We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and with Gardens but rooms need TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shahar Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shahar Palace to your Saves list
Shahar Palace
Barwara House Colony, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 334 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Quiet and with Gardens but rooms need TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. Located in a nice quiet residental area but not much of interest around, no restaurants, you'll need to take a taxi for anything. The rooms are dark and have seen better days - I guess they're just shabby, but they're clean. Some very adventurous plumbing and electrics in bathroom. The communal terrace is very nice, and so is the small gardens. The owner is very friendly and will give you some good advice on places to visit. They offer free pick-ups, which is great, as Jaipur Train station is mayhem. The hotel's rickshaw driver will try to take you to rubbish shops for commission, so beware - I'd have expected that from some touts but not a fairly respectable hotel and things got a little unpleasant as some of the 'factory shops' are a little out of the way, and we had bo become quite firm saying that we didn't like the merchandise and wouldn't buy- not sure the hotel owner is aware of those little 'extras'.

Other than that, a decent place to stay in pricey Jaipur.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaharpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review. Historical location of the hotel is such an area which is considered to house one of the poshest people of Jaipur,grand residences of Rajasthan's Chief Minister and Governor,and known for quiet ambiance.

We make every effort for you have a pleasent stay and our website does make all travellers aware of Touts,they are ubiquitous not only in one particular developing country but in whole world,in general ,india is a very friendly country and one should' nt siege mentality that one is against you and out to squeeze you dry.Needless to say, such a mentality may affect any true appreciation of the country.

I am humbled by everything you have written and apologize for not meeting your expectations in some areas.The level of business in our hotel have unfortunately affected the plumbing,due simoultaneous consumption.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at shaharpalace@hotmail.com, so I can enter a specific preference in your profile to make your stay much comfortable & memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and our beautiful city of Jaipur.

Sincerely,
fateh
Area Director for Quality
Shahar Palace,Jaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
18
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights at their delux rooms, which the owner tells me is a newer addition to the building. The building offers rooms that open into a common balcony, with near-private sitouts in front of the rooms. The rooms are very clean and nice, with antique wooden furnitures that impart a flavourof the strong historica lheritage of the Jaipur city.

At around INR2,500 a day, the hotel offers good value for money for the special 'at home' feel which we got from the staff members. A big thanks to Shankar for looking after us so well. Shankar's very much home-styled food was simply great after a tired day of sightseeing. That said, I do admit being a little disappointed to know that breakfast is not included with the room rates, as its the kind one expects in any B&B or Inns, having seen the guesthouse listed in such a category, we kind of expected it. But one can always forgive such minor nitty gritties when one has a wonderful stay in a very elegant hotel right in the middle of the city. My child was thrilled to sight doves, pigeons, hens, and a peacock in the garden. For cityslickers like us, it was indeed a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaharpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
On behalf of the staff of Shahar Palace, I would like to thank you for the review you wrote here at Trip Advisor.I am humbled by everything you have written and apologize for not meeting your expectations in some areas. I will certainly share your feedback to all our staff to further encourage and enforce what we strive to achieve --- a delightful and memorable experience for all our guests.

We appreciate your opinions knowing how well traveled you are.
Please do not hesitate to contact or email me if we can be of assistance to you on your next visit .

Sincerely,
fateh
Area Director for Quality
Shahar Palace,Jaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

A quiet place to stay with decent facilities. The staff and owners were cordial. The cook (who also seemed to be one man army :) was great at his work. We enjoyed the feel of home-cooked food away from home. The only point that bothered us was about the rooms. We felt that the rooms could have been equipped much better. They were pretty distant from the standard definition of "Super" Deluxe rooms (we had booked). Things you would normally expect in any room with the same price weren't there - minimal toiletries (a single travel soap and one towel, missing dustbin), no carpet or foot mats (in winters you typically expect warmth or cozy rooms), single towel in a double bedroom.

But all-in-all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaharpalace, Guest Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel. I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

I have shared your comments with our staff and we are all humbled by what you have written. We consider your feedback as “gifts” --- they are meaningful to us because it helps us continuously improve our product and service delivery.

Sincerely,
fateh
Area Director of Quality
Shahar Palace,Jaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

When I first made a reservation, I did it based on Fiona Caulfield's recommendation. I did not hope much - maybe aging royalty making a little extra money.
But when we arrived at the place, the impeccably clean rooms took us by surprise. It only added to the impression we had when the owner came by to the railway station at 2 am to pick us up. Thank you Col. Singh.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Increasingly I will use Jaipur as a base rather than Delhi and am always looking at different areas of Jaipur for quiet accommodation near to the facilities I use. Shahar Palace is away from the noise and bustle of Jaipur, a lovely leafy suburb in Civil Lines.
Lovely garden, gracious hosts and a willing staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The hotel sits in a nice secure surrounding of lush greenery. Locating it on your own in the dead of night could be difficult. Rooms are average. More like home stay, don't expect professional butler service. Requested airport transport did not come. Rooms with higher rent (Rs 1425/-) was provided against the confirmed standard rent room (Rs 925/-). Food is avearage and expensive for the standard.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Good value with a free pick up from the station. Wonderfully quiet and green for India, this is a lovely oasis of calm and I would stay here again if I find myself in Jaipur in the future.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shahar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahar Palace

Address: Barwara House Colony, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahar Palace is owned by the formal royal family of Shahar, Colonel Virendra Singh (retd) and his wife Nalini.The Heritage Hotel provides some of the finest accommodation in Jaipur, with a host of comforts and services in a truly regal ambiance.It's exterior design and gardens all reflect the spirit of Rajasthan, its heritage and royal traditions. Besides the grand residences of Chief Minister and Governor of Rajasthan, the area is renowned for its greenery, peace and quiet ambiance. Hotel Shahar Palace has also been recommended as one of the best budget Jaipur Hotel by the Lonely Planet Guide to Rajasthan , RoughGuide Jaipur , Love Jaipur by Fiona Caufield , German & Japanese guide book to Jaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Shahar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.