We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay while in Jaipur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shahpura House to your Saves list
Shahpura House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   D-257, Devi Marg Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 317 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay while in Jaipur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Although not as spectacular as it would appear from the hotel website, the hotel is located in a very nice period building in a quite area of Jaipur. It's very well preserved both in the communal areas and in the bedrooms. Our bedroom was very large, confortable and very clean. The hotel has two restaurants, one on the ground floor in nicely decorated spaces, one on the terrace on the top floor. We were in Jaipur in the winter so the first one was warmer, but the latter had the added bonus of traditional live music and dancing. Both have the same menu. Food, although not cheap, was some of the best we had in India.
The hotel is not in the centre, but only 10m rickshaw from it. Overall I would go back to it and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    258
    55
    20
    21
See reviews for
127
329
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basel/switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first experience in a maharajah like hotel - all the architectural elements you would expect are there. They have very nice rooms, clean, good breakfast, friendly staff. We only stayed one night as we where short in time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a 10 day trip of the Golden Triangle route around Rajasthan. Everything is fine at the hotel and works but it is in quite a run-down neighbourhood and to my eyes looks more dated than heritage in terms of decor. Bathrooms are fine but dingy, breakfast was ok, meals were fine. Room definitely smelled of cigarette smoke that had probably absorbed into the paint on the walls from a previous guest because the smell did not go away! Staff were attentive. By far the cheapest hotel on our trip and good value for money from that point of view. But I was expecting something a little bit more special with character and so was left a little disappointed. Just a little forgettable for me and the pictures on TripAdvisor definitely glamourise it a little too much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Delightful hotel in Jaipur that provided a very comfortable stay. The hotel had tons of character and exactly the sort of place we were looking for rather then defaulting to one of the many modern hotels springing up around the city. Location was excellent to get around and we found easy access to transport for site visits and for venturing out in the evening. The one thing I would say is that food, in comparison to some of the places in the city, was relatively expensive and whilst good I would certainly urge people to get out and visit some alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a pretty quaint hotel, renovated from some one palace. Truly Rajasthan in al respects down to the staff. The food was great and the live entertainment on the roof top restaurant is great. The Internet did not work for us in our room, but expect that was an exception. The competition among hotels in Jaipur is fierce so bargain hard. Check the price of getting your washing done much cheaper outside. I would use this hotel again

Room Tip: Pretty quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Although this heritage property is a little way out in the suburbs (we found it a bother/inconvenience to go out to eat or see the light shows at the Amber fort ), it is a delightful place to stay with fabulous decor, antiques and original features. I loved the brass signage and history of its owners. Our room was fabulous -even the wide screen tv was housed in a wooden frame in keeping with the room decor! The staff were excellent, particularly the gentleman, the maitre d'hotel, who ran the downstairs dining room where we breakfasted in style - he was at ease in control of his domain, and nothing slipped his attention- top-class service! We did dine there because of location, but found the food tasty and well presented. Evening dining was on the rooftop where there were traditional musicians and dancers as entertainment, giving a most enjoyable atmosphere. One of the dancers kept adding another pot to her head as she danced (see photos) and was a pleasure to watch, making the experience memorable. The hotel had obviously squeezed a pool into the grounds where you could relax and either have a snack, lunch or even breakfast. It was a little odd that there wasn't sufficient room to sit on the sunbeds side by side, but they had obviously expanded to meet guests' needs as best they could, and it was pleasant spending time relaxing in this area. We didn't use the spa but we noted spa treatments were available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oran, Algeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lovely Hotel with excellent location, a real picture of Rajasthan Rooms are very well decorated and painted in Rajasthani style. Our room was large, had a separate seating and a bathroom with a shower. The swimming pool makes a great start or end to your. The food is excellent, the chapattis and naans a joy. I would stay here again, if I was ever in Jaipur.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Address: D-257, Devi Marg Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#29 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shahpura House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahpura House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.