both brilliant academics so there was a constant supply of clever conversation. And Jake and Kelly, the young American staff, were just the best! Jake chose the ambience music for the pool-side area (which is lit up at night by candles- just magical!). When we got talking to him about it, he made us a USB of songs he thought we would like. Savista was the highlight of our time in India and our spending Christmas there made us forget we were away from our families. We could not more highly recommend a stay at Savista to people looking to relax in a place that feels like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your warm review! It was such a pleasure to have two young, vibrant, and intellectually curious guests with us. Your positive energy continued to infuse Savista long after your departure. We hope that the rest of your world tour continues to be a wondrous experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Savista and I was glad to be back at this haven away from the bustle of Jaipur. Savista is a beautiful homestay and Bhanwar a wonderful host. He is very helpful and willing to share wonderful stories about the place and much more...
Jake was also incredibly friendlyl and always ready to help.
Savista is in a peaceful setting, with a minimal and sober feel which is calming on the mind and soul.
The food is good and all the staff are friendly and welcoming.
We used Savista as a base to discover Agra and Jaipur. They can organise all the trips from there for you.
I would highly recommend anyone to stay there when in Jaipur and/ or Rajasthan. It is ideal for anyone who has been travelling round India and wants to get away from the crowds and the noise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
You gave us great pleasure the first time you chose Savista. And when you chose to return this year it was even more special. Thank you for the conversations, the humour and, at other times, just your calm presence. Thank you also for taking the time to contribute to our blog with your “Guest Story”. We value the experience you have recounted. Best wishes for a great year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savista Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savista Retreat

Address: Sanjharia,P.O. Thikaria | Off Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302026, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#28 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#30 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savista Retreat is a boutique hotel in Jaipur, Rajasthan. A stand-alone property, Savista Hotel/Resort's location and design make it a welcoming environment and a lifestyle destination for individuals and small groups looking for a special experience of Rajasthan. It is an excellent base for combining sightseeing in Jaipur with eco travel, wellness, and cultural enrichment within a single travel plan and at an unhurried pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Savista Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savista Retreat Jaipur
Savista Retreat Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savista Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.