We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barwara Kothi

Save Saved
You added Barwara Kothi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Family holiday...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a super family holiday in Rajasthan, made more comfortable & enjoyable because of the wonderful places we stayed at. Barwara Kothi was one of them. It combined the personal touch of a home-stay with the excellent service of a hotel. The house is beautiful, the rooms were clean & comfortable, the ambience was beautiful!
We had breakfast in on all the days of our stay, & I have to say they were substantial & wholesome. The service was great, & the staff were most obliging.
Barwara Kothi is located very well, in a quiet neighborhood, & yet well connected with the city & shopping areas.
I recommend it strongly for people looking for a quiet, yet classy place to stay in Jaipur.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    61
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
57
74
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

'Barwara Kothi' is a charming colonial villa that gives you a flavour of royalty coupled with a comfortable stay. Located in an upmarket area away from the hustle-bustle of Jaipur, the property is beautiful with spacious rooms. The place is squeaky clean, the staff is courteous, and the owner Deepali is helpful and hospitable. We were glad we picked it over a 4 star luxury hotel. We enjoyed our stay here and have already recommended it to family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cosy bed & big bedroom, lovely bathroom, nice balcony to enjoy a beer on in the evenings... What more could you ask for?

Well, good food would be nice. Good thing the breakfasts and evening meals were delicious! The breakfast buffet provided enough of a selection to cater for all tastes and the evening meals were also enjoyable. If you want to eat out there is a good restaurant (spice court. i would definitely recommend eating here) just a couple of minutes walk down the street and if you crave western food we saw a Pizza Hut just a short tuk tuk ride away.

The historic centre of Jaipur is easily accessible via tuk tuk and should you need any assistance finding out about Jaipur, Deepali, the owner of the hotel, is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Barwara Kothi was recommended to us by Deepak Singh of Spiritual Journeys in Massachusetts, a man we have never met but who arranges travel for someone I know in Chicago. Every place he found for us was fantastic. This place is located close to the city and all the places you want to see, but once in the gates you are nestled in tranquility. Each night we were able to join in the dance and joy of the wedding processions and then retreat back to our cozy room and amazing hosts. The food was fantastic, even the other guests were friendly, engaging and sharing in their journeys. Made Jaipur even more memorable. And did I mention it is beautiful, elegant but yet comfortable.

Room Tip: I was giving them all excellents and couldn't delete the swimming pool that they don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was a lovely homestay for us. The house is very aesthetically decorated with all artefacts and heirlooms and family pictures, gives a very warm feeling as you enter. The owner Deepali an extremely helpful and courteous lady made our stay quite comfortable. The rooms were nice and spotlessly clean and spacious with a nice open balcony that overlooked a lawn. We stayed for 3 days and had a lovely time. The attendants were equally good. Would recommend strongly to all those who are looking for a peaceful stay in a central location amidst a bustling city!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This was a wonderful delight in jaipur.we stayed 3 nights in a clean, spacious room. Its not a big hotel,and thats makes it really cosy. Friendly staf, delicious food, and in general relaxing place to stay.recomended!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was a rare find and somewhere that I will return to.

The house and grounds are beautiful. The house is spotlessly clean and the rooms generously proportioned and we'll decorated.

It's also very close to the train station and in a very good part of the city.

Only ate breakfast there - its was good and set us up for the day.

Only negative was that is you are travelling with kids and request a kids bed, the bed is a camp bed and very hard.

however don't let this detract from booking at this property.

We were also lucky enough to hook up with a taxi driver, Salim, who was invaluable. PM me is you would like his details.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barwara Kothi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.