We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel
Moti Doongari Road, Jaipur 302004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 302 hotels in Jaipur
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were only here for one night, but really loved this hotel: it was among the best of about a dozen places we had stayed in during our trip around northern India. The main house is very characterful. Our room was cosy, with a good bathroom. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, and both were enjoyable. The staff were welcoming. If visiting Jaipur in future, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    68
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
92
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

One's arrival at Naila Bagh can only be a slightly breathless experience. After the inevitable hyperventilation in the Jaipur traffic, one approaches the property up a long driveway and what a property it is! Grand on a scale befitting the Jaipur prime minister who once lived there, elegant and blissfully quiet - a rare attribute in India, especially so centrally. The reception hall that one is ushered into can only be described as palatial, with curly couches, chandeliers and family portraits and photos to complete the sense of authenticity. The check in procedure was a bit clinical, as DaveW mentioned in his review, but one is so busy marvelling at this room, that it's not that noticeable. As with many of these heritage properties in India, there is a sense of fading, if not faded grandeur. The families that have inherited them often struggle to maintain them - which explains their conversion from homes to hotels. So one does see unpainted walls on the buildings further back in the property, or sad old wooden hotel room doors which are locked with padlocks (serious!). The room we stayed in however, was large, light and comfortable with a magnificent bathroom to match. The front verandah of the property is also a delight, although we did get cold there by dinnertime and had to escape to the dining room. The waiters are all dressed in handsome traditional Rajasthani uniforms and the food is good. There's a roaming musician, also traditionally dressed, with a wide gathered skirt over his trousers, ankle bells and bare feet. He dances too, with skirt flaring and the music rustling up a mood of bygone times at Naila Bagh. There's a puppet master too, on some nights, who invites guests to walk over to his traditional puppet theatre towards the left of the building. The Rajasthani puppets are beautifully made, an art form in themselves, and the little show is entertaining. What we did feel however, was the cloying presence of these artists. The puppeteer was fairly demanding tip-wise and the musician, if he wasn't paid for his services in the verandah area, would rove around to the back and play his heart out, outside the dining room windows throughout dinner - which finally felt positively claustrophobic. All in all this is a unique property and I would recommend a stay in it.

Room Tip: Our room was just beyond the swimming pool, quiet, large and boasting the best bathroom we had in In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I loved the Naila! Our room, a standard room, was huge, comfortable and well-decorated. The whole place is oozing with character, it is beautifully designed and showcases its 150 years of history well. The property is quiet, set back from the crazy streets of Jaipur. It is a short taxi or autorickshaw to Old City, and drivers can be arranged thought the hotel. If you loved the film "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel," you'll love this hotel!

The staff is super attentive too - almost too attentive!

Is the hotel pristine? No. But what it gives up in perfection it makes up in character and heritage. I loved the roaming musician, and relaxing on the front patio with a Kingfisher is a perfect end to a long day.

The pool is pretty, but when we visited in December it was way too cold to swim in... Maybe if you're there in summer it would be hot enough. (I'm referring to the pool temperature here.)

One note... We did get sick from the last dinner we ate there. And yes, we are sure it as from that dinner (simultaneously ill, corresponding exactly with how much of the dinner each of us ate... Believe me, I'm sure).

But, aside from that, I would totally stay there again. I really enjoyed it there, it was lovely. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This haveli was recommended by our travel agent as part of our tour package. We liked the room, especially the colourful traditional lights. It was also spacious. Authentic family portraits and tradiitonal furniture added charm to the reception area. The downside was that the restaurant menu was limited. Also, we expected a warmer welcome and possibly an introduction/history of the place, but found this to be a little cold and generic.
Close to the pink city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is real true to its name, a real heritge HOME. I had a comfortable stay at naila bagh palace for 2 nights. The room was clean and had awesome view of the pool. The furniture is really very well maintained and antique. Bathroom was very clean with all the required eminitied including a hair drier n proper hot running water.
Food was a real delicious one and perfectly spiced. It ws jus the same as wot my mom cooks. Breakfast served was also a real fab, typical gharka khana. Staff in the hotel is very co-operative and always smiling and always happy to help. I even got my train tickets booked just the prior day of departureto udaipur by the hotel manager Mr. Vikas and dat too on a just one phone call.
Am really very thank full to all of them. Theres a guy in the hotel who plays a traditional rajasthani voilin and sings rajasthani songs, you must listen to him while dinning or while in the courtyard. he sings really very sweet n plays the instrument faboulous.
The hotel owners are a real sweet people and they really make u feel like home.
Must visit this hotel or atleast taste the delicious food if you are in jaipur.

Room Tip: u can choose any room, all are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was a great balance to the slick chain hotels where we stayed in Delhi and Mumbai. Yes, those places might have more modern fixtures, but you're not going to find a place with more charm or history. The staff is attentive - the rooms are adorable - the wifi reliable - the food tasty, complete with a musician in the garden - the neighborhood is active and the management helpful in any way we requested. Concierge was very helpful in securing airport transportation and even a driver to stay with us for a two day trip that ended in Udaipur. I would highly recommend this property - but only to travelers that are going to appreciate the wonderfully authentic experience. Not only should you NOT expect the plastic shine of the big chains, it would be a huge shame to replace the glamour of this property with that cookie cutter experience.

Room Tip: we were in the maharaja suite at the front of the main building. though it was no issue for us, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Ironically, the day we arrived,hotel next door had a wedding going on which was great. We were less than impressed with the palace The water in our room was not working upon our arrival. Once fixed, it work well. The shower was very hot and poweful The detailing of the room showed a real Raj type of theme but the whole of the Palace needs a big paint job
great idea but a lot of investment is required

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel

Address: Moti Doongari Road, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 302 hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naila Bagh Palace is one of the oldest boutique Heritage properties of the pink city (Jaipur). Originally built in 1870, it was the then Prime Minister's residency. Now run by descendants of Fateh Singh Ji (ex prime minister), it is conveniently located in the heart of Jaipur. Close to almost all historical sights. The hotel has a billiard room, swimming pool and artwork on display amongst other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage Home Hotel Hotel Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage home hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.