We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime and avoidable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Handi

Handi
Mi Road | Opp JPO, Jaipur 302001, India
0141 4028436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,523 restaurants in Jaipur
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
INDIA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Past its prime and avoidable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I read about Handi on a blog on Jaipur and decided to try it out for lunch. It located on the MI road, like most of the other popular establishments are, right opposite the General Post Office (GPO). Note that this is a one way road during the day.

The interiors were bland and a let down. Their forte seems to be the non-veg dishes. We ordered the local Jungli Maas, which is a dry Lamb preparation and the gravy chicken dish called Handi Chicken. The lamb was likely made in Ghee and was very heavy also it lacked the spices and seasoning which I had assumed it may have. Not sure if the preparation is meant to be like that. The Handi Chicken had large pieces of chicken in it and was good.

The service was rather polite and courteous. Averagely priced, I feel that the restaurant has seen better days in the past and they really need to invest in improving their seating areas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal k, Owner at Handi, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We will make every effort to ensure that we continue to live up to your expectation. We will trying to improve our services. We do hope you will recommend us to your friends and associates.

Best regards,
Kunal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    39
    40
    35
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food in here was excellent and well worth a visit. Mainly visited by locals they produce great north Indian food and we went a couple of times during the trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal k, Owner at Handi, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality and that you were impressed by the food quality during your stay at handi. Your appreciation of your overall experience is very inspiring. The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best regards,
Kunal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When one steps in, it looks like any other local restaurant trying to look like it serves authentic cuisine... but Handi actually does.

The food isn't generalised to suit all palates, it is real Rajasthani cuisine, simple, delicious laal maas and Govind gatte... definitely worth re-visiting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal k, Owner at Handi, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review about your experience at Handi, jaipur. I am glad you left with a positive impression of our restaurant.
Your kind words of appreciation shall be conveyed to my team for whom they will be a tremendous source of inspiration. The team at the restaurant and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
kunal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food ,huge quantities,great to hog out,and easy on the wallet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

food is really good here and is frequented by locals.Main thing to watch out in udaipur is to avoid toursit traps .The tourist traps are generally the places the driver of the taxi takes you to,since he gets a comission.Avoid tourist traps because they really rip you of with bad service,yucky bathrooms(indiana restaurant) and inflated bills.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal k, Owner at Handi, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Handi restaurant, jaipur. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Handi. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.
Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Handi restaurant soon.

Kind regards,
Kunal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place , superb food and easy on wallet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I had read quite a fee reviews of this place in TA and blogs so thought of giving it a try. Right from the moment we sat inside to the time we paid the bill and left, this place was a joy. No maddening crowd inspite of the prime location , awesome food and affordable prices really puzzled me but then it suited me. The food was perfect with not too much spice to kill th individual flavour. All the items had their individuality. Would definitely reccommend to any one


PS - my wife has a pretty sensite stomach to spicy food but this time she was happy with the food, hale and hearty and was in no way during her shopping spreee post lunch session.. :D

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunal k, Owner at Handi, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Handi restaurant, Mumbai. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at Handi. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.
Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Handi restaurant soon.

Kind regards,
Kunal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handi also viewed

 
Jaipur, Rajasthan
Jaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Handi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.