We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hertiage Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alsisar Haveli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alsisar Haveli to your Saves list
Alsisar Haveli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hertiage Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Its truly a heritage hotel, taking you back to the rich heritage and colourful cultural backgrounds. The property is well maintianed.

The Rooms:
Its a Haveli hence the its old fashioned, the interiors are great to go with the ambience. The quanlity of beds is not that great , i guess the can do better here. No quilts provided, just ordinary blankets. The armcharis in the rooms are not too great dosent go so well with the over all ambience and its not comfortable either. Washrooms are good with all mordern amenties includint hair dryer.

The Food:
The food served at the restaurent was excellent, you have pleanty of choice. The dining area interiors are well apointed, the overall ambience is excellent.

The common areas:
There is pleanty of common area in this hotel, the garden, in fornt of the restaurent, by the pool, on every floor !. The ambience in all these places are excellent

Swimingpool:
Its a small well maintained pool which goes with the ambience, its great to sit by the pool too and have drink.

Service:
The service was excellent. I had a morning flight to catch hence I had to check out at 4 :30 Am which I had informed the reception the previous night and they asked me if I required a packed Breakfast and if I need a wake up call. No thats being courteous, and that is good service.

Overall its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in 204 its good an excellent view of the garden below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    195
    47
    31
    9
See reviews for
81
165
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

this was my third or fourth stay at alsisar haveli in the last four years. It's still charming but the management is becoming complacent. it seems that foreign groups use this a lot and perhaps don't make repeat visits, so anything goes. our room 217 where we stayed on march 16/17 was certainly not up to the mark. The a/c wasn't functioning, the fan stopped in the middle of the night and the screen door didn't have a lock or bolt, so, we couldn't even open the door to let in fresh air. the staff was just ok, more interested in the tip at the end rather than show any signs of proactive service, everytime we had to get their attention. management please wake up and don't lose the goodwill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You are a regular guest at our hotel and your feedback means a lot. We will definitely look into the areas you mentioned and ensure we provide quality service to all our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in Rm 301 which was an excellent roof top suite with great views of the courtyard, in this heritage hotel. Good bathroom and shower. Three flights of stairs to climb so if that is a problem think about it. Free internet and computer access but only one and when we were there 4 German men virtually wouldn't let anyone else use it - they need to put a time limit on this ! The food and service in the dining room was excellent, buffet R900 including taxes. Only one choice of dessert, like a carrot cake, very nice but a fruit platter or an other option would not go amiss. They will get icecream if you ask for it.
The staff at reception is what lets this hotel down. The bulb had blown in my bedside lamp, I phoned twice over 40 minutes for someone to bring up a bulb to be told it was on its way - gave up in the end and went down and got it myself, they had done nothing and couldn't care less and no apology. The lunch in the coutyard was slow service and chips were cold. Breakfast was very good. Excellent swimming pool here. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: Room 301 was excellent and you feel like you are in the heavens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest reply. We appreciate it. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. We will ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We hope you’ll give us another chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The entrance from the street looks like nothing but once you open the doors it is a tranquil feeling. The hotel is within walking distance of the Pink City streets which make exploring easy. The room was ok and issues sorted out quickly. The decor is old colonial style Rajistan complete with old style lock. The breakfast was good and the service fine. Mine was a business trip so It was convenient. The air conditioner was noisy.

Room Tip: The back rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you brought certain issues to the notice of the administration during your stay. We are here to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable stay. Your feedback is very important to us. Thank you so much once again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a spectacular oasis of tranquility amidst the hustle-bustle of downtown Jaipur! Spectacular setting, ambiance, and service, especially by 20-year veteran, "Mr. Mustache".
The food was exquisite, the pool a dream, and the staff extremely personable and professional. I would stay here again at the drop of a hat!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the inner courtyard and enjoy the gathering birds at dusk and at dawn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Alsisar Haveli. It was a pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Alsisar Haveli reminded me of an old Dowager Duchess from a bygone time. This is a really charming hotel, definitely Indian , the wonderful painted ceilings and huge airy bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The service and food good, The hotel is set back off a typical noisy Indian city street, you turn into a little courtyard and there she is hidden from the chaos outside. The splash of colour of the gardens such a contrast from the usual filth of the street outside. The hotel is furnished with special old antiques and reproductions, the over all feel is slightly faded colonial grandeur in a delightfully charming way.
I would have no problem in recommending this as a perfect place to stay for a night or two when visiting Jaipur. I do agree however with a previous review it wasn't always clear trying to get information from the hotel staff as English is definitely not well understood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will definitely try to make our staff more comfortable with the English language so that there are no barriers in communication. Thank you once again for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In November we were in Jaipur, India and we stayed at the Alsisar Haveli. The location is not the best but taking taxis from out the front is easy. However once you step into the grounds of the hotel you feel like you are back in the old India of Maharaja times. It was once a palace and the family still live there on the ground floor of the court yard but use the rest as a hotel. It is truly breath taking.The ballroom is used as the restaurant and breakfast area. There are outdoor tables where you can sit and have a drink while some local musicians and dancers entertain quietly in the back ground. There is a pool however not a big one but it is enough to cool down and is decorated with fountains and tradtitional carvings. The rooms are not big but have ensuites and flat screen TVs.
We had a room on the top floor so we could look over the city and hear the mosques and other festival sounds.
The staff are really happy and friendly which reflects on the owners and managers and it was truly a delight to stay there... right down to their wonderful door knobs..

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so that you can hear and see the city. The hotel has only 3 floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Haveli, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Thanks once again. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsisar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Haveli

Address: Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alsisar Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Haveli: This charming property in rajput architecture style, originally built in 1892 as a noblemans' home has now been converted to a heritage hotel.Alsisar Haveli is set 5 minutes’ walk from the walled pink city and 2 minutes drive from MI Road, the business center of Jaipur. Offering free Wi-Fi, Hotel Alsisar Haveli has a beautiful courtyards,lawns, and an outdoor pool.Rooms furniture and rooms. Rooms feature modern amenities like air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, flat-screen TV and attached private bathrooms.Other facilities include a travel desk and laundry services.The restaurant at this hotel specialises in Indian cuisine but also caters to an international selection. The roof terrace offers pleasant views of Nahargarh Fort. There is also an inhouse masseuse and acupressurist.The Cultural attractions of Hawa Mahal and City Palace along with several shops, cafes and restaurants can also be found nearby.Distance from Airport- 12 kmsDistance from railway Station- 1.8 kmsDistance from Bus Stand-800 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alsisar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsisar Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.