We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant

The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant
51, Hari Kishan Somani Marg | Hotel Pearl Palace, Hathroi Fort Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India
+91 94 14 236323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,978 Restaurants in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is themed after the peacock, the national bird of India. Our rooftop is a delightful yet calm place, where you can sip a drink or have a bite, admiring the old Hathroi Fort only meters away. The quirky decor and our North Indian delicacies are sure to make for a perfect time. All day dining - 7.30 A.M. To 11.00 P.M. We are a casual multi-cuisine restaurant, but our specialties are dishes from the North Western Frontier. Even if you are not staying here, we invite you to join us at The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing food! Indian and continental. We have had a few breakfasts and dinners here and haven't had anything less than a great meal good atmosphere and a veiw over the neighbourhood. Only criticism is the service is pretty lazy. But all in all very good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    216
    53
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food! Nice view! Competent staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Peacock is delicious and is such a good value I embarrassed to admit we ate there 3 nights in a row. The place is also regularly packed (a good sign) so getting a seat was not always straightforward. That said the only locals we saw eating there were the owner and his buddies so it is a little lacking on local atmosphere.

Dishes served run the gamut of veg. / non veg. Indian tourist dining standards. Butter Chicken, Chicken Tikka, Mutton, Nan, Rice, Dal, Mushroom Masala… its all very good here. The roof deck perch was nice but honestly was a little cold which I am told is very atypical here. The staff was nice but a little slow with the drinks and there was at least one night of the three where I think the waiters forgot that we were waiting for a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great restaurant at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at Peacock. The thali we ordered was well priced and very tasty. The service was very good. The rooftop location and feel of the restaurant was very welcoming. I would highly recommend a stop here while in Jaipur.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had tried to stay here during my time in Jaipur but it was fully booked so I stayed very close by and just went to the restaurant here. It was great; multilevel and very pretty, in a nice quiet area but close to main roads for ease of access. I had a black lentil dhal, potato dumplings in a creamy sauce and palak paneer, snd a chapati. It was far too much food for one person but I managed to stuff it down because it was delicious, washed down with a Kingfisher. My only complaint would be it was cold sitting outside, though they gave you a blanket, but an environmentally-unfriendly heater would have been even better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've said it all in the review title, really. This restaurant is in an old 'haveli' (mansion), but is not very grand inside. It is, however, clean (with a decent toilet!), and serves delicious food at a very reasonable price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant also viewed

Jaipur, Rajasthan
Jaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Rooftop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.