We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience - worth of money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Niwas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tara Niwas to your Saves list
Tara Niwas
B-22-B, Shiv Marg, Banipark | (besides Chandni Crafts), Jaipur 302016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Good Experience - worth of money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and found that hotel booked myself is worth of money. I travelled with my family and we all share the good experience. Although this hotel is much comfortable for business or solo or student traveller however family can be comfortable if they do require comfort and relax.
Room was spacious and resembles as it shows in the pic.
Lobby is very beautiful with exact number of painting and sculptures.
Dining area was very nice and simple, food was OK with low prices but having limited menu options. They should include the launge type sofas to have the comfort for family.
Service was excellent.
Room and whole area in the hotel was very clean which gives it an extra point.
Rabits and colorful sparrow add an extra advantage to garden area
ROOM SERVICE MENU: They do not have much in the room service menu, they must include option to provide the breakfast/lunch/dinner in the room too, as i travelled with kids and it was very difficult to go the dining area with in the given time.

I booked hotel through Yatra.com where room was with breakfast. However when i check-in and ask for breakfast next morning, they shows that my booking was not with breakfast. Either yatra or hotel made me to pay for breakfast which should be in my booking. So clarify with agent or hotel beforehand.

Overall good experience and will definately stay there in my next trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in AC Superior Double and it was very good. I didn't checked any other room therefore r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the kind words. I checked your booking voucher and it did not mention that breakfast is included. I am sorry if you got the impression that breakfast is included, for which i will be talking to the booking site.
All of us are glad you liked our hotel and look forward to see you again, hopefully soon, in our lovely home town of Jaipur!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
21
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

HOTEL NAME:

Tara Niwas

CITY:

Jaipur, India

WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN:

Yes

LOCATION:

Jaipur

PRICE/ROOM TYPE:

Rs. 1500 Per Night, Air Con Deluxe

SERVICE:

The staff was friendly but many lacked English skills which complicated things often. There were only a few that spoke and understood English. They did their jobs but were not overly friendly. That was ok as long as everything was taken care of. They were quick and efficient. It would do them some good for their employees to have basic English skills as to avoid problems.

RESTAURANT/FOOD:

The food was ok, the restaurant was simple but a bit warm. There were tables and chairs on the decks and outside some of the rooms so you could order drinks and sit outside and enjoy them. That was nice. There was a lot of confusion at breakfast, they were quite busy and quickly jotted down orders on a little piece of paper mixing up orders because of a lack of organization. It took a while to sort out because most of the kitchen staff didn’t speak or understand any English.

OVERALL APPEARANCE OF ROOM:

A letdown coming from sister hotel Jai Niwas but ok.

BATHROOM:

Alright, nothing special.

SERVICES:

Same wifi service as Jai Niwas. They have lots of pamphlets and information about the city and a shop if you want to buy anything.

BEDDING:

Clean, ok!

EXTRA INFO:

We booked online through cleartrip the night before. We paid and received our voucher so we were surprised to find out that we didn’t have a booking when we arrived in the morning. They said something about that they stopped online booking, I didn’t really understand but the bottom line was that they didn’t have a room for us. They quickly called a sister hotel, Jai Niwas and figured out a solution. We would stay there one night and then some back and stay the last two nights there. We were very happy that they arranged it so quickly but I found it very unprofessional that they didn’t really take responsibility for it and made us feel like it was our fault for booking short notice. The Tara Niwas was not anywhere as nice as the Jai Niwas but ok for a few nights.

The air conditioner stopped toward bed time, it was incredibly loud but stopped pumping any air. We let the staff know in the morning and they sent an electrician to look at it immediately. Apparently there was ice inside it and that’s why it wasn’t working. Very strange, he spend 10 minutes working on it and it worked great after that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Greetings from Jai AND Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the (mostly) kind words.
I am sorry for the trouble you had with the AC as well as the mix up in booking. Sometimes, it gets difficult to manage the online booking engines room availability and that results in these goof ups.
This however is no excuse and we will try to get better in the management as a group, for all hotels including Jai and Tara Niwas!

Jaipur is our lovely home and I do hope you return to Jaipur and stay with us once more!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I visit Jaipur twice a month for business purpose and this is my first choice of stay for the last 2.5yrs. It is a heritage property converted into a hotel, complete with a front lawn with a few pet rabbits and exotic birds. Location: very close to railway station and bus stand. Rooms: spacious, clean and cosy. Food: the BEST part about the hotel...absolutely oil free, light and very tasty. Services: all basic amenities available, very helpful and polite staff. Very calm and peaceful environment of the property. Overall one of the best hotel stay experiences so far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas, Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and thank you too for the lovely words.
All of us here are glad you liked our services. Being a regular guest, it is heartening to know that we have been able too give consistent quality in our services. Hope you return to our lovely city and Tara Niwas again, soon!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hi,

We stayed there for one day only.. Very easy and quick process for check-in and check-out. But this is one of the nicest place I've came across to live. Service is very good and quick. Food is awesome and prices are very reasonable here. We got a room with balcony in front of it. This place has a nice lawn, rabbits and birds. This place is centrally located in city so tuk tuk/ auto-rikshaw will take you to city palace area and other markets at reasonable price. Staff is very helpful and gives you as much information you want happily. Stay in Tara Niwas was worth every penny.

This place is highly recommended to stay in Jaipur. :)


Regards,
Ameya

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas, Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and thank you too for the lovely words.
All of us here are glad you liked our services. I hope you come back to our lovely city and we get a chance to meet again!

By the way the rabbit family has increased and we have three lovely new kids on the block!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here, located fairly close to the station around 60 rs in a tuk tuk and around 90rs to main city palace area. Staff where very friendly and gave useful advice. Hotel restaurant was quite nice and reasonably priced. Big room with double bed sofa bed, fridge kettle and safe which a first for us in India so far, good air-con and tv which has very similar channels to sky tv in the uk. Also had a good hot shower which you take as a given but most other places we have stayed have been cold.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas, Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and thank you too for the lovely words.
All of us here are glad you liked our services. I hope you come back to our lovely city and we get a chance to meet again!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is mere 2 kilometers away from the bus station and the railway station. Once you enter inside it, you feel the excellent homely feel it has. The staff here are helping and will give you internet key as soon as possible. Rooms are not hotel like but homely. Sleep quality is excellent, I have never tried the room service. The dinner is great and so is the breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas, Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and thank you too for the lovely words.
All of us here are glad you liked our services. I hope you come back to our lovely city and we get a chance to meet again!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A lovely uncomplicated, beautiful hangout, it is like living in a sprawling, colonial era bunglow- Haveli, where they keep things simple and uncomplicated. Everything is as it should be; rooms are clean, economical, large, food is good and wholesome,staff is friendly and informative, downtown is meters away,a good in-house crafts shop,hotel is quiet and the garden has a lawn,trees,rabbits and birds. And don't worry about anything which has something to do with hotel, they care..!

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing the road, makes for a great view, sight and sound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words.
All of us are happy that you liked our services and the greenery at Tara Niwas.

All of us wish you and your family a very happy Diwali and a happy, healthy and prosperous year ahead!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tara Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Niwas

Address: B-22-B, Shiv Marg, Banipark | (besides Chandni Crafts), Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tara Niwas - a small friendly hotel set in a quiet and green part of central Jaipur. Tara Niwas offers a pleasant environment, modern amenities and friendly service at attractive prices. Charming garden and sit outs, with a great collection of bonsai landscapes, an aviary, water bodies with lotus and fishes, rabbits on the lawn, tall trees and the visiting peacocks and above all a peaceful atmosphere make Tara Niwas the ideal retreat to retire to after a hard day's work, travel or sightseeing. We have a sunny and cheerful restaurant with an open kitchen and daily changing menus to ensure freshness of produce. We make food using very less chilly and oil, we have our own bakery, we ensure quality of raw material is always of the highest standards and the food remains tasty and homely, healthy and hygienically prepared from an open kitchen that you are welcome to visit. We serve vegetarian plus eggs fare from Indian and continental cuisine. Our room services include air-conditioning, running hot and cold water bathtubs and showers, 32 inch LCD TV sets with local and English channels, telephone with distance dial facility, electronic safe deposit lockers, writing desk and room clocks. All deluxe rooms also have tea coffee makers and fridge. We are a family managed hotel with personalized services and attention to details. Our other services include, travel desk, train air and bus ticket booking, foreign exchange, doctor on call, elevator to all floors, backup power, rainwater harvesting, same day laundry, business facilities and a wi-fi enabled building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Tara Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Niwas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.