We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Stay and Wonderful Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jai Mahal Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jai Mahal Palace to your Saves list
Jai Mahal Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Royal Stay and Wonderful Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The reception is excellent and the aroma of diyas with aromatherapy was making the entry most remarkable. There used to be some or the other party every night in open air at times it was encroaching upon our privacy but open air meals was quite pleasant. The in restaurant breakfast had Indian Classical music which was being played very loudly that was an unpleasant feeling. The staff is very courteous. Overall experience was excellent

Room Tip: If you like lot of activity then choose a room overlooking the ground which is given for parties &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    225
    48
    21
    13
See reviews for
232
254
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a nice hotel with good facilities. Small portion of the hotel is heritage (8 rooms I think) which is on left of teh reception as soon as one enters. I think part of the bar is also heritage. The rest of the hotel I am told was built 20 odd years ago. It has very large lawns which are well maintained and provide lots of opportunity to walk and soak in the sun yet is quite centrally located in Jaipir city.

First the room - I stayed in a standard room which was nicely done rooms with pastel colour walls blending in nicely with the palacely feel. The rooms are reasonally large and have all facilities a delux hotel would have. The bathroom is fairly large as well with a shower quibicle and tub. The faucets and other fittings of the bathroom looked rusty and seemed need maintenance. However, I was later told that the water in that hotel was hard and corroded anything that came in contact quickly so it was tough to maintain - not sure if it was right but the bathroom clearly needed some upgrade / maintenance while the rest of teh room did not.

The food - they have two restaurants and a bar. The Indian restaurant is holed up on top of the bar and has no windows. Dont think too many peole eat there. They however serve Indian as well as other food in their second restaurant which is the all day dining restaurant. This one also seats people on the verandah just outside the restaurant over looking the lawns so is quite nice. The food perse is ok but nothing special to write about. They have a reasonable variety of Indian and contentinetal stuff. The bar is ok with an average4 collection. Breakfast isnt the most impressive spread but has all the basics one would look for. I had a peculiar experience - ordered a biryani but got kababs instead and becuase getting a biryani would take time I settled for a basic dal with white rice - I would think this was a one off but dint seem to find the staff particularly apologetic. Have stayed here before as well - service tends to be indifferent and good at different times - if you find one of the old hands the service typically is good (as I found this time as well as my earlier stays couple of years ago) in the bar while the breakfast and dinner was indifferent.

This hotel also has a swimming pool and gym / spa - dint get a chance to have a look at those.

This hotel is not located in the pink city or close to the toutisty attractions but is also priced susbtantially lower than comparable ones that are close. This hotel is however better located than perhaps the holiday inn or the raj vilas which is on teh outskirts of the city.

Room Tip: Get a room looking the lawns for a nicer view. Ask for recently refurbuished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

From start to finish our 3 night stay at the stunning Jai Mahal Palace was perfect. The decoration, our large and lovely room, the food in both restaurants, the gardens, the pool and surrounding lawn, the spa (great massage by an experienced gal named Santosh) ~ all was just magical. Their biggest asset, however, is their impeccable staff. They remembered my husband's restricted diet and were always there with a smile to help in any way possible. What a wonderful and memorable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

A wonderful hotel surounded by a beautiful garden. Our budget was to small for a room as extraordinary like the hotel itself. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The chef gave us his recipe for the wunderful delicious lamb curry we've eaten for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel really excellent. An oasis in busy Japur. Room was nicely furnished and very clean. All lights and airco and television can be operated out of bed. The service is very good. You are treated as a local king. Having breakfast and dinner on the terrace is a treat. The food is local and international. Others visitors were mostly elderly tourists and businessmen. Witnissed a very expensive marriage with hundreds of guests and even an elephant polo game. During the marriage season (nov-march) there is a marriage every weekend. The hotel premises are well maintained and you never feel unsafe. Had a chat with the hotel security manager explainng what security measures are taken. "almost" paradise because I also visited the Rambargh Palace hotel in Jaipur.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel in the marriage season. Watching a marriage is a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is set within well maintained extensive gardens but the rooms appeared tired and dated. However, facilities were clean, the towels were OK and there was plenty of hot water. The air conditioning worked well.
There is a large, modern attractive lobby and an appealing extension to the restaurant on the open veranda. The menu was varied and we had tasty breakfasts and evening meals.
The staff were very friendly and chatty and the service was good. We did feel a little uncomfortable at times with the pressure to tip at every turn.
The pool did not appeal as there were too many pigeons drinking from it. We liked the evening music and dancing entertainment and the bazaar selling local crafts. We also witnessed an elephant polo match. The gift shop in the grounds was disappointing.
Independent travellers beware - this hotel is used by coach tour groups and there can be additional noise and queuing at breakfast.
The hotel lies on the southern suburbs of town, about a fifteen minute drive depending on traffic, to the centre of town. The Amber Fort and elephant ride and the Observatory visit were particular highlights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My kids and I joined my husband who was staying at this hotel for a business trip. We had plans to do some sight-seeing on the first day after arriving, but our kids loved it so much that we ended up staying our whole first day at the Jai Mahal Palace. The kids enjoyed swimming, playing chess with their foot-long chess pieces, getting golf lessons, trying out billiard, and enjoyed the yummy food at the restaurant. A lovely weekend escape!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the pool, since these are more serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jai Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Mahal Palace

Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jai Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Jai Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jai Mahal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.