We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Rajvilas

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi Rajvilas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Rajvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goner Road, Jaipur 303012, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Complimentary
Ranked #2 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Memorable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in the luxury tent- which was very well appointed. The staff was courteous and the service was exceptional which to my mind is the hallmark of the Oberoi experience. Though the Dining options were limited, and not to our liking, but overall we had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Oberoi Rajvilas and for sharing with us that you enjoyed staying in the tent and were impressed with the quality of staff and the service they offered.

Positive feedback from patrons like you is our biggest encouragement. I have shared your comments with the entire team.

Special dining options in the gardens are available for guests to choose from if they do not wish to dine at the restaurant. These are weather dependant but still should have been shared with you. If weather is not favourable for an outdoor dining experience then we can organize an interactive Indian cooking demonstration followed by a special meal at the live cooking counter at Rajmahal. The team missed on informing you about alternate dining options and I apologize for that.

Please do give us an opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Jaipur and I will personally ensure that you get to experience most of the cultural, adventure and dining experiences we offer.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    63
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
142
280
19
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Did not stay in the hotel but visited it for Lunch on 1st January 2013. Hmmm so from where do I start?! We were greeted personally by the General Manager himself and were give a choice of several tables to choose from. The service team was just brilliant- anticipating our needs before we could tell them. The menu was filled with exotic dishes- each freshly prepared.

This is by far the best and most exotic hotel in Jaipur. Please please be very careful about certain 'Palace' hotels that claim they are in the centre of tourist Jaipur- this hotel just lives off its reputation and the service and food are pathetic to say the least.

If you want to be treated like royalty, want exotic food blended with superlative service- The Oberoi Rajvilas is the place for you!

Contrary to what certain 'Palace' hotels say- Rajvilas is NOT far from the city centre- it is just 8kms. The location of the resort/fort is tranquil.

Recommend this property a hundred times over!

Thank you Anshul for the great start to the year !

Room Tip: Go for the luxury tents or the villas with a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for a fabulous review of your experience.

We are proud to have you as an ambassador of the "Maharaja" experience which we strive to provide to each guest who walks into The Oberoi Rajvilas.

Your comments on the food and service are very encouraging. I have shared them with the team and they are thrilled!

Please plan to stay with us on your next trip to Jaipur and leave it to us to surprise you with a specially crafted memorable experience.

The Oberoi Rajvilas team looks forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed three days in October, in a luxury tent. It was amazing, and perfect. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and park like, nice for an evening stroll away from the bustle of Agra.There were a few choices for restaurants, we tried them all, we enjoyed every meal.
The pool is tranquil and gorgeous. There were families and couples, everyone enjoying the pool, but even with the play, it was still tranquil.
We did not try the spa, it was tempting, but did enjoy their lovely gym.
The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your experience.

Positive feedback like yours is our biggest encouragement and makes us come up with ideas constantly to compliment the excellent product we have and create memories for our guests.

I am glad to know that you got the opportunity to enjoy the gardens and relax at the pool. Often our guests mention that a stroll in our gardens looking at all the beautiful plants and listening to birds is a welcome break from the busy tours.

I am blessed to have a team which is highly motivated and so genuinely focussed at looking after guests in a personalized yet unobtrusive way. It is very special to know that all your interactions with the team were pleasant and found all of them welcoming and attentive.

The Oberoi Rajvilas team looks forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Jaipur.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Oberoi Rajvilas is beautiful, it's spread out along beautiful gardens, lakes, pools and temples.
The pool is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms are wonderful with a complete glass wall that doesn't compromise privacy.
It is outside the city of Jaipur.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience.

I am happy to know that you had a good overall stay and appreciated the layout of the resort and quality of the rooms.

It is encouraging feedback from patrons like you that motivates us to improve constantly. I have shared your comments with everyone in the team.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Jaipur.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I feel a bit guilty because I am comparing against other Oberois on the same trip, and this was a weaker hotel comparatively. That said, it stands strong as an excellent hotel in my book. Drawbacks: a bit far from town, the staff seemed less trained than other Oberois, and the food was only okay. On the positive side (and there were many positives), the manager called me immediately after my stay to better understand the less-than-perfect experience I had (and then upgraded me to an amazing suite at the Oberoi Gurgaon with 2 dozen roses!...this attention to feedback is unprecedented in my experience, and oh-so-appreciated), the property (particularly the gardens and pool) were beautiful, and the front desk staff were spot on. The extra touches, such as oragamied towels each night, kept me smiling and happy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Oberoi Rajvilas.

I consider your feedback as constructive as it highlights all the opportunities we have to improve to provide a better overall experience.

We have already analysed all your interactions with the team members and identified the areas where we can make a huge difference with quality training. I must mention that we have put our training plan into practice.

Reviewing all our menus periodically is a standard process and our Chef will consider your comments when we will perform this exercise the next time. I am confident that we will be able to improve the food quality with an in depth analysis of recipes, ingredients, cooking methods and presentation.

We are only 8 Kms from the main city but the traffic on the access route poses the challenge. With the opening of a tunnel shortly, the travel time between the hotel and the city will be cut down considerably.

Our team is empowered to create memories for all our guests with little special touches. Thank you for recognizing the attention you received from our team during the stay.

The beautiful gardens are the soul of our resort. I am so glad to know that you appreciated spending time in the gardens and at the pool.

Please give us an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Jaipur and showcase the best of our hospitality. I assure you of a much better overall experience. Our objective is not only to be your favourite Oberoi Hotel but to be your favourite hotel in the world!

All of us look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Would concur with all the reviewers that this is a world-class property...the setting, the service, the suites, the flowers, the birds, the pool--all were so lovely that we didn't want to leave. So glad we had an extra day there to relax and take it all in. The food was very nice--room service was excellent. Would also agree that wi-fi should be included in a luxury package.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Oberoi Rajvilas and for sharing with us that you had a fantastic stay in all aspects.

I am glad that you had a day free and got the opportunity to indulge in the serenity of the resort. A leisurely stroll in our gardens admiring the flowers and birds, a massage at our spa set up in a 280 year old mansion, a blessing ceremony at the ancient Shiva temple and a cup of "Chai" in the afternoon while reading or relaxing at the pool is blissful and just what is needed for a perfect holiday.

I have personally shared your feedback with the entire team and they are all thrilled to receive the appreciation, specially the Chefs.

I also acknowledge your feedback on the internet service. A decision on this will be made keeping in view the best interests of all our guests.

We all look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Jaipur.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rajvilas, and just as importantly Rajastan and India was the setting for our second honeymoon and my wife's first visit to India. In short remarkable in all manner of ways to all the above. On Rajvilas itself we were upgraded from the Trident, Jaipur (itself a great hotel with excellent service and a wonderful view of Jal Mahal) and stayed for only 24 hours. The grounds, the restaurants/food, service, rooms, pool, etc was all world class and an absolute getaway from anything I had stayed at before. What struck me too was the peace and quietness and overall ambience. Having never stayed at anything like this before it was in short breathtaking. It's not cheap, but if your unsure about India I strongly suggest you try Jaipur (including Amber Fort) and Rajvilas - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Honeymoon or the alike ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for an amazing review of your experience at The Oberoi Rajvilas.

I am glad to know that you had an excellent stay in all aspects and felt that we offered you the perfect setting for your second honeymoon. This is fantastic!

Tranquil and serene ambiance at our resort is ideal to relax and unwind while exploring the vibrant Jaipur. Thank you for recognizing this very special characteristic of the Rajvilas experience.

Jaipur occupies an important place on the tourism map of India but we need support from travelers like you to get the impetus which is much required to establish it as a preferred holiday destination for the world. We appreciate your backing of this cause and would love to have you back in Jaipur and at Rajvilas.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Rajvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Rajvilas

Address: Goner Road, Jaipur 303012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Rajvilas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaipur, 'The Pink City', was the vision and triumph of Maharaja Jai Singh II, warrior, astronomer and politician. Built in 1727, it has at its centre the City Palace from which radiate the oleander pink buildings, domes and minarets. To find one such glittering gem in the Rajasthan desert is a feast, yet to discover so many other palaces and forts of legendary splendour within 20 miles, is a veritable festival! Within these magnificent environs, where wilderness is juxtaposed with art, The Oberoi Rajvilas glitters as a jewel in its setting. Its architectural style, its cool, regal interiors and its 32 acres of formal gardens, echo the colours and majesty of Jaipur. Deluxe rooms, sunken marble baths, air-conditioned tents with lavish bathrooms, romantic villas with private pools and dining pavilions offer an opportunity to live a lifestyle of opulence enjoyed by the Rajput princes. You will be greeted as a visiting maharaja and treated accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Rajvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Rajvilas Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Rajvilas
Oberoi Jaipur
Jaipur Oberoi
Oberoi Rajvilas Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Rajvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.