We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like comming home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Generals Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Generals Retreat to your Saves list
The Generals Retreat
9 Sardar Patel Marg C- Scheme | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 332 Jaipur B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Like comming home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for a night whilst researching homestays and women safe accommodation for my website. What I loved...lovely big lawn and garden, the feeling of being home rather than in a hotel and the very hospitable staff. Its close to the railway and bus stations, wifi is available and my favourite shop is (Anokhi) is just around the corner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
26
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Recommended by a colleague, I made a booking on the phone. The warmth of the staff is unbeatable. spacious, comfortable rooms as well as great food. All for a very reasonable price!

Beyond all my expectations, really enjoyed my stay here. I look fwd to staying here on my next trip to Jaipur.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We found that the secret of travelling through India is to know some good retreats to be able to escape the chaos every once in a while.
The Generals Retreat is exactly such a place, with nice balconies, a terrace, garden and patio, good food and very friendly staff.


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were completely taken in with this place and the warmth and hospitality shown by the staff. The meals were excellent and sitting outside in the evening and enjoying the atmosphere of Jaipur was the perfect end to our hectic sightseeing days. The meals were excellent and the staff went out of their way to make sure we got what we wanted. The inn is centrally located and we enjoyed short walking trips to the pink city, Anokhi for shopping and some restaurants. Surendra was more than helpful to arrange out transportation to Pushkar and a taxi back to Delhi via Agra. Can't say enough for his help during our stay there. The rooms are large and comfortable and we will certainly make a return trip to them at some point in the future if Jaipur is included in our trip. Thanks to all for making it a wonderful stay in Jaipur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderfully warm welcome, and two delicious vegetarian meals. Mrs Singh found us a pleasant and helpful driver who took us wherever we wanted to go in Jaipur. The General's Retreat has charm and individuality, and isn't far from the centre of Jaipur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This guest house is pretty much perfect. Simple but comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens, a nice terrace to sit and relax, and well located. Oh and very reasonably priced. They found me a driver, Sadiq, who looked after me wonderfully well during my stay in Jaipur and showed me all the sites.Bravo The General's Retreat!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was one of our most favorite places to stay in all of India! Very comfortable and clean...and quiet...yet very conveniently located. The decor is charming, the restaurant had delicious food...the owner and staff were so kind and helpful, (thank you Surendra!) We arrived after a harrowing car ride from Delhi; hungry, travel weary and exhausted to this lovely guest house...where they made us a pot of tea and grilled cheese sandwiches, we showered and enjoyed WIFI while we rested. We will be back,
truly a retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Generals Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Generals Retreat

Address: 9 Sardar Patel Marg C- Scheme | Chomu House, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Generals Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Generals Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.