We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Place with additional costs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zorawer Singh Gate | Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awsome Place with additional costs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed at the Raj Palace for two nights with my father.
The Hotel is just awsome, though the most palace-like rooms are not open to all hotel guests since they are converted into the suites.

-The Hotel is very calm and tranquil which is good.
-Service is extremely friendly and helpful and absolutely willing to make the stay a good one (with the usual expectance of tipping).
-Hotel is very clean and perfectly maintained (definately like western standard).
-Food (Restaurant) is very good, I can absolutely recommend it!

CON:
as soon as you order/buy something at this hotel it is very expensive (particularly in comparison to other 5***** Hotels in e.g. Delhi!).
Breakfast is just average (Rs 1100/Person!)

On arrival our room was not properly cleaned (lot of hair in room and bathroom) but after informing the staff it was immediately and properly cleaned.

Conclusion:
Great stay, wonderful palace, good food, nice staff - but bring enough extra money (on top of your roomrate) to enjoy all this!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
54
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed in the hotel during our Radjasthan trip. I wasn¨t sure about the hotel, but it turns to be one of the best hotels we stayed in Radjasthan (2 other: Umaid Bhawan in Jodhpur and Leela Kempinski in Udaipur). Very cosy and stylish place. It is real palace with it¨s own history and dignity. You can see it from all the small lovely detailes in the interior and exterior. Very kind and helpful personnel.

There is 2 restaurants in the hotel: one is outside Kebab shop. I can¨t comment it at all, thus it was +3C ouside and we had the dinner at the Swapna Mahal restaurant inside with Indian cuisine. The food was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We really enoyed our stay; the hotel was stunning, great food and exceptional service. We stayed for New Year's Eve attending the Gala dinner which was absolutely amazing; with dancing & great fireworks - a wonderful way to see in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The hotel is beautiful...it is a palace and has the 'wow' factor. ........but make sure you are not put into Room 107. The issue is that the wall between your room and room 108 is made of particle board (thin sheet of wood) and in room 108 the TV is mounted on this wood. So in room 107 you can hear the TV from room 108 very clearly.....not just muffled, but every word of commentary, so your sleeping is determined by the people controlling the remote in room 108.
And what really upset me about this is that when I complained to the front desk they knew this was an issue and told me 'they usually only use this room as a joint room with room 108 because of this issue'.
Yes they moved us, but they shouldnt have put us in this room in the first place. Not what you'd expect in what was otherwise a 5-star hotel! The room experience is quintessential to any hotel stay, and this hotel misses this point.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRajPalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for highlighting the sound proofing problem with this room as this was a part of the interconnecting suite room and hence we got the complaint for the first time.
We have already closed this door with a brick wall and hence the sound problem has been completely resolved now.
We would like to thank you for highlighting this problem.
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed at the Raj Palace for three nights. It is well located on the edge of the old city and the road to Amber Fort. The Hotel itself and its gardens were beautiful and well maintained. My room was spacious and well appointed and, typical of such heritage properties, part of the delight was exploring the maze of corridors and different courtyards. What is outstanding is the quality of service - from the front desk to the restaurant and bar staff. Possibly the best I experienced in India (and with some heavy competition). Downsides? All minor really - it would be great if the could improve the approaches to the Hotel from the main road. During my stay I saw very few other guests - in fact one night had the restaurant and nightly traditional musical/dance performance to myself (along with the attentive staff). So I missed the opportunity to talk with other tourists (but the staff were happy to chat!).
Its a Hotel I would very highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Greetings !!
First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories. It is great to know that you found the rooms elegant and comfortable

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is like an oasis in the crowded pink city... once you enter, it's like the air becomes cleaner:) The Raj is an actual palace, from the 17th c, if I remember it right, they renovated it and arranged some gorgeous rooms there. It was super comfortable and very quiet. Though I remember hearing a cricket one night:) Really, you just feel like staying there all day long:) there's a great restaurant there, too, so you kinda have everything:D The service was ok, could've been better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Mam,
Greetings !!

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and overall

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

the GOOD:
this hotel is truly a palace ...
very romantic place
food very good ...try minestrone soup ;)
the bad:
location is kind of bad ...big contrast between the luxury hotel and the dirty streets
internet is v v v expensive .... around 50 USD /day

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel

Address: Zorawer Singh Gate | Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#33 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent Maharajas palace, located in the heart of Jaipur city. Tucked behind fortified walls, The Raj Palace is Jaipur’s former royal residence and palace. A multi award winning hotel. It is a first museum hotel, stately mansion and pleasure palace with restaurants, a spa, exclusive cinema, pool, gardens, courtyards and stunning decorative features. The Raj Palace is located on the main Amber Road and near to all the Major site seeing places and shopping areas are very near to the palace. It was Built in 1727 to be the Jaipur first palace it is an unrivalled specimen of the Pink City character, charm and grandeur. The palace was converted into an exquisite luxury hotel in 1996. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in India. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThink grandeur to the highest degree. 24 carat gold fittings, stucco, brocades, mirror work, hand-painted frescoes, massive crystal chandeliers, antiques and priceless artifacts, this is a monumental palace with an immense wow factor. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in the world.. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Swapna Mahal Restaurant has been richly decorated with real gold leaf work, a majestic rare crystal chandelier, rich palace furniture and a crockery museum housing centuries old collections. The Shikarbadi Bar decorated with finest hand paintings depicting hunting scenes, housing the finest wine. The Kebab Shop live bar be Que restaurant serving the most authentic Mughlai cuisine dashed with rich Indian spices is a food lovers delight, and any moment of the day, The Royal Lounge (Coffee Shop) is a privileged place. The choice of cuisine is extensive, from international feasts in the restaurant, delicious kebabs on the grill outside to traditional afternoon tea. Watch marionette theatre or a film and browse the various museum collections, from crockery to celebrity to hunting. Go to the spa to relax, the onsite Princess Boutique to shop and the countryside for safaris. A perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with modern world facilities the Hamam swimming pool, Prakriti spa , Manoranjan Multimedia theatre, puppet show, Palmist and choice of booking special gala theme events can make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThe Raj Palace is a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World property and Five Star Alliance Club and also rated as Worlds Leading Heritage Hotel by World travel Awards Seven times in row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Palace Jaipur
Raj Palace Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.