We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunder Palace Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunder Palace Guest House to your Saves list
Sunder Palace Guest House
46 Sanjay Marg, Hathroi Fort, Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 307 Hotels in Jaipur
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have always used Sunder Palace to host visitors to my 'mother-city' and in December 2012, I had the pleasure of experiencing the hospitality first-hand. Rooms are comfortable, service is beyond excellent. The building is beautifully decorated, and guests are truly spoilt when they stay at Sunder. There is a stunning roof-top restaurant, where you can bask in the morning sun, as well as fast internet, yummy food and hot showers. The service is beyond excellent, and I highly recommend this guesthouse for a person looking for reasonable, clean and comfortable accomodation.... Thumbs Up x 100

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    153
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
106
260
91
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

That was the best guesthouse/hotel I stayed while I was traveling North India. Hotel is in quiet area, everywhere in the hotel is nicely decorated, and room was really clean and comfortable. Real hot shower 24 hours. I felt like staying in mid range hotel (with this reasonable price). The owner is really friendly and helpful. I love rooftop restaurant, really nice atmosphere and food is good. I highly recommend this hotel

Only negative thing - be careful with hotel's rickshaw driver (young one). He tried to bring you to the "Mugal city, which shouldn't be missed" - it is his "friend's" textile shop, where they tried to sell you over priced (3 times more than bazaar in the city) silk etc. Make sure you are not taking this guy's rickshaw . Other than that, this is the amazing accommodation and I can recommend it.

素晴らしいホテルでした。館内はとても綺麗で地元の民芸品で飾られています。部屋は清潔で広く、熱いシャワーがたっぷりと出ます。ホテルのオーナーも従業員も親切です。お値段の2倍くらいの価値のあるホテルだと思います。屋上にはとても雰囲気のいいレストランがあって朝食も夕食も美味しいです。

唯一の問題がホテル専属のリキシャ運転手で、ほかにもお勧めの場所があるとこっちの観光プランを勝手に急かさせて、何かと思えば強引に「自分の知り合いの激安シルク」店に連れていかれました。こちらが何も買わないと怒って非常に不機嫌になりました。若い男でした。彼には気を付けてください。

Room Tip: be careful with hotel rickshaw, he is very rude and tried to bring you to silk shop etc for commissi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here after the Pearl Palace was full, but I am very glad I did. Some of the reasons it's great:

My train was 6 hours late, arriving at 5.30am instead of about 11pm. The guy from the hotel waited around for me - I did give him frequent phone updates, but still, it;s a long time, in the cold

My room was WARM

They organised a tuktuk for the whole day, taking me to the forts, Jal Mahal, Royal Gaitor, Mughal village for textiles and jewellery, and best of all, the monkey temple, for 750 rupees, which I thought was an utter bargain

I had a fantastic meal here

It's not in the noisy centre, but close to the station and very easily accessible to anywhere in a tuk tuk of course. I just had a massage booked through the hotel too, in a nearby place. It would have been great if it hadn't been so cold. A small heater to heat the room when you're naked and covered in oil isn't really enough. Still, think of the calories I will have burned....

Room Tip: I am on the ground floor; the higher floors appear to have nicer rooms but I think they cost more. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights at end of Dec 2012 in one of their 4 bed room and we were not disappointed. Hotel room and it's equipments, linens, towels etc were neat and clean. Bathroom was a bit tidy with a small sink, some fixtures were broken but it was no big deal. Food was averagely tasty and staffs were courteous too. You can ask any help and they would try their best to provide it. They don't serve non-veg but have good selections in vegetarian dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's not in the center of busy area, but not far away from either(max 60Rs tuk tuk and very close to the train station). Staff were very friendly and helpful, as well as the tour map. They helped us book taxi, gave me advice about famous places in Jaipur, room service and food(you could actually ask for food delivered to your room! the fried rice was so yummy!)
They did charge 100Rs for wifi, but the speed was much better than the free ones in other GHs. The water was so hot and no need to wait! You don't pay in the roof top restaurant until checkout. I noticed that there's a board in the reception desk saying that don't tip any staff cuz they are a team.
It's a must-GH in Jaipur! very quiet very friendly!

Room Tip: my room was not perfectly wifi covered(but still covered)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkina Faso
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I paid a little extra for the higher-end room, which was very big and comfortable. I very much liked their communal tipping system, as opposed to other hotels/hostels where people hang around and won't leave you alone.

They have a strict no meat or alcohol policy - so if this bothers you it's probably best to stay somewhere else... I was happy to go and eat meat and drink alcohol at other places though :) The restaurant upstairs served decent Indian vegetarian food.

Wi-Fi is paid which is slightly annoying - I have a thing against hotels/guest houses that charge for Internet access in 2012, and their system only allows one device at a time to connect. Other similarly priced places give it away for free.

Location was a little bit far away from the major things, but there didn't seem to be many decent hotels/guest houses around there anyway!

Finally, the tuk tuk driver that worked for the hotel (free train station pickup is included) was trustworthy and didn't try to rip me off - definitely a plus in India!

Room Tip: If you want a big room with a table, pay for the most expensive room. The smaller ones looked fine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The amenities provided in the hotel and the quality of the rooms well exceed expectations for the price. Even the staff were very courteous and professional. Also, as we had reached before noon, a temporary room was provided for us to get ready. The stay at this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunder Palace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunder Palace Guest House

Address: 46 Sanjay Marg, Hathroi Fort, Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very centrally located. The rooms are spacious and clean. Run by a family providing all the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sunder Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunder Palace Guest House Hotel Jaipur
Sunder Palace Hotel
Sunder Palace Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunder Palace Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.