We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian life & monkeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galtaji Temple

Galtaji Temple
Jaipur, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 104 Attractions in Jaipur
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Indian life & monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was one of the best trips from Jaipur which is 30 mins away.
It is a bathing area on 3 levels and several temples spread around the lower areas.
Women seem to use the large lower pools and children the smaller middle one. There are several vendors of monkey food if that is your want.
This is a very authentic experience as it is a holy place and I can throughly recommend it as a bit of genuine India.

Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Odd but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

An odd place to visit but interesting. Take some money to buy nuts for the monkeys and also as an offering in the monkey temple itself. It's a fairly long walk up and down hill to get to the temples themselves.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“monkey monkey everywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

not a great and safe place....very untidy,,,,unhygenic and shabby.....pls go there in monsoons to enjoy nature otherwise safely avoid it for ur good. monkeys r real problem...omg

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

from the top it was quite unexpected that there can be such a beautiful place on going down. If you are travelling by car you can bring your car down too altho the road is not too decent but that is just to avoid the walking. All in all it was really beautiful.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed, but watch out for unsolicited tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was one of our favorite stops in all of our Northern India trip. It was great watching the women going about their business at the lower tank and men diving into the middle tank. Monkeys at the upper tank were playing tag with a red scarf which was pretty hilarious.

We did have our only uncomfortable exchange with a "guide" who wouldn't leave our sides, telling us about the place and encouraging us to feed the monkeys. When the tour was complete we gave him a modest tip (for a modest, unrequested tour) however, he wanted more and exchanged some tense words when we wouldn't agree. The tour was actually okay since the monkeys can be a bit nasty and they seemed to trust him. I would just negotiate a price ahead of time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galtaji Temple also viewed

 

Been to Galtaji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galtaji Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.