We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic Oberoi experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Rajvilas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Rajvilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Rajvilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goner Road, Jaipur 303012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 311 Hotels in Jaipur
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another fantastic Oberoi experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My first experience with the Oberoi hotel chain was a few days ago in Udaipur and as a result of our wonderful experience there we wanted to check out the Oberoi Rajvilas here in Jaipur. We are in the travel business back in California and travel about 3 months out of the year and get to stay at some pretty nice places, but we are really, really impressed with the Oberoi hotels. This hotel, like the Udaivilas in Udaipur exceeded our expectations. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful, the staff provides a level of service befitting royalty, the rooms are elegant, well-designed with all modern amenities, and extremely comfortable. The location of this hotel is about 40 minutes (because of local traffic conditions) from the center of Jaipur...a plus for some and a minus for others. Since we have been to Jaipur in the past we did not feel the need to shlep back and forth into town, but spent our time instead being pampered on this elegant property and getting thoroughly relaxed and rested before starting our long journey back to San Francisco. We have stayed in Taj properties on prior trips to India (which are very nice) but glad to have had the chance to experience the Oberoi level of hotel and hospitality. If you can afford to stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay at both Udaivilas and Rajvilas.

Positive feedback from a well travelled guest like you is always encouraging. I have shared it with the entire team and all of them are ecstatic.

When our guests get the opportunity to enjoy the gardens and relax and unwind in the serene ambiance, they feel that the visit to Rajvilas has been successful. It was an excellent idea for you to stay back and indulge in the charms of the resort since you had seen the sights of Jaipur on your previous visit.

Our guests are Maharajas and Maharanis of our fort and we do everything possible to create a Royal Experience for them. It is so special to know that you felt thoroughly pampered.

I take this opportunity to inform you about a tunnel opening shortly which will cut down the travel time between the city centre and us considerably.

Thank you for being an Oberoi ambassador. All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    86
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
188
359
28
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing retreat! Away from the madness and chaos of the streets of Jaipur this is a beautiful resort. Lovely grounds and pool (even with their own authentic temple) and outstanding service. Every member of staff greeted us with warm smiles and we really felt they couldn't do enough for us. The private pool dinner was very special and romantic, and dinner at their signature Indian restaurant Rajmahal was excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for an amazing review of your recent experience at The Oberoi Rajvilas. I am delighted to know that you had a good stay.

We are a resort and it is so important for us to offer a serene atmosphere to all our guests to unwind and rejuvenate. Thank you for sharing with us that you felt that Rajvilas was a hideaway!

Ancient Shiva temple in the resort has become a special memory for many of our guests. I am glad to know that you appreciated it as well.

All of us are constantly trying to create special experiences for our guests - dining, cultural and adventurous. Romantic pool dinner is a highly recommended dining experience and as we expected, it became a highlight of your stay.

I have shared your comments on service with the entire team and they are all grateful to you for recognizing their efforts. It is the encouraging feedback from patrons like you which motivates us to deliver friendly, personalized and attentive service consistently.

Entire team here looks forward to welcome you back on your next trip to the pink city!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had booked a standard room for 3 nights whilst touring the golden triangle. Our room was lovely but we were offered the option of upgrading to a tented room. How could we refuse. The room had everything you could want and was a spectacular space. We enjoyed our outdoor space for reading and sipping pre dinner drinks. We ate at both restaurants and loved the food. The gardens and pool were perfect. It is a little out of the city but the silence is worth it.

Room Tip: Get a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your wonderful experience at The Oberoi Rajvilas.

Our luxury tents offer a subtle blend of traditional designs and modern comforts in a beautiful setting which is so close to nature. Tent experience is for those looking for something unique. Hand embroidered tent canopy, old style free standing bathtubs and mudwalls surrounding a private patio are some of the aspects which make staying in a tent so special. I am glad that we had the opportunity to offer you a luxury tent as it definitely made your stay memorable.

Teams in our restaurants and kitchens are grateful to you for appreciating their efforts. Your comments on our cuisine and the restaurants are very encouraging.

I take this opportunity to inform you that with the opening of a tunnel shortly, the travel time between us and the main places of tourist interest in Jaipur will be reduced considerably.

Please plan another holiday with Oberoi Hotels and Resorts and let me know at anshul.kaul@oberoihotels.com, if I can be of any assistance.

All of us at The Oberoi Rajvilas look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel had a surprise at every turn and just when we thought it couldn't get any better, another 'ooh, aah,' appeared! Other trip advisors have sung the praises of the service, the rooms, the gardens - here is my two penny worth.
I opened the shutters in our glorious room (301) to see one of the ground staff among the peacocks, polishing the brass name plate on a tree close by.
Arriving by golf cart at the absolutely superb Indian restaurant in the grounds and being asked if we would like to dine 'inside or out,' my husband queried whether he would be able to read the menu outside with just a Rajasthani moon. 'No problem sir,' and the menus arrived with little bendy torches attached.
We sat by the pool for a few hours and along with the towels came two little pots of sun screen.
We were given a demonstration by two of the delightful waiters on how to tie the Rajasthani head wear - see photographs.
There's more, reader - go there and add on an extra day - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a wonderful review on the experience you had during your recent stay with us.

It is with aniticipation of needs and attention to detail that we aim to create memories for all our guests. I am delighted to know that the team came up with thoughtful gestures at each stage to "WOW" you. This is as special for us as it is for you!

We constantly try to understand the expectations of our guests and as much as possible imbibe them in our service philosophy. Your feedback assures us that we are moving in the right direction!

I am sure that you would tie a turban on several important occasions now and each time you do that you would think about your stay with us. You are our new ambassador!

The team is so excited on reading your review and we all cannot wait to have you back here. Please plan another trip soon and let us know.

I am available at anshul.kaul@oberoihotels.com for any assistance or information you may need to plan a holiday with Oberoi Hotels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a stunning hotel as are all the Oberois! The grounds are gorgeous set in beautiful historic ruins and peacocks stroll all around. The rooms are not only large but have beautiful sunken tubs looking into a garden. The restaurants were wonderful and the food delicious. Definitely not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the experience during your stay with us in December last year.

I am delighted to know that you liked the layout and the fort like setting of the resort. Please let us know when you would return for another Maharaja experience at our fort. All of us would love to have you back!

Sunken baths in our rooms are such a joy and all our guests admire them. I am sure you remember the sunken bath as the highlight of the room!

We have introduced a new menu at our Indian restuarant Rajmahal which includes regional specialties from all over the country. This is another reason for you to return! Teams at both the restaurants are ecstatic to receive your feedback and cannot wait to create more special dining experiences for you.

I am available at anshul.kaul@oberoihotels.com for any assistance you may need to plan a holiday with Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After a long drive from Dehli, we felt as though we'd entered paradise when we arrived at Rajvilas. We stayed in the tented rooms for two nights and wished we could have stayed much longer. The service throughout our stay was impeccable and warm with lovely touches like different baked treats in our room each evening. The grounds are gorgeous, with peacocks roaming freely, and lots of trees, birds, and places to wander, as well as a wonderful pool area in which to enjoy a drink. The breakfast buffet is very good as well. We so much enjoyed the Indian restaurant on the premises that we ate there both nights. The staff made wonderful recommendations that we can still taste! This was far and above our favorite hotel during out trip in India.

Room Tip: The tented rooms offer a very unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic review. It is so special to know that we were your favourite hotel on the India trip. This calls for a celebration!

Soaking in the beautiful greenery and listening to the many birds while walking in our gardens is a very relaxing experience. A memory which most of our guests take back! I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the gardens too.

The service team and Chefs at Rajmahal - our Indian restaurant are thrilled to receive your feedback and grateful to you for appreciating their efforts.

Several other experiences are there for you to indulge in on your next trip to The Oberoi Rajvilas which we hope will be soon. We would love to have you back here!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and sits in a garden setting. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent whether you have western or Indian. Reasonably close to all the attractions (Amber Palace and elephants, Palace of the Winds, etc.). We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anshul K, General Manager at The Oberoi Rajvilas, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to know that you had a good stay in all aspects. I have personally shared your feedback on food with the kitchen team. They are thrilled to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

All of us are delighted to have you as our ambassador and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Jaipur.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Rajvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Rajvilas

Address: Goner Road, Jaipur 303012, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Rajvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaipur, 'The Pink City', was the vision and triumph of Maharaja Jai Singh II, warrior, astronomer and politician. Built in 1727, it has at its centre the City Palace from which radiate the oleander pink buildings, domes and minarets. To find one such glittering gem in the Rajasthan desert is a feast, yet to discover so many other palaces and forts of legendary splendour within 20 miles, is a veritable festival! Within these magnificent environs, where wilderness is juxtaposed with art, The Oberoi Rajvilas glitters as a jewel in its setting. Its architectural style, its cool, regal interiors and its 32 acres of formal gardens, echo the colours and majesty of Jaipur. Deluxe rooms, sunken marble baths, air-conditioned tents with lavish bathrooms, romantic villas with private pools and dining pavilions offer an opportunity to live a lifestyle of opulence enjoyed by the Rajput princes. You will be greeted as a visiting maharaja and treated accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Rajvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Rajvilas Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Jaipur
Oberoi Hotel Rajvilas
Oberoi Jaipur
Jaipur Oberoi
Oberoi Rajvilas Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Rajvilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.