We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gunawati Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gunawati Retreat to your Saves list
Gunawati Retreat
Gunawati House, 6-B, Ganga Path, Suraj Nagar (West) | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 331 Jaipur B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I really liked it there felt like home and the food served was really good and on time the people were nice and the rooms were clean and comfortable beds there was privacy and a friendly atmosphere. There was all the facilities needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staying at Gunawati Retreat was an absolute delight. It is a quaint and cosy, family-owned B&B, situated in Civil Lines. Although, it is slightly tough to find the place, you can always call Mr. Rathore, the owner to help you with the directions. On the day of our arrival, my family and I reached Jaipur late in the evening. Since we didn’t think we’d reach so late, we hadn’t informed the owners that we will be eating dinner. However, understanding that we were really tired and hungry from our journey, Mr. Rathore and his wife were more than happy to cook and serve us dinner. The food was fabulous, although strictly vegetarian. However, even though we are non-vegetarians, we loved the home-cooked meal prepared by Mrs. Rathore for us, including the special 'Gaajar ka Halwa'. It reminded us of home, quite literally!
Our rooms were warm, inviting and really cosy. The antique furniture that filled the space evoked an old world, Jaipuri charm. The beds were neatly made, enveloped in crisp white sheets. The rooms were clean (not a speck of dust) and the toilets were clean as well, and everything functioned perfectly in each of the bathrooms. We visited Gunawati during the winters, so the nights were relatively cold. However, heaters as well as extra comforters were organized for us on request.
If you are new to Jaipur and interested in learning more about Rajasthan, the Pink city and the history of Rajputs, Mr. Rathore is a natural-born raconteur. Belonging to the family of Rajputs, he loves narrating stories about his ancestors, their sheer love for the game of hunting back when it was a royal sport, and is even willing to tell ghost stories.
We had road-tripped to Jaipur from New Delhi in our car. After checking in the first day, the next day we decided to go to the Jaipur Lit Fest. On our return at night, we got lost and could not find our way back. We called Mr. Rathore who gave us the directions once again. After 10 minutes, he called one more time to ask us if we had figured our way back, and eventually we did. The fact that he was concerned about where we were was what left us touched. All in all, the experience was excellent. The Rathores are down-to-earth, humble people, and I would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Jaipur.

Quick Pointers:
The rooms are situated on the first floor, so one does have to climb. This might be an issue for elderly people.
Although vegetarian, they offer excellent omelettes for breakfast.
Gunawati Retreat is located in a safe, residential area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Gunawati Retreat is personal in its approach to the guests. They are concerned and helpful, and try to make your visit as comfortable as possible. It has a home-like ambience, at the same time, there is no interference with your privacy. The attempt is to make your stay unforgettable. The family is interactive and warm, it is place you will come again and again to stay. It is also located in the Civil Lines area,which is central to Jaipur. If you cannot find your way to the hotel, the owner will personally meet you at a point to escort you there (that's what happened with us). You can ask him about places to eat and visit, he is familiar with everything. The lady is gracious and a great cook. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivbana, Owner at Gunawati Retreat, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review n liking the stay n expressing it in such wonderful words. Hope to have you back soon n will try to strive to provide even better n remember always you have a home here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think it is my Jaipur discovery of the year this – Gunawati Retreat. Perfect home away from home experience with home cooked meals and personal attention from the owners. The best part, for a super careless person like me is, if I happen to leave something behind (which I did) it will be handed back to me when I return after hours or even days (which it did!). So here’s what you get at Gunawati, apart from the cozily furnished rooms and running hot and cold water. Attention, cleanliness, warmth from the owners, loads of conversation about flying celebrities (since our Mr. Rathore is a Pilot) and of course help on how best you can exploit your visit to the pink city. I would specially like to mention the fact that they made arrangements for us in spite of me being very late in confirming my booking after initially contacting them. I’d like to thank Mr. & Mrs. Rathore for their hospitality and look forward to visiting them soon again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. they'll make good arrangement so just call in time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivbana, Owner at Gunawati Retreat, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for yor review n liking the stay n expressingit in such wonderful words. hope to have you back soon n will try to strive to provide even better n remember always you have a home here,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The places I usually stay at were totally packed due to the Jaipur Literature Festival and after much ado, we zeroed in on Gunawati Retreat. The place, to be honest, exceeded my expectations on every count - cleaniness, hospitality, service, food. The room, to start with, was extremely clean and comfortable, very well maintained. The hosts went out of their way to be supportive, to the extent that each time we were unable to find an auto from the street outside, the owner would drop us to an auto in his own car. The breakfast was simple, yet delicious and the owner and staff were extremely helpful and sweet. Needless to say, each time I'm visiting Jaipur, this is where I'm going to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivbana, Owner at Gunawati Retreat, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank u for your review n liking the stay n expressingit in such wonderful words. hope u back soon n will try to strive to provide even better n remember always you have a home here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we wanted to return to our honeymoon place now with my family (5) and by chance we found this Rajastan Jewel, the Gunawati Retreat.
It has been the best family trip we ever had. Our kids loved the suroundings and they had a taste of the excelent service.
The place has exceeded our expectations by far.
Thanks Gunawati house for making our journey a memorable one.

Room Tip: The views and the service are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good accomocation and wonderful staff. We had a great long week-end here, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Gunawati retreat was very much a part of our very positive experiences.

All in all a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gunawati Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunawati Retreat

Address: Gunawati House, 6-B, Ganga Path, Suraj Nagar (West) | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a hotel while enjoying a warm cosy feeling of your home with delicious delicasies to your wishful desires to satiate your appetite! We provide the best of facilities to your utmost satisfaction. A guest house / rooms (5 rooms) in posh area of civil lines, jaipur, rajasthan (pink city). Centrally located - well connected (nearest) to railway station (2.5 kms), central bus stand (3 kms), airport (15 kms), walled city (3 kms), main shopping area (3-4 kms), main tourist places (4-7 kms). All the highways are nearby. A decent guest house, well furnished with all facilities like – big size rooms, including suite room with balcony, attach bath rooms with latest design fittings, hot-cold water, air-conditioners, lcd t.v with sattelite t.v channels, intercom phone in each room, heritage furniture including of double-single bed with complete furnishings. Breakfast-lunch-dinner facility, room service, transport, medical aid etc. All type of facility will be available at guest house according to government policies. It is approved by the tourism department, government of rajasthan under bed & breakfast, paying guest scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gunawati Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunawati Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.