We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zorawer Singh Gate | Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm not sure where to start, but from the moment you walk into this hotel life changes for the better.

This place is truly fit for royalty. Everything from the rooms to the breakfast is simply divine.

A special mention to the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr Chris,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff
We hope to welcome you again very soon

With Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    37
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
55
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I enjoyed three specific things in Raj Palace:

First being the palace and it's history. ( the room and hall make you feel like a king staying there)
Second being the staff hospitality and grand welcome they give you.(every time they see you Rajasthan greetings await you)
Third is that the place is peaceful and one can feel away or cutoff from hustle and bustle of city life and can actually enjoy holidays better ( try evening walk/ sitting/ eating at the front lawn and you will understand the point)

Overall it was a fantastic experience and shall stay there again in future.

Room Tip: Try taking room 104, 105 as balcony is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience.

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

I also personally like the rooms in which you had stayed Room 104 and 105 and specially give the same to special friends as this gives you lot of privacy and also openness as it has a huge balcony attached and then you can even enjoy your afternoon tea there

Next time when you are here, please come back for a little longer and we shall chart out an interesting plan for you to indulge in some carefully crafted unique experiences and take back more beautiful memories to cherish!

Warm regards

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I don’t think I have ever stayed at a hotel like The Raj Palace, and I doubt I will ever find a hotel quite like it again. I believe The Raj Palace was voted India’s number one heritage hotel at some point, and for good reason. This is the place to stay if you love antiques, or want to stay in a former palace. Our room had two displays of antiques, large 300 year-old mirrors, and there are more antiques throughout the hotel including a massive chandelier in the dining room that you might expect to see at Buckingham Palace or The White House. In fact the sheer decadence of The Raj Palace is quite overwhelming, and provides a lot of insight into the incredible wealth of India’s aristocracy.

The rooms are very comfortable, and no doubt differ from one another. Our room was very large with a smaller but adequate bathroom. Two in our party had an upgraded suite, which was fabulous. Internet connection had good speed, but was rather temperamental, and required a few calls to reception to connect. (One of the few areas that needs improvement!) We were rather hot the first night, but the staff had the A/C fixed when we returned, and the second night we were very comfortable.

The service here is very formal. Perhaps a little too formal for our liking, but nonetheless good service is appreciated and I would rather it be good and formal. Service at breakfast and dinner was very attentive. Breakfast was a buffet, and included both Indian and Continental options. Similarly, there was good choice for dinner. I think a glass of wine was just north of $10, and a beer about $5.

The hotel arranged a tour guide and transport for a one-day tour. The prices were significantly higher in Jaipur than Delhi and Agra. We visited the Amber Fort (including a ride up to the Fort on elephants), Observatory, City Palace, and drove past the Wind Palace. And also had time for a little shopping. The hotel also arranged airport pick up which was prompt, and I think it was about a 30-40 minute ride (through the city) to the hotel.

The Raj Palace has a very small outdoor pool, which is nice and refreshing after touring for the day. Also, the hotel has a reverse osmosis system so the water is drinkable. It really is a no expense spared place, and if they don’t have it I expect they soon will.

Overall, I would recommend a visit here simply because it is so unique. You may love it or you may find it too much. But I suspect you will be glad you stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

I will pass on your appreciation to the Housekeeping team for having done a fabulous job in keeping your room tidy and organizing your belongings. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for housekeepers most of whom work behind the scenes.
Also the guide will be given his share of compliments by you

Yes, you should come back for longer and will chart out an interesting plan for you to indulge in some carefully crafted unique experiences at The Raj Palace and take back more beautiful memories to cherish!

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ahh!!.. Of all the beautiful hotels and palaces around jaipur, this one has a special place!!.. It is beautifully decorated to give a royal treatment to its guest!!.. The rooms are awesome and so is their traditional welcome. I really loved the food!! I have previously visited this hotel for a cousins wedding functions and enjoyed my stay completely!!.. The only disadvantage is that its located outside the Pinkcity!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

Somehow you are under the impression that we are outside the city but we are right there in the heart of pink city may be you are thinking that the financial district is the city but basically the Jaipur main heart is the walled city and we are right there
We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don’t give a lot of 5 stars for hotels I stay in on TA, but this one deserves it!
This is only the second hotel that got this ranking from me (the other is Hilton in Kuala Lumpur).

We arrived early in the morning by train in Jaipur, and were at the reception at 07:00. We were greeted as royal family, with a refreshing towel and a fruit juice. Despite being early our room was ready in 10 minutes.
After we got a small tour of the premises we were escorted to our room 402. In the lift the receptionist told us that we got an upgrade to the Prestige suite.
Prestige it was! OMG what a room.
No, not a room, a complete house. Two huge bedroooms with gigantic plasma screens, 2 enormous bathrooms with a bath, shower, separate sinks with bird-taps, living room, study, dressing, huge terrace on the top floor with a Jacuzzi. You’ll have to see it before you can believe it.
Did we get the upgrade because they felt sorry for us having lost our luggage on an Air India flight, or was it because there were not many guests in the hotel?
As Jaipur was the last city on our Indian holidays we more or less have seen the Indian cities so we spend a lot of time of the two days in the room, which was a joy. The staff, no I must say servants, do everything for you.
They make you feel King in this palace.

Room Tip: 402 is the Prestige suite, their best room. When you are upgraded to it, you are so lucky! Or book i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience.
I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

It is great to know that you found the rooms elegant and comfortable and impressive. You must experience the charming luxury palace suite on your next visit!

I will pass on your appreciation to the Butlers and Housekeeping team for having done a fabulous job in keeping your room tidy and organizing your belongings. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for housekeepers most of whom work behind the scenes.

And when you are next there in Jaipur, i shall appoint a special butler for you who is well trained to give most amazing service and experience for the guests.

Many Thanks


Kind Regards
Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are 4 ladies who have been working in Mumbai for 12 weeks. We planned our 3 day trip to Jaipur, and planned to stay in an authentic Indian hotel (we have been staying at the Marriott in Mumbai which great) we wanted a more traditional hotel so we chose The Raj Palace.
Wow....it is stunning, we were welcomed with drinks in the courtyard.
Our heritage twin rooms were spacious, clean and full of history.
We set off early to visit the Taj Mahal so we missed breakfast, the hotel provided us with a take out breakfast for our journey.
We only wish we could stay for longer to fully explore this beautiful palace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mam,
I still remember you when we had a small chat at the reception gate when you arrived in the evening after a long day .
I wish you would have asked for more things and we would have joyfully provided it

Breakfast was so small wish to ask for .We look forward to giving you most amazing experience when you are next there
Take care

Kind regards
ankur Rara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice friendly hospitable staff, convenient great location, very nice beautiful hotel though the breakfast was poorly presented comparing to the status of the hotel, it can be better for such a hotel. But in general, the stay was very good. We enjoyed every moment of it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings !!

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your overall stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

Also i have noticed that you did not liked the breakfast, can you please send me an email on gm@rajpalace.in on the same as to what you did not liked in it, was it breakfast quality or breakfast quantity . Do let us know

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel

Address: Zorawer Singh Gate | Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#30 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent Maharajas palace, located in the heart of Jaipur city. Tucked behind fortified walls, The Raj Palace is Jaipur’s former royal residence and palace. A multi award winning hotel. It is a first museum hotel, stately mansion and pleasure palace with restaurants, a spa, exclusive cinema, pool, gardens, courtyards and stunning decorative features. The Raj Palace is located on the main Amber Road and near to all the Major site seeing places and shopping areas are very near to the palace. It was Built in 1727 to be the Jaipur first palace it is an unrivalled specimen of the Pink City character, charm and grandeur. The palace was converted into an exquisite luxury hotel in 1996. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in India. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThink grandeur to the highest degree. 24 carat gold fittings, stucco, brocades, mirror work, hand-painted frescoes, massive crystal chandeliers, antiques and priceless artifacts, this is a monumental palace with an immense wow factor. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in the world.. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Swapna Mahal Restaurant has been richly decorated with real gold leaf work, a majestic rare crystal chandelier, rich palace furniture and a crockery museum housing centuries old collections. The Shikarbadi Bar decorated with finest hand paintings depicting hunting scenes, housing the finest wine. The Kebab Shop live bar be Que restaurant serving the most authentic Mughlai cuisine dashed with rich Indian spices is a food lovers delight, and any moment of the day, The Royal Lounge (Coffee Shop) is a privileged place. The choice of cuisine is extensive, from international feasts in the restaurant, delicious kebabs on the grill outside to traditional afternoon tea. Watch marionette theatre or a film and browse the various museum collections, from crockery to celebrity to hunting. Go to the spa to relax, the onsite Princess Boutique to shop and the countryside for safaris. A perfect blend of Old world charm with old Royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with modern world facilities the Hamam swimming pool, Prakriti spa , Manoranjan Multimedia theatre, puppet show, Palmist and choice of booking special gala theme events can make the guest experience most unique and unforgettableThe Raj Palace is a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World property and Five Star Alliance Club and also rated as Worlds Leading Heritage Hotel by World travel Awards Seven times in row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Palace Jaipur
Raj Palace Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.