We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Spacious, Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunder Palace Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunder Palace Guest House to your Saves list
Sunder Palace Guest House
46 Sanjay Marg, Hathroi Fort, Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 304 Hotels in Jaipur
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious, Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013

we stayed in room 204 (i think) - it was very spacious, clean and quiet

the only problem we faced was super hard matresses! so hard, that i actually used the chair cushions during my stay - may be an issue for some people - it wasnt a massive deal for us - we've slept in far far worse places, and everything else out-weighed a hard bed for 3 measley nights

the hotel itself is very well presented, charming, and authentic - staff were super helpful and arranged for a tuktuk to collect us from the station (at 10pm) which they paid for

location was great - nice quiet safe road, easily accessible to major tourist spots, and the hotel use specific tuktuk drivers, so you can feel confident that you are not being "done over" or being scammed into going to places you do not wish to go

we didnt care much for the restaurant; we ate dinner once and breakfast once... The Peacock (Pearl Palace Hotel) is literally around the corner, so we ate there instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    127
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
233
84
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A family of four,we stayed in Sunder Palace Guest House for two nights.The stay was excellent.
The first satisfying experience was the free flow of hot water in the bath when we checked in around 10.30 pm. Later we found that hot water was available throughout whenever we needed
.
Although the restaurant closes by 10 pm.,on the suggestion of hotel management (Mr.Abhinav) we had ordered food over phone while boarding the flight to Jaipur and food was served in our room as soon as we checked in at 10.30 pm.That was very satisfying too.
We simply loved the veg food of their restaurant which is very tastefully done (both food and decor).

Room service was excellent.The silent Jigme fulfilled all our requests speedily without uttering a word.
At the reception desk, Sunder and Raj were ever ready to answer all our queries.

The taxi service arranged by the hotel was very good.Courteous and friendly driver.
I am not sure, however, whether the taxi tariffs weren't priced slightly on the higher side.
No matter, over all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in December and after 5 weeks of travelling in India, this was a favourite of mine. The hotel is an absolute GEM! We were upgraded to a super deluxe room and it was beautiful. The hotel & room was spotless. The service here is wonderful, we even had our laundry done here. Everyone is so helpful and nice!

The rooftop restaurant was so convenient and the food was awesome! We didn't eat anywhere else it was soooo good! I didn't think I would enjoy vegetarian food so much until after I ate here!

The hotel offered taxi services and we had an AMAZING driver! All the sites in a day.

Honestly, this hotel is perfect and if we ever go back to Jaipur I'll be staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've spent two nights in this hotel. The staff is very helpful. I realy like that they give you a lot of advises to have a good time in Jaipur. They also can pick you up at the railway station. The hotel is quite, but my room wasn't bright. It's a good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at Sunder Palace during our stay in Jaipur and was just as good as our last stay 2 years ago. The food at the rooftop restaurant has improved and all the vegetarian dishes we tried from the extensive menu were full of flavour and very enjoyable, the chana masala was the best we have ever tasted! The rooms and all public areas were kept very clean and the staff were always friendly and helpful. This is the only hotel we would use in Jaipur. Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Someone said that if you want to know about a house owner, take a look at the bathroom.

This gueshouse is a super guesthouse.
I'm not so sure about other guesthouse. Yes, they might clean the room after guests leave. but do they clean the bathroom after someone leave? The Sunder Palace does!
What i meant with "Cleaning a bathroom" is more than empty the bin and quick splash the floor. The cleaner in Sunder Palace did brush the floor!

When I came the room was not ready and the receptionist advise us to wait in the roof-top restaurant. But I was too tired due to 6 hours train from New Delhi, so I just lay in the bed and tried to take a nap. In the same time they were busy brushing the washroom floor and I can smell the cleaner and room refresher. It took around 1 hour to clean the bathroom. No wander Sunder Palace always in a sparkling - tip top condition :D

The roof top restaurant located in 4fl, its a pleasant and quiet place to enjoy great and healthy food. The staffs are nice and friendly. They have some pc for rent in the lobby. Everywhere in the guesthouse has Rajashtani decoration, nice, clean and well maintained.

Oh the room? it has good mattress and quality sheets, spacious and well decorated as well. I asked for extra 2 pillows and the staff gave it generously.
For 900rupee/night i can say its a well worth staying, you get more than you pay.

stayed Feb 9-11, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is an absolute GEM! For about $30 a night, I had a beautiful deluxe room with a comfortable bed, wifi, and a hot shower. The service here is wonderful! They are so accommodating and nice!

I loved the hotel restaurant (which is veggie-only) and we were all very satisfied with our experience there.

Someone picked us up from the hectic rail station, but I did call the day before to confirm this. I also called before we got on the train.

The hotel offered taxi services and we had an AMAZING driver! Ask for Moin, he's the best!

Honestly, this hotel is worth way more than the prices they quote. If I ever go back to Jaipur I'm not looking anywhere else - this is the best place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunder Palace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunder Palace Guest House

Address: 46 Sanjay Marg, Hathroi Fort, Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and clean. Run by a family providing all the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunder Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunder Palace Guest House Hotel Jaipur
Sunder Palace Hotel
Sunder Palace Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunder Palace Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.