We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old residence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barwara Kothi

Save Saved
You added Barwara Kothi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful old residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A delightful old residence which has been in the same family for many years. A real heritage feel about the place. It has a lovely garden allowing you to escape the busy city, which is only a short tuk-tuk ride away. The owner and the staff could not be more helpful or courteous. On our departure we had an 11.45pm train and were given use of the lounge and a room for changing. Overall I could thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room with one of the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us..take care and we would love to host you again when visiting Jaipur next. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    61
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
57
74
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I wanted a different type of place to stay in Jaipur this time, with a garden, and it took me a while to choose BK for my stay in January 2014.
I booked in July 2013 for five nights for a stay that coincided with the Jaipur Literature Festival. It was a good choice, and I would recommend and stay again, as long as ... I got a room at the back that looked on to the back garden.
I was disappointed that despite booking so long in advance (and I know at least some other guests had not) we got a room at the front of the house where we got noise from the street and railway a few blocks away, despite the double glazing the owners have taken the trouble to install. That said, we didn't notice the noise as much after the first few nights, and it might have bothered us more than it would other people.
But my advice is to request a room at the back when you book - I wish I had. That said, the front room was absolutely OK, but perhaps should be charged out at a lower rate.
Nevertheless, the place was meticulously kept, and our twin room had extra wide single beds and was large with room for our suitcases. The bed linen and towels were good quality and the bathroom was large and also very clean, with hot water almost always available.
The dinners served were great local cooking - much tastier and healthier than the richer meals served in many restaurants in India (and Australia ...). Deepali is a welcoming hostess, and the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful.
Be aware bookings are paid 100% in advance - so my credit card was debited in July 2013 when I booked, which rubbed a bit more salt in the wound re our noisy room.
It's also important to remember that Jaipur is a big city (maybe not by Indian standards ...) and the Civll Lines is 15 mins drive from some of the central attractions. But there is lots of transport and advice for getting around available, including taxis and auto-rickshaws.
Having stayed in an haveli-style hotel on previous visits to Jaipur, I wanted something with a greater sense of space and calm this time, even it it didn't have the antique-style frescoes and artefacts, and BK certainly provided space and calm. It's also handy to guest travelling by rail, with the main Jaipur station only minutes away.
Overall I would certainly recommend BK for people looking for personal, low-key guesthouse style accommodation in this increasingly busy city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
We enjoyed having you both over. The room you stayed in is one of my personal favourites as it is a large room, the french windows give a lovely view of the trees and greenery around..gets the first rays of the sun in the kothi..is one of the recently refurbished rooms with double glazed windows and a new AC. Decibel levels is low in the front rooms due to the double glazed windows.
I do look forward to having you over with us on your next visit to Jaipur, Lit Fest or otherwise.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Situated in one of the best localities in Jaipur (Civil Lines) Barwara Kothi is the place to be if you want to soak in the culture/lifestyle of Jaipur. Its a good break from the opulent, listless hotels. The room sizes, patio, sit outs, artifacts, antiques, powder rooms are just perfect for a relaxed and pleasant holiday. The Kothi is right opp to some first rate Jaipuri stores and restaurant (Spice Court, one of the best eating joints in the city).

If you cannot afford to stay in one of the 5 stars and are fatigued by the uniformity, this is the place to be put up at. Going back there for certain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are quite well located with good eating joints and shopping boutiques located within walking distance from the kothi.
Look forward to having you over with us again on your next visit. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a really nice guest house. We had fun staying there. Price vs Value is really good!
They were really helpful and it was way more friendly than staying in a chain hotel. It is good located and it is easy to move to the old city from there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you both over and staying with us.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Dec 2013/Jan 2014 and it was freezing! Although heaters were available, they were pretty ineffective. On top of this, there was no hot water for 2 days and, when it came back, the shower took approx. 10 minutes to heat up. In addition, the free wifi was intermittent at best. Having said that, the bedrooms were a good size, the breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff were delightful. When it comes down to it, for approx. £20 a night bed & breakfast this is pretty good value for money but, would I go back - probably not

Room Tip: Don't go during the cold season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your comments and appreciating what you liked about us.
For hot water we have a 1000 litres solar tank on our terrace which on days that are cloudy or foggy we switch on the inbuilt geysers to heat up the water. For a 9 room property like ours this works fairly adequately . The hot water does take 2-3 minutes to come as first the cold water(amounting to half a bucket) in the pipe connected to the solar needs to be emptied. We have kept a note in all rooms informing the same.
The WIFI was down as the service provider had a problem. So in the entire area the wifi system was down and out and not just ours.
We do not have centralized heating like bigger chains or hotels. Ours is a homestay wherein we use carbon heaters for our personal use and the same we have put in all our guest rooms.
These are relatively safe and warm up the room effectively.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you want to avoid the soulless new matchbox shaped cookie cutter hotels that have mushroomed in Jaipur and want an experience that has charm and grace without breaking your bank then Barwara Kothi is the right place to stay.
The location is perfect . In Civil Lines diagonally opposite Spice Court , probably the finest stand alone restaurant in Jaipur and an easy drive from the most important sites .The rooms are spacious with large windows . Natural light bathes the interiors. We had two rooms during our 27 to 29 Dec stay .One of our rooms had a beautiful balcony where my sons and I spent our pre breakfast time drinking tea and enjoying the view of the trees on the lawn below .The bathrooms are spacious and full of light as well . The showers are as good as in any five star hotel . The rooms and the bathrooms have good linen. The rooms are decorated in nice colours with subtle Rajasthani touches .Some of the furniture , particularly the chairs in the dining room are delightfully Rajasthani . The décor has an excellent sense of proportion . Its not overdone . Have breakfast at one of the tables by the window. The cook make you pretty much what you want if you ask him the day before . Else the serial - fruit - eggs is quite all right .We sat in the lawn one evening and drank wine . The cook brought us fritters to go with our wine.Then we walked across to Spice Court for dinner .Felt like the home of a loving relative. You cant do this in most four star hotels in Jaipur . If you don't have a budget for a Samod Palace of a Rambagh stay at Barwara Kothi .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you and your family over with us and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Jaipur.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good ambiance, pleasant experience for us in the last week of december. The breakfast was better than average. We had dinner on one night and it was pretty decent, although not sure if we would have repeated. Rooms were good size. We stayed with kids and parents. Location is also pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting area / balcony on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your gracious comments. We only serve dinner on request which is more like a home made meal compared to one you would have at a fancier restaurant with a wider choice of items.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barwara Kothi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.