We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little heritage hotel with fantastic decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel to your Saves list
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 311 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice little heritage hotel with fantastic decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you only visit one heritage hotel then make it this one. It is beautifully decorated inside and out and whilst not 'original' is certainly like the picture one paints in ones mind when thinking what this type of hotel may look like. Our room was very spacious with a large Super King canopied four poster bed, a small lounge area with coffee table and armchairs and sofa, additional comfy seating on the balcony and in the room, a dressing room containing large, spacious wardrobes and a compact en-suite shower room. The ceiling of the room was entirely covered in glass mosaic tiles and was truly a sight to behold. Mosaic glass was used in other areas to highlight alcoves, door frames etc and must have been inspired by a trip to the Amber Fort! The dark wood furniture was of reasonable quality and certainly added to the 'Indian' themed room! There was plenty an endless supply of hot water at any time of day and no need to turn on an individual gizer. The room also had a fridge, ideal for keeping any food purchases cool. There was an in room safe and a small shampoo, shower gel and soap was provided. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with a hot and cold selection readily available. The roof top restaurant was delightful with good views of the city. The food and service was excellent. Reception was a little hit and miss but they were keen to help just a little inundated at times. Overall the hotel was clean, tidy and well maintained. Assuming the rate and hotel remain the same, I would definitely stay again as they are offering a lot for not much cost!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    592
    136
    38
    28
See reviews for
443
528
80
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Its a fantastic hotel to stay in Jaipur..Its close to the city and a good hotel with excellent room....Wifi is complementary on your stay..The breakfast is complimentry but not very great..just edible...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Umaid Bhawan for 2 nights. The hotel is 'quaint' as it is heritage and attractive. The rooftop food is excellent, the breakfast is good to average. The hotel is spotless so that impresses. Do not however accept a ground floor room. we had room 103 - it was noisy from quests and reception and has no natural light. The rooms on the other floors have an abumdance of natural light.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

After reading positive reviews, we booked ourselves a Royal Suite at Umaid Bahwan, Jaipur. It was a ‘flying start’ when they could not find our reservation upon check-in. When we did get our room, the bathroom was so tight that we could not open the door and stand at the sink at the same time. The bath towels that we did have felt like sandpaper and were tea towel thick. The verandah door could not open properly because the chairs were simply, in the way.

Admittedly, the hotel has beautifully painted facades and interiors and that is - where it glows. But management of this hotel is very rough around the edges. Reception service is dry at best. Notices around hotel, for me are abrupt. You will see workers on their hands and knees washing corridors/floors (at all hours), mops and buckets left along corridors. We went to the rooftop restaurant well into lunch hour: the floors are still being washed, the chairs were on the table, the captain was shouting to his staff.

It is okay to have a small but still decent breakfast but, that is not the case. At breakfast, we had a selection of water, cordial (neither which foreign guests consume because of uncertainty over water), milk and watered down coffee/tea. They keep adding water into the pots (without changing the teabags)! Once, we had crockery stacked a feet high before it was cleared.

Wi-Fi system is cumbersome. You need one code for each device that keeps getting bumped off. Each time, you will need to trape down to reception for fresh codes. The upside is, they have a reasonable cable TV selection.

So, if you choose to stay here, it's probably because it looks nice from the outside but management of this hotel, for me, is still very rough around the edges. We have trawled North India and stayed in Havelis in very small villages that are beautifully managed.

Room Tip: All rooms are kitted-out differently. So, rooms in the same category can vary substantially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
1,287 helpful votes 1,287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We enjoyed 3 fantastic days in Jaipur staying here. Found the location very convenient. there are always rickshaws and taxis outside and you can be in the old city in 10 minutes, Amber fort in about 20. Its peaceful too. The décor is amazing as others have said. Full of character in every corner, lovely sitouts with couches and comfy chairs. bowls of flower petals all around. Our room was very comfortable: four poster bed, heater, minibar, hairdryer, tv, plenty of storage space. Nice bathroom with plentiful hot water and nice products. No idea what one of the previous posters meant about the loo roll. It was fine. I note that the roll was wrapped in a sort of greaseproof wrapping as we encountered in lots of places (sort of hygene wrapper). Just wondered if the poster used that as it would be....errr..scratchy :). the upstairs restaurant was very nice. You could eat inside or outside on the lovely roof terrace. Breakfast was one of the best we had in India. A man making eggs and omelettes to order. About 8 hot dishes - porridge, tomatoes, potatoes, dal, indian bread, etc etc etc. toast, jam, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit. juice, coffee and tea. they would get anything for you. the staff were excellent. So helpful and they cleaened the rooms every day. there is a show in the evening and also a nice pool. Didn't use that at all but it looked clean and nice. We looked forward to coming back after a long day of sightseeing. The free wireless was fast. It was an annoyance that they change the access code daily and you need one for each device. However after you realised that all you had to do is pick up a code as you came in past reception and it would last 24 hhours. If the line dropped and you had to sign in agan during the 24 hours, you just use the same code again. Not so difficult really and much much better than many connections we experienced when travelling. In short a very comfortable excellent hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when in Jaipur.

Room Tip: they are all different. ask to see a few if you don't like the first one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very comfortable and nicely decorated hotel located in the residential area. We were there during Christmas and New Year period so the hotel was full. At breakfast time, the dining area was fully occupied so they were short of cutlery, cups/saucer and ran out of food quickly. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room located at the end of the stairways so tend to get a lot of noises from people going up/down the stairs. Internet was good. Comfortable and large room. Good shower and hot water (as some places water is lukewarm for the cold winter).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel Umaid Bhawan surpassed all our expectations. Right from the amazing room decor to the heritage beauty of the building to the exceptional hotel service, everything was just awesome. The hotel is located at a decent distance from most tourist points. We spent 3 nights and 4 days at the hotel. Upon my request for a large room, we were given the Maharaja Suite (room 211). It was absolutely beautiful and very convenient for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 9 & 3). The room was equipped with two king- sized beds, a minibar, his and her sinks and an awesome standing shower. Hotel facilities
Aaa were also great. The roof top restaurant was convenient and the food delicious. Hot and tasty breakfast served each day in the restaurant. The swimming pool is beautiful, although it was too cold to swim in when we were there. Hotel staff was courteous and very helpful. The gift shop had some nice and reasonably priced handicrafts. Hotel wifi was decent. The best part was communication on part of the hotel management. I arranged our trip all on basis of email alone - Mr. Ran Vijay and Mr. Karan Rathore were very helpful. They helped with airport pickup and sightseeing trips as well. On checkout day, our luggage was stowed away and we were able to do roam around till it was time to leave. Overall we thank the friendly and polite staff for a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Jaipur.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Hotel Umaid Bhawan
Umaid Bhawan Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.