We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Average Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Mahal

Save Saved
You added Umaid Mahal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
“Good Hotel, Average Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hotel is no doubt a good place to stay however what was lacking is the service. We as a family were going out for leisure and upon asking to clear the room at the reception, we were told that you have arrived in the afternoon and you are asking to clean the room in the evening which is not possible.
Not arguing with him, i simply asked to at least take the used utensils from the room which were inside the room after lunch. That was agreed by them however after coming back late night, i saw the utensils still in the room which we get rid of after calling at the reception again.
The above mentioned scenario is self explanatory about the service quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    416
    103
    24
    11
See reviews for
281
409
65
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is very good, very clean and worth every penny of your stay.
The decoration is so wonderful. Very warmly hotel.
The staffs are wonderful and their service is excellent. Nice ppl there. I am very impressed and will definitely come again. I have not even a single complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Last month, I stayed in umaid mahal for 2 days and found it a good place to stay. Hotel and Service staff was excellent and I had no problems during my stay. I have only 1 suggestion that Internet (wifi) shouldn't be included in cost. It should be an add on in service.

Room Tip: Make the booking before atleast 2 weeks. so that you'll get discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Umaid is the bes place if you are looking for hotel withn the budget. Its elegance is exceptional and the service provided is outstanding. Me and my fiancée had made a trip to Jaipur recently and we both agree that there would be no other that we would chose for our next visit too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The rooms and bathrooms are very clean.
What is painful is the staff who torture you every morning to clean the room.

they keep calling you every morning at least 6 to 7 times and insist on cleaning the room as the staff leave at 12.

They do not understand the concept of jet lag and go by the time table set.

We ordered a pot of milk, and ordered one, instead came a glass of milk because they have a set and standard set up and will not change with the need of the customer.

Very rigid in their ways and i would say the staff really need to learn the meaning of service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and placed on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Jaipur is crazy and chaotic but the Umaid Mahal is the perfect place to stay if you want to chill out at the end of a hectic day of sightseeing. The rooms were a good size and comfortable for the price and the rooftop restaurant is relaxed and highly recommended. The swimming pool could have been cleaner and doesn't see much sun but I would still recommend this hotel for those on a mid-range budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during Dushera. The rooms are decent and the hotel decor was good, however it does not match the brochure or website pictures. The place is clean and they provided a decent internet service. The location of the hotel is pretty good however it is situated at a quite place which was great. The swimming pool in this hotel is only for eyes only, it is too small!
We found the place slightly expensive, staffs were discrete and the service was good. The breakfast spread was very limited, however the Indian food was pretty tasty (we had dinner at room). They charge a hefty amount as room service additional charge which was disappointing.
Rooms, toilet and the linen was clean and we did not have any other issue. The A/C is pretty old and need upgrade.
We were charged Rs 3500/- per room(Double occupancy - Royal Deluxe room), based on my experience in other hotel, I would say if you get the rooms below Rs 3000/- it is worth staying at this place.The child policy of this hotel needs improvement and flexibility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#19 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.