We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in busy Jaipur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Mahal

Save Saved
You added Umaid Mahal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet stay in busy Jaipur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Situated in a residential area of Jaipur - 15-20mins in a rickshaw to the city centre and 10mins walk from the railway station. This is a quiet hotel with Indian decor and a restaurant/bar on the top floor terrace serving very nice food. One of the highlights was the bathrooom with marble floor and walls and a high pressured shower.

Rickshaws and taxis are readily available and an ATM is a 3 mins walk way.

Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    406
    103
    24
    11
See reviews for
267
394
62
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Umaid Mahal is easily the best hotel I stayed in in India. Located away from the crowded city centre, it is quiet and comfortable, although the distance meant I took a lot of rickshaw journeys. The hotel is a heritage-style hotel, meaning it is a modern version of an old building. The advantage of this is that it has all modern conveniences, and probably the most inexpensive minibar I have ever encountered.

There is a rooftop restaurant with reasonably good food, and a basement bar. Breakfast was not particularly to my taste, but there was fruit and toast, which is enough. Wifi is reasonably reliable, although slightly complicated to set up. Pickup from the train station was free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is I think the best heritage hotel in Jaipur which is fairly affordable... We booked the hotel through Clear-trip using their Flash Sale offer which saved us around 1500 Rs.. I have already stayed in their other property UMAID BHAWAN which is just near by. So, the Hotel is absolute Heritage which reflects the Hindu Rajput Traditions, It is literally like living in some Rajputana Castle.. So colorful, Vibrant and excellently decorated.. Room's interior were awesome with Comfortable bed and more than enough space.. There were a balcony in the room but we did not use it opens to the apartment building next door. however if u got rooms on Left Passage u might get better view. The rooftop restaurant is just the add on feature to this hotel, serving awesomely prepared world cuisine. Being an October evening its was nice choice to sit there and have drinks and nice food with friends.. The location of this hotel is pretty nice, it is in center of the City yet very quite and calm.. Those visiting Jaipur must try this hotel at least for one night. I think they just need to work on the breakfast they serve, must improve the choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had been to Jaipur before for tourism. This time we chose Umaid Mahal and we liked it. Free pick up from the railway station was attractive. Rooms were clean and spacious. Very good and well maintained Rajasthani heritage articles and paintings on wall. Bhuna ghost was delicious. Best was the temple attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilani, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in room 302 i think...food was excellent...eating dinner rooftop was amazing...would recommend tourists to stay there while in Jaipur...room was good n cozy...bed was excellent...good for people in love...quite a romantic place...u feel royal while u stay there

Room Tip: Been only once..too early to advise someone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I visited 5 cities; Varanasi, Agra, Jaipur, Mumbai and Goa, but my memories at Umaid Mahal lingers vividly still in my mind even after returning back to my country. Unlike uniform western chain hotels, Umaid Mahal well represents the exotic atmosphere of the marvelous city of Jaipur with delicate decor and amazing cleanliness that allowed me to feel relaxed and at the same time enjoy my stay to the full. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you're looking for an affordable place to stay, Umaid Mahal is nice. The restaurant was a little on the pricey side, especially if you order alcohol, but it was good. The wifi was terrible but it was free. The decor in the hotel was very nice and the bed was comfortable. It was a nice place to stay but the service didn't really stand out - good or bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#19 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.