We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shesh Mahal (Hall of Mirrors)

Shesh Mahal (Hall of Mirrors)
Amber Palace, Jaipur, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 104 Attractions in Jaipur
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Bharuch, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice place to visit. I got reminded of the famous song - "Pyaar kiyaa to Darnaa kyaa" from Mugle Aazam by looking at the fort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    141
    26
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply breath-taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

That a king could go to such a length to create a star studded sky-like environment inside the palace, to create a cosy warm room for the winters with just a few lamps lit inside the sheesh mahal, is simply ingenious. The mirror work is a piece of art, a testimony of the patience and passion with which it was built. Do not miss it for anything. And kindly keep it safe, clean, tamper-free.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepalganj
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Imagination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sheesh mahal is an example of amazing imagination of ancient people of India. Placement of mirrors so that even a single candle light can lit the whole hall is really great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A marvel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The place is a marvel. We were stunned when we entered the place. Everywhere we looked, there were mirrors crafted so beautifully. It was an amazing experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of the most popular tourist destinations in Jaipur, this was on the top of our must visit list. We were amazed to see how mirrors can be used to come up with such an architectural masterpiece. The hall inside was very wide and spacious. It is absolutely unbelievable. You have to experience it to believe it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shesh Mahal (Hall of Mirrors) also viewed

 

Been to Shesh Mahal (Hall of Mirrors)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shesh Mahal (Hall of Mirrors), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.