We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural Harmony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel to your Saves list
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Cultural Harmony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent expression of underlying Rajasthani and Indian culture. Outstanding service in diversity, great food. Terrific atmosphere. Those of us who are foreigners are touched by the cultural sensitivity and service in the full India expression. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    545
    119
    36
    25
See reviews for
391
486
75
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lovely interiors, helpful staff , excellent breakfast and a good rooftop restaurant. Arrived late but the hotel was kind enough to hold some lunch for us. Kids had fun in the swimming pool. The service, the decor, the luxury made us feel like we were staying in a small palace. Food was reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki Beach, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very comfortable 4 nights at Umaid Bhawan. The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff are very efficient and friendly. The hotel is located only 10 minutes from the railway station and a similar distance from the central city.
We would also recommend Mr Khan, the 4 person tuktuk driver recommended by the hotel. He was a fun guide to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Reached Umaid Bhawan in the afternoon from Jaipur airport (Rs 450 by pre-paid A/C Innova) for a 2 night stay. I would suggest you book the metro cabs for your pick and drop as they operate by the meter. The Royal suite we booked in was very cozy and clean. The rooms are close by & so the curtains need to be drawn up all the time for privacy. The roof top restaurant is spacious and in the evening they have rajastani folk music & dance. I am vegetarian & the vegan food was good. Sit away from the open tandoor if you want to avoid the meat smell. Buffet breakfast is very filling and get the pot of chai as they make good tea here.

The same evening we took a rickshaw parked outside the hotel to city palace. BEWARE- The cycle rickshaws in city palace area offer to take you on a pleasure ride but you will end up in a marwadi market which is supposedly fixed price shop on textiles, handlooms & crafts. This shop sells articles at 2 or 3 times the price you will find in Bapu or Johari bazaars. Recommend avoiding this! The section that sells handbags is a total rip off selling purses for Rs 450 when they cost Rs 100 in Bapu bazaar. Travellers beware!

The cab operators associated to the hotel are decent and prices reasonable. They provide good insights to plan your day. Day 1- We took the cab to city palace, jantar mantar, Amer fort, jaigarh fort & stop over at jal mahal. Lunch was in a run down restaurant en route (since my driver did not have any idea about decent restaurants) but I would suggest stopping over on the Jaipur- Agra/Delhi highway near Jal mahal for lunch (quite a few restaurants).

Day 2- we checked out but hired the cab for Birla temple, Albert hall (the gangaur restaurant is pricy but serves good quality snacks & lunch), Dolls museum (avoid this if you are strapped for time; this is run for deaf/dumb kids and an opportunity for us to make a small contribution and has a small room with dolls from different countries- amatureish). we boarded the train to Jodhpur in the evening.

Overall an excellent place to stay. highly recommend this for families with small kids especially. Certain unexplored areas in the hotel for us were the swimming pool, gift shop at the back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has lovely decor, very helpful staff, and a good central location in Jaipur. The breakfast is good, and rooftop restaurant is decent. We stayed here for 4 nights at a very reasonable rate and really enjoyed our stay! Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. They looked up train times for me upon request, and shared pleasant conversation with us while our bags were brought from a luggage room (which the hotel happily allowed us to use after our check-out so we could have a comfortable afternoon of sightseeing). The food was good, albeit a bit expensive, and the breakfast was yummy.

All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: The room we booked (a suite on the top floor overlooking the balcony restaurant) was very beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here on 12th and 13th october.This hotel is of the heritage category.Since we were arriving in the late night we had requested to keep the dinner ready.They served it at 11.30 pm and that too hot and fresh.Rooms are quite spacious with balcony and paintings on the wall.Also there is a space for wardrobe.You can also enjoy a good breakfast.Room service is slow.They need to improve on that.

Room Tip: Go for the suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Umaid Bhawan Palace
Hotel Umaid Bhawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.