We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Exotic Marigold Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alsisar Haveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alsisar Haveli to your Saves list
Alsisar Haveli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 311 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The real Exotic Marigold Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Jaipur during Diwali and there were few accommodations available. We ended up at the Alsisar on our tour agent's recommendation. The haveli is beautiful and charming and common areas are relatively well maintained. Our room, on the other hand, was unimpressive: tired looking, with shabby decor. Bathroom was old (with a pipe leaking for the whole duration of our stay). I would not say the room was dirty, but did not look particularly clean either. Breakfast buffet was unispiring and repetitive. Service was proper Best Exotic Marigold Hotel: friendly, smiley but just not up to scratch. Guesthouse level more than hotel. Staff gave you the impression they did not really know what to do (but with a smile). Also I found unipressive that owners were always occupying the best spot in the garden in the evening. The place has great potential, but at the moment is just ok and definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We value it immensely. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. We hope you’ll give us another chance to serve you better and make up for the unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    215
    58
    31
    10
See reviews for
92
194
33
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 days in Alsisar Haveli, and had comfortable good rooms, and the staff gave us good service, and value for money. The hotel is beautiful, and sets you back to another time. Some maintenance should be done, but the overall impression is good - and it basically how you expect a heritage hotel. Beautiful decorations and pictures in all room. Specially the dining room is fantastic.

We had a room on the top floor - and with shared sitting group outside, and seating - this was a nice place to sit - and enjoy the city, and the surrounding hill forts.

The breakfast, lunch and dinners are all slightly similar, and the buffet does not give many options to anyone not loving north Indian food. On in our family did not enjoy the buffet, and the staff was helpful in finding alternatives.

The hotel is only a few minutes from one of the gates to the old town, and it is safe for tourists to walk down there. The Swimming pool is not large, but is nice after a day in the sightseeing. A massage can be done, to a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Top floor gives nice wive and shared siting groups. Narrow stairs is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A truly memorable hotel. It is a shame we could only stay one night as
it was a majical place which I will always remember. Beautiful surroundings and very pleasant, helpful staff. I would certainly recommend and will look forward to another visit sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely words. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Its truly a heritage hotel, taking you back to the rich heritage and colourful cultural backgrounds. The property is well maintianed.

The Rooms:
Its a Haveli hence the its old fashioned, the interiors are great to go with the ambience. The quanlity of beds is not that great , i guess the can do better here. No quilts provided, just ordinary blankets. The armcharis in the rooms are not too great dosent go so well with the over all ambience and its not comfortable either. Washrooms are good with all mordern amenties includint hair dryer.

The Food:
The food served at the restaurent was excellent, you have pleanty of choice. The dining area interiors are well apointed, the overall ambience is excellent.

The common areas:
There is pleanty of common area in this hotel, the garden, in fornt of the restaurent, by the pool, on every floor !. The ambience in all these places are excellent

Swimingpool:
Its a small well maintained pool which goes with the ambience, its great to sit by the pool too and have drink.

Service:
The service was excellent. I had a morning flight to catch hence I had to check out at 4 :30 Am which I had informed the reception the previous night and they asked me if I required a packed Breakfast and if I need a wake up call. No thats being courteous, and that is good service.

Overall its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in 204 its good an excellent view of the garden below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

this was my third or fourth stay at alsisar haveli in the last four years. It's still charming but the management is becoming complacent. it seems that foreign groups use this a lot and perhaps don't make repeat visits, so anything goes. our room 217 where we stayed on march 16/17 was certainly not up to the mark. The a/c wasn't functioning, the fan stopped in the middle of the night and the screen door didn't have a lock or bolt, so, we couldn't even open the door to let in fresh air. the staff was just ok, more interested in the tip at the end rather than show any signs of proactive service, everytime we had to get their attention. management please wake up and don't lose the goodwill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You are a regular guest at our hotel and your feedback means a lot. We will definitely look into the areas you mentioned and ensure we provide quality service to all our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in Rm 301 which was an excellent roof top suite with great views of the courtyard, in this heritage hotel. Good bathroom and shower. Three flights of stairs to climb so if that is a problem think about it. Free internet and computer access but only one and when we were there 4 German men virtually wouldn't let anyone else use it - they need to put a time limit on this ! The food and service in the dining room was excellent, buffet R900 including taxes. Only one choice of dessert, like a carrot cake, very nice but a fruit platter or an other option would not go amiss. They will get icecream if you ask for it.
The staff at reception is what lets this hotel down. The bulb had blown in my bedside lamp, I phoned twice over 40 minutes for someone to bring up a bulb to be told it was on its way - gave up in the end and went down and got it myself, they had done nothing and couldn't care less and no apology. The lunch in the coutyard was slow service and chips were cold. Breakfast was very good. Excellent swimming pool here. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: Room 301 was excellent and you feel like you are in the heavens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest reply. We appreciate it. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. We will ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The entrance from the street looks like nothing but once you open the doors it is a tranquil feeling. The hotel is within walking distance of the Pink City streets which make exploring easy. The room was ok and issues sorted out quickly. The decor is old colonial style Rajistan complete with old style lock. The breakfast was good and the service fine. Mine was a business trip so It was convenient. The air conditioner was noisy.

Room Tip: The back rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you brought certain issues to the notice of the administration during your stay. We are here to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable stay. Your feedback is very important to us. Thank you so much once again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsisar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Haveli

Address: Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#31 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#48 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alsisar Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Haveli: This charming property in rajput architecture style, originally built in 1892 as a noblemans' home has now been converted to a heritage hotel.Alsisar Haveli is set 5 minutes’ walk from the walled pink city and 2 minutes drive from MI Road, the business center of Jaipur. Offering free Wi-Fi, Hotel Alsisar Haveli has a beautiful courtyards,lawns, and an outdoor pool.Rooms furniture and rooms. Rooms feature modern amenities like air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, flat-screen TV and attached private bathrooms.Other facilities include a travel desk and laundry services.The restaurant at this hotel specialises in Indian cuisine but also caters to an international selection. The roof terrace offers pleasant views of Nahargarh Fort. There is also an inhouse masseuse and acupressurist.The Cultural attractions of Hawa Mahal and City Palace along with several shops, cafes and restaurants can also be found nearby.Distance from Airport- 12 kmsDistance from railway Station- 1.8 kmsDistance from Bus Stand-800 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Alsisar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsisar Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.