We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food quality & service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LMB Hotel

LMB Hotel
johari bazar, Jaipur 302003, India
2565844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 2,301 Restaurants in Jaipur
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Poor food quality & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Its definitely not value for money.The food served was very oily, took longer time than expected in being served. The order which I had placed was not served in toto (i.e. served in part) and dishes served were not the same I requested, the management didn't honor the request of replacing the same. Also, staff at the sweet counter outside the seating restaurant was not soft spoken. I would rather suggest to dine at Niros, M.I. Road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    147
    117
    53
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No trip to Jaipur is complete without a visit to LMB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

LMB is a Jaipur institution not to be missed. We have been going there since the 1970s and have never been disappointed. This time I just had time for a drink and a snack but was very glad to have done so. Just had time too to browse the jampacked sweets counter. It's definitely on the list for another visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very bad place, slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

no place to sit, slow service, we asked several times for our order. tikkis were cold, dahi bada was horrable. no taste. a big no to thi place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid it - Completely and highly over-rated...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to LMB for the famous Rajasthani Thal. It was a very forgettable experience.
1. Their service is quite deplorable. You have to constantly ask for refills for the thal. Being from Ahmedabad where you get refills even before asking for it at thali places like Pakvan, Atithi or Sarbhara, I found it very demeaning. And then you were made to wait for getting those refills.
2. The food is not upto the mark. I have many Rajasthani friends and I eat Rajasthani food all the time. Dal was quite bland. The green subji of the day was also very tasteless. The raita was sour.
3. The worst experience was for dal-bati. I asked for lasun chutney to eat with Dal-bati, but they said its not on the menu, so they will charge me Rs. 110 extra for it (the price of the thali is Rs. 405 + taxes). Hello, Rs 110 for lasun chutney, which is an integral part of dal-bati? And you don't serve it because its not on the menu?? Its like going to a south indian restaurant and ordering dosa and getting only dosa, without sambhar and chutney and then asking for extra money for the same. Whom are you fooling here? The waiter, manager and owner were unapologetic and could not give convincing reply.

My wife had pyaz kachori (which was again very average) and my daughter had dahi-wada, which was even worse. We left with a bad taste in our mouth - figuratively and literally....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Local vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Every time we visit Jaipur we have at least one meal at LMB. The menu is extensive with many delicious vegetarian treats. Local people patronise the restaurant, so you know it is authentic. The restaurant is located in a busy street which runs up to the main intersection of the old pink city and Hawa Mahal, a local tourist attraction. Service can be a little slow during busy periods, but the food is definitely worth the effort. The restaurant has operated in this location for many years. In the lobby leading to restaurant mouth watering indian sweets are sold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LMB Hotel also viewed

 
Jaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to LMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.