We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shahpura House to your Saves list
Shahpura House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   D-257, Devi Marg Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

One of the best hotel we had in India over our one month stay. This hotel is perfect, clean, well decorated, charming. Weel situated in a quiet zone of Jaipur but not to far from the main attraction. Do not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arpanbagchi_sh, General Manager at Shahpura House, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Shahpura House in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arpan Bagchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    226
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
109
286
35
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel was very comfortable with lovely staff. There was a four poster bed, the rooms were beautifully decorated, modern bathrooms, small adjoining lounge. The hotel had little rooms where you could go to relax and read a magazine but there was no time to do this. We had a very nice meal in the outside restaurant where they had entertainment - dancing and puppets.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed here recently as part of a tour. We found the Manager Mr Williams extremely helpful and friendly with a lovely welcome when we arrived. The room was very stylish and comfortable and we had the best nights sleep of the whole tour here as the beds were so comfortable. It was a little bit out of the way but as we had a driver it didn't affect us and in fact we preferred it. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arpanbagchi_sh, General Manager at Shahpura House, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Shahpura House in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arpan Bagchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Lovely little hotel one of the best in the months tour - beautiful room, stylishly decorated, attractive pool area to relax after taking in the sights
Very nice rooftop restaurant with good food and even Indian dancing
Excellent comfort and value

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arpanbagchi_sh, General Manager at Shahpura House, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Shahpura House in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arpan Bagchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at Shahpura house , Jaipur for 2 nights during our 9 day tour of Rajasthan. Our travel agent assured us that we will enjoy the experience and we were not disappointed. It is a little out of the way but we had a vehicle with us so it really did not matter.
The hotel has a lot of character. Our room was very pretty with stained glass windows in a little sitting area. The bed was huge and comfortable. Bathroom was also clean but basic. We enjoyed Ala carte dinner on the roof top. Cool breeze, music and chatter of the tourists made it very lively and pleasant.
Canned juice at breakfast was disappointing and the continental fare was not good. but Indian Parathas and curd were excellent.
Service was pleasant enough .
Overall a lovely place to stay if you are seeking a haveli like ambience

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arpanbagchi_sh, General Manager at Shahpura House, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Shahpura House in the near future.

Warm regards,

Arpan Bagchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Average hotel, but I had a room (suite) on the 3rd floor opening onto a huge terrace ideal for watching the Deepawali fireworkd which made it more bareable.
The junior staff were very friendly but the senior staff rather indifferent. A bit too far from the center of town so sightseeing was difficult (considering the chaotic festival traffic). Best thing about the location is it is just a few doors down from an excellent ayurvedic health center offering great massages.
Swimming pool area too small.
Food very average, breakfast buffet not good at all, but they do cook eggs to order. Perhaps the worst coffee in India though!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Situated in a quiet avenue in the suburbs this hotel is unpretentious yet very comfortable in every sense of the word. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff though they are unpushy and discreet.

The room we had was fine though we'd have rather liked to be in one of the rooms opening onto the balcony of the magnificent Grand Durbar Hall. The hotel has managed to squeeze a pool into the front garden, equipped at certain times of day with a portable bar, and it's very pleasant to while away a few hours between sightseeing endeavours with a dip and a tipple!

As long as it's not too hot it's perfectly feasible to walk all the way into "The Pink City" from the hotel - we did - it took perhaps an hour with stops for shops and a beer. An auto rickshaw (tuc-tuc) cost 100 rupees to return us to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Address: D-257, Devi Marg Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#21 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahpura House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahpura House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.