We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of Jaipur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel to your Saves list
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 311 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carrum Downs, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jewel of Jaipur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

For a budget hotel you get so much value! We loved staying here. The hotel has been decorated to feel like you are staying in a Raj's palace. We loved our room and we had a canopy bed with a big bathroom. The rooftop restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The service was excellent and staff very friendly. The pool was beautiful and the gift shop was not terrible expensive to buy postcards etc. If you stay there take your time to explore the corridors etc

Room Tip: Choose a suite - it's cheap and you get alot of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    591
    136
    38
    28
See reviews for
443
528
80
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Titirangi, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

What an amazing hotel. We stayed here as a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 young children) in January 2012. We had the perfect room, a suite on the ground floor near the entrance, looking out onto the pool.

We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. The service was perfect, so was the help from the front desk, the food amazing ..... and of course the highlight was our room - stunning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our welcome was sullen and disinterested. Initially I had booked for January but family illness meant the dates were changed and luckily I had a copy of the email from the hotel confirming this as we were initially told we weren't booked! We did eventually get the room we had booked but the indifference in the handling wasn't a good start...
The room was ok, probably the least clean and welcoming of our entire Indian trip unfortunately.
We were on the 4th floor near the terrace restaurant, I would say go for a lower floor to avoid the noise of people leaving the restaurant, the outside music and the early morning arrival of the chattering staff outside your door.
The traditional Keralan food was fabulous and the food waiters very good. Your bar bill is separate from your food bill and the drinks waiter is surly to the point of rude, he will give your change with a 50Rps note folded in the tip area of the bill wallet - don't mind the tip but don't like the way this was done..
The entertainment is repetitive...
When using the hotel computer I was given the slower older desktop while the receptionist watched TV on the newer laptop and when I mentioned the noise in the room there was a shrug of disinterest.
On leaving the owner was sat behind the hotel desk and did not even acknowledge our departure.
The location is good, the pool is nice but not really for swimming in.
Honestly i think you can find much better service, for me there was a general air of indifference towards guests...

Room Tip: Not the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel for a very reasonable price. The public rooms are all amazingly decorated and furnished in traditional Indian style. Our room was a suite with a large bedroom, dressing room and bathroom and a balcony. The room was well equipped, very clean and well furnished.
The service was very good and the food in the restaurant also very good. Just beware of the wine waiter who tells you that you have to settle your drinks bill separately - not true!
The location is in a pleasant residential area but easy to get a tuk tuk or taxi into the centre.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed for a week in a family suite during November 2011 and had a very nice experience. Right from the bed-tea, the Staff was always eager and cooperative in every respect.
The rooms are large and well decorated although some are a bit noisy. The room directly under the kitchen shall be converted to a store rather than a guest suite.
Food is reasonably priced, the dishes form dinnertime tandoor were excellent. The breakfast needs a little more variety.
The owner Mr. Ranvijay was always alert to enhance the quality and both friendly and helpful. He even gave us a ride to the airport in his own car, free of charge, when the cab service booked for our outbound flight did not arrive.
We certainly look forward to visit Umaid Bhawan once again.

Room Tip: Please select a quiet room while booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel is stunning!! This was the last part of our North India Tour and after a real variety of places to stay - city hotel, luxury tent and Homestay it was the a wonderful end to our tour. It was tucked down a residential street in a quiet part of the city and once the door was opened you walked into the most elaborately decorated hotel. The doors and walls all decorated. You pay a higher price than eating in Jaipur but after the train journey from the Ranthambore National Park it was a restful start to a 3 day stay. Unfortunately we only stayed 1 day as a sudden death in the family meant we had to return to England. The Hotel were so helpful and within a few hours we were booked and on an interesting 4 hour taxi journey back to Delhi and home. I was sad to miss out on the tour of Jaipur but will hopefully return and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
780 reviews 780 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 263 cities Reviews in 263 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The decor is fantastic, the pool is a haven from the heat of the day, the rootop restuarant very good.
We only stayed 2 nights and wished it was longer.
The breakfasts and dinners well cooked and we had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Umaid Bhawan Palace
Hotel Umaid Bhawan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.