We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel, but nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jai Mahal Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jai Mahal Palace to your Saves list
Jai Mahal Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As a former palace Jai Mahal has that old kind of historical feel to it, and the amenities are meant to be lovely, but its just kind of missing that special something to make it stand out. I also thought the quality of service was just subpar.

The lobby is pretty and smells delicious to thanks to the fresh flowers. The grounds are well kept and pretty spacious for being in the middle of the city, but some areas of the hotel need a bit of facelift (touch up some paint, clean up some mold, etc). The pool area looks nice and there is a pretty large play area for children.

We were originally put in a room on the first floor with french doors that opened up to our own small garden area. My husband noticed right away that the room was very damp and smelled musky. When the gentleman who escorted us to the room opened the doors to show us the garden several mosquitos flew in the room. We were a day behind the monsoon on our travels so Jaipur had received a significant amount of rain the previous day and more was expected the following day. We are not high maintenance travelers but because of the rains we asked if we could switch rooms and be above ground level - we were simply worried about flooding given the amount of rain during the monsoon and didn't want to deal with a damp mosquito filled room. This seems like a simple enough request (especially given that it was the off season and the hotel was not even half full) but the gentleman who showed us to our room seem highly offended by our request. He kept going on and on about how great our room was and why we should want to stay in it. Finally after asking a couple of times to switch rooms he said we needed to speak to someone else, so we did, and they also didn't understand why we didn't want the garden room. After yet another explanation someone finally came and showed us to a room 1 floor up - which is all we wanted. The new room was a tiny bit smaller than the previous room and thats what the hotel staff seemed to concerned about it - they wanted to make sure we stayed in their "best" room. The smaller sized room wasn't enough for us to really even notice or care about - again, we just wanted to be able ground level in case the monsoon rains were heavy again!

The hotel had our passports during this whole process which was about 2 hours long. On our second night at the hotel the front desk called our room at 10:30pm and said they were coming to get our passports because they forgot to take down any of our information. I found this somewhat annoying because A) they had our passports for 2 hours when we checked in 2 days ago and B) it was 10:30pm and I just wanted to go to bed!! I explained points A & B to this person about 4 times as politely as possible before they finally understood and agreed that we would bring our passports to the front desk the next morning while we were having breakfast. Maybe it was because we switched rooms but we had to get our room key re-set every morning.

The food at the restaurant is good - nothing special to write home about. They do have a cultural show every evening which is nice to watch for at least 1 night - especially if you have children.

The hotel is centrally located so its easy to get around Jaipur. The city is building a subway/metro and there will be a stop across from the hotel. We were not disturbed by the construction in anyway but in the future when the subway completed the area may become busier.

This seems more like a big old hotel thats good for families or conferences. Its a nice location for tourists but if you're looking for a romantic hotel or luxury go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor (garden level) if you will be there during the rainy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback. This allows us to review the existing processes and improve them in order to make your future visits comfortable and delightful.
With reference to your comment on room allotment & Passport handled by our Front Desk, please allow me to assure you that we have seriously taken up the matter with the concerned department. True to the Taj tradition of placing "Customer Satisfaction' on the top of our priority list, we will surely ensure your comfortable stay.
In our constant endeavour towards service excellence, we are trying to provide you with facilities that can be compared with the best in the world. I hope you will appreciate our efforts in trying to measure up to the expectations of our valuable customers like you.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused. We look forward to your continued patronage and support in making Jai Mahal Palace your home away from home.
Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    204
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
207
220
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Taj Jai Mahal palace stay was one of the best in all my travels. The service was more than excellent. I have never seen staff so courteous, helping and ever ever-smiling as theirs anywhere else so far. Afterall, it is Taj property!!

Hotel: As I said, it's a Taj property. So everything is excellent. Hotel, lobby, restaurants, staff, folk dance shows, children activities, other recreational activities are too good.

Room: Room we got was excellent. Though it was not the heritage room in the main property, but it was good.

Food: Food was also very good. We tried both Indian as well as Thai - Italian. It was very good. Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and served everything possible that can be served :-)

Staff: Staff of this hotel is excellent!! They helped in every possible way. We took our son to kid's area. The staff member arranged all the toys that my son can play with. He himself played for short time with him. We saw badminton court near the kid's area and thought to have a hand there. They immediately brought raquets for us. After the sunset, when it was dark, the staff member escorted us till the main lobby. The front desk arranged us a cab for our return drive. The staff in the restaurant was also very nice and talkative. It was the one of the best experience we had there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Jai Mahal Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My trip was the best in this year right from the beginning....flight experience,the rains in jaipur most unexpected which made everything more refreshing and soothing with the washed greenery.The airport pick up turned out fantastic as both the car and chauffer were so good .He even helped as a guide and then when I reached the hotel...what to say and where to begin.Right from the welcome ing with cold towels and garland I was made to feel a VIP every bit.
The people at the front desk and the room services were above average,very polite ,always smiling and helpful.At the Cinnamon Mr.Kamal Barman and his boys were very kind and satisfied all the guests waiting for the cultural show every minute with all his services and knowledgeThe rajasthani dance show was a real surprise to me .Quite breathtaking too!
I will never forget the long walks in the well kept Mogul Gardens and the gym is also well equipped.All in all a really fruitful and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Do not miss the dance show at the porch.It is quite a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and encouraging feedback posted on Tripadvisor. I have passed on your comments to Mr. Kamal Barman and also to our hotel team members.

I am delighted to learn that you had an wonderful and memorable experience at Jai Mahal Palace. I look forward to a fruitful association with you and eagerly look forward to your next visit to Jai Mahal Palace, Jaipur.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall: great Taj property in a great location.

Room: Nice room. Has been upgraded for contemporary comforts even though the hotel itself is very old. Relatively small, but quite ok for a couple.

Service: good service. Honored our request for early check-in because we landed early. Both check-in and checkout was quite breezy. Service at restaurants was good; attentive waiters.

Food: tried the breakfast buffet, which was a decent spread. Also had lunch on one of the days, which was quite tasty. the veg biriyani and dal makhani were simply too good.

Other amenities/observations: didn't try out any. The hotel gardens are rented out for marriages and other events. But we weren't disturbed by the events.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Jai Mahal Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,
Deepak Cedric Menezes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I think this place is the best place to stay in jaipur,well maintained lush green gardens and gives you nice feel while entering.The staff is very hospitable,rooms are very comfortable and spot clean,the food is too good and and reasonably priced.A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Jai Mahal Palace, Jaipur

I am pleased to note that our food, services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Kindest regards,
Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The palace is very beautiful but not kep that well. The lawns are nice & well manucured, etc. The rooms are also not that great & seem to be old. The food is very good & priced reasonbally. But the shocking part was that we went to Rambaug palace for a drink & found that the liquir prices here were cheaper compared to the Jai mahal bar prices even though Rambaug is a much better & more expensive property. Disappointed with this Taj property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

We have noted your valuable inputs to improve various aspects of our operations and shall certainly work towards the same.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Jai Mahal Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The property is huge. with nice spread of gardens.. As you enter the property , u get polarized with the beauty of the property.

However , few points , the buffet b'fast is good .. not an excellent one.. with limited choices..

Also did dining in reastaurant cinnamon.. nice food there , but the sitting arrangement is cramped...

overall good property to stay in..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaimahal, General Manager at Jai Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

We have noted your suggestions to improve our buffet food and Cinnamon Restaurant. Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Jai Mahal Palace, Jaipur and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,

Deepak Cedric Menezes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jai Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Mahal Palace

Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jai Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jai Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jai Mahal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.