We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samode Haveli is a beautiful, authentic Rajasthani experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samode Haveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samode Haveli to your Saves list
Samode Haveli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Bombay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Samode Haveli is a beautiful, authentic Rajasthani experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

A really wonderful experience. Samode is a delightful haveli boutique hotel, an oasis bang in the middle of Jaipur. Nice swimming pool (though the water is pretty cold in winter!), wonderful rooms, warm Rajasthani service with lots of smiles, great food, pretty good wine list. The main shopping area (old city) of the Pink City is within 15 mins driving distance. The staff is very helpful and can advise you fully on sighseeing, shopping, etc. I stayed there during the Jaipur Literature Festival and a nice bonus was having authors like Martin Amis and Vikram Seth staying in the hotel too! Highly recommended for a great flavour of Jaipur.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    170
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
321
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed at Samode Haveli as part of a tour and have to say this was so much better than staying in a normal 5 star hotel.

It has so much character and you feel like a Maharajah.

The room we stayed in was a deluxe suite (105). Absolutely unique and beautiful with great antique furniture.

The food was the best we had in India. We do like it spicy hot, so mentioned this to the waiter. When we got the food it was so tasty!

Thanks for a truly memorable stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Nothing was too much trouble at Samode Haveli. We arrived very early in the morning - before 7am - and whereas a hotel in Europe would have more or less told us to go away until check-in time, the staff at Samode Haveli stored our bags, offered tea and settled us at day beds at their glorious pool whilst we waited for breakfast and our room to be prepared. We were then shown to possibly the largest hotel room on our trip - a huge suite in the new block at the back of the colonial mansion, freshly decorated and with all mod cons.

However, we'd read up on Samode Haveli in advance of arriving and so we asked if it would be possible to have a room in the original mansion instead. Crazy though it was to reject such a luxurious room, we waited a while longer and were eventually shown to what I can only describe as the most opulently decorated hotel room I have ever seen. Marble-floored, it was full of hand-painted columns and the walls were decorated with mosaics and antique mirrors. The bathroom was equally marble-lined, with a small window looking out over the garden. The only thing to spoil the look was a large (and quite ugly) air-conditioning unit which was out of place (and unnecessary). On the next floor above our room was another equally riotiously-decorated room, the walls and ceilings covered in fading art deco mirror tiles and with a sweet alcove/day bed area with screened windows overlooking the garden, a perfect place for reading a book or writing a diary.

The public areas are lovely - a large and tranquil central courtyard where meals are taken in good weather, filled with fruit trees and fountains. One evening it rained and so we were treated to supper in the painted dining room, a riot of blue and white painted walls and ceilings. Breakfast was the best of our two-week trip and the service was friendly and efficient.

The only downside to Samode Haveli is the location - although you are inside the Old City, the hotel is tucked away in a far corner of the city, making for peaceful evenings in the hotel courtyard and by the pool but also requiring a cab to get to the sights of Jaipur. The neighbourhood immediately outside the hotel compound is 'colourful' to say the least!
And I have slightly marked Samode Haveli down on value as it's not cheap, especially when you add to your room bill a couple of pre-dinner drinks and booked a car and driver for the day. But for a treat, there's nothing else like it. Empty your piggy bank and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011 via mobile

Wow the samode haveli was the most fabulous three nights!! Service was fantastic, the amazing staff were friendly and inviting, and would go out of their way to help you with anything. We were put in two amazing rooms adjoined to each other which were stunningly decorated and furnished and equipped with everything you could need. Both rooms has sumptuous king beds and lovely lounge areas. The food was sensational! Breakfast was always a beautiful spread. The one and only time we ate in our hotel while in India was here in the samode, and it was fabulous food. Not only is the restaurant exquisite in terms of looks, the food was great with no dumbing down of flavored for a mainly western clientele. The pool and bar area are lovely with gorgeous day beds that we spent a luxurious afternoon on. In terms of location, it's really lovey because your far enough away for the hustle and bustle for it to be quiet, but close enough to a place where you can get and auto-rickshaw into town. Beware of the spa, it's lovely but the massage treatment we had was extremely vigorous and not the relaxing experience I had hoped for. I'd highly recommend the samode, although we have heard reviews that the newly built part is not as sumptuous, so request a room in the old part if you can.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This is a heritage hotel just outside Jaipur with 39 rooms in a beautiful tranquil setting. The service is excellent, attentive and efficient with an old world charm. The amenities are excellent with a lovely pool and spa and magnificent dining room which has to be seen tro be believed.Loads to do in Jaipur from sightseeing and shopping - leave room in your suitcase for the famous block printed fabrics.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

As with many hotels the area around this one is rather shabby - BUT - just step inside. Staff are friendly and considerate. We had a suite in the new wing at the rear of the hotel. Tasteful, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The dining room is a marvel, although the weather was so good that we ate on the terrace. Wonderful food, fantastic porridge for breakfast. This was, without doubt, the most beautiful hotel on our tour. Would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Beautiful property that transports you back in time to the glory days of the Raj. We were upgraded gratis (not sure why other than we always try to be freindly during check in) to a suite that was loaded with antiques as well as all the modern amenities that we needed. The beds were clean and comfortable and we had a nice sitting area On a terrace (no view to speak of) outside the front door. The public areas were very impressive architecturally although it appeared that the outside walls could use a coat of paint. Service was impeccable and the breakfasts very good with a wide range of choices. The pool was one of our favorite spots although in November the water was a little cool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samode Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Haveli

Address: Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#18 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#28 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samode Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Haveli Jaipur
Samode Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samode Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.