We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Heritage Haveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Heritage Haveli to your Saves list
Royal Heritage Haveli
Khatipura Tiraya(Three Roads) | Khatipura, Jaipur 302012, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the most wonderful hotel. We were greeted by very friendly staff and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wifi is a plus, and the food is absolutely delicious. The evening was spent with the delightful owner Pradip and the other guests around a huge fire with drinks flowing..... just so different from the normal slightly dull hotel restaurants! The hotel's situation was perfect away from the chaos of central Jaipur and we had the most lovely two days at the Royal Heritage Haveli. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure for you to stay with us at The Royal Heritage Haveli, while visiting Jaipur.
We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to having you visit us again as and when convenient.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    49
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
78
194
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were here for two nights and It was an absolute pleasure staying here. The owners and the staff were extremely hospitable and made us feel at home. We had read great reviews before we got there, but the experience beat all our expectations. Thanks to Pradip, Angelique, Prithviraj and the entire team (Muffin, Zoya and Zara included) for making our stay memorable. Would love to be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Amit & Kiran,
Thank you for your kind words for The Royal Heritage Haveli, it's team and the three mascots - Muffin, Zoya & Zara.... We look forward to your visiting us at the earliest.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

RHH is situated in the outskirts, away from the bustling city center of Jaipur (about 45 minutes off). However, the most endearing aspect of this beautiful and charming property was the fact that it took you away from the hustle and bustle of the fast growing urban center that is Jaipur.

It is a small property converted from a hunting lodge and has 10-12 rooms surrounded by well manicured lawns, a swimming pool, and a large open seating area for meals. The decor is fascinating and has a touch of imperial to it. The rooms are nice, spacious and furnished in a stately fashion.

The high point was the service and hospitality. Prithvi took extra care about everything, and the staff was very courteous. We happened to also have a dinner in the open by the bonfire, and the food was sumptuous. The place is definitely expensive, but we found it to be worth the money. The obvious downside of course was the distance from the city, but otherwise it was perfect

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. We are 15 to max 20 minutes away from the City Palace, but yes, Amer is located further away from the old city too. It's good to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you visit us again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a wonderful haven away from the bustle of the vibrant, historical, city of Jaipur. There is the usual security gate and guard, and then a splendid welcome from the staff, when checking in. As other TA reviewers have mentioned, the real highlight of your stay is the cozy get together, fuelled by complimentary drinks, around the roaring wood fire, followed by dinner on the terrace chatting with fellow travelers and host Angelique, with sitar and drums playing. You begin to think: can it get any better? Dinner is home cooked with a choice of Indian or "western", we had the Indian, which was a mixture of vegetable and fish, lamb and chicken dishes. There is plenty of food, perhaps too much, with complimentary wine; service is excellent. Servers are efficient and obliging - all al fresco against the background of a warm fire, ambient lighting and wonderful local music. It's a treat. Breakfast, however, can be a problem if several guest turn up at once. It was really too cold outside and the dining room is too small to accommodate all guests. So, sometimes, one has to wait - or sit outside in the cold. Breakfast fare is less exotic, although freshly cooked eggs, bacon and sausages are available.

Throiughout our stay, we found the staff obliging and friendly (with Prithvi a standout), whether it was checking our dinner needs or checking up on a shirt and jacket order for in town.

As you might expect in a converted haveli, some of the rooms are quirky, the architect having to work with the existing structures. So, one could barely move round our first room for the first 2 nights of our 3 night stay. Water heating is by immersion heater in giant tanks in the bathroom, so one has to remember to turn it on before required. Our second room was the royal suite, which was suitably palatial, more spacious and open plan, except for the bath/dressing room. Nonetheless, like even the best hotels in India, the assumption seems to be that one only has one change of clothes necessitating 2 or 3 shirt hangers. Well, if you are travelling for several weeks, this is not the case. So, the closets are small and the shirt hangers in short supply. The bathroom element was fine, except that when we were moved to the royal suite there was only enough water the following morning for one shower! We were offered a bucket of hot water and were not impressed! Finally, 20 minutes later, I was shown to a shower in another unit, which surprisingly was even more palatial than the royal suite. (Our upgrade to the royal suite was represented as the best they had!). Apologies, of course, which were accepted. but, this should not happen and the first response needed to be better and more timely.

The rooms are pretty cold/cool in February and needed a radiator, which is supplied. In the two units in which we were accommodated, electric sockets were in short supply for the contemporary traveller's electric gadgets. Internet is complimentary but weak and unreliable; a dongle and extension lead is available, however, from the front desk. Opening the doors to one's unit can also be a challenge: the haveli's rooms have huge bolts that have to be slid across, and clasps that have to be aligned so that a padlock can be fitted or undone. It's a bit of a hassle especially if the bolt is bent.

The haveli is beautifully decorated and has lovely, well-tended gardens, which are a pleasure to walk around. There is a nice swimming pool (too cold for February), and comfortable sun lounges with ever-ready staff to help with moving furniture or providing drinks. Security at the Haveli is good, and there is a safe in the wardrobe.

Jaipur is the capital city of Rajasthan and has clearly experienced a boom. It's a prosperous city of some 4 million, with wonderful heritage sites, including the Amber fort, the city palace belonging to one of the richest families in the world, adjacent museum, and the world heritage Jantar Mantar observatory just outside was very interesting. And finally the Hawaii Mahal/Palace of the Winds built for the women of the court entourage, which you can only view from the road. Be sure also to visit the handicraft coop and Lassiwallah for a wonderful lassi drink in a disposable ceramic beaker.

We chose this haveli as opposed to a large international hotel, which is where we stayed in Delhi, Varanasi, and Agra. Clearly, we made the right decision. Would we return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for writing a detailed review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur.
We offer Continental breakfast, nevertheless have taken your inputs and will see how to improve and make the breakfast more interesting. At the Haveli, Sir-no two rooms are similar in terms of size as well as the interiors and very guest has his or her opinion on which room they like.
We do regret the inconvenience you were put to, cause of the Hot Water and have taken steps to ensure this not not happen again. Also the so called Giant Tanks (which we in India refer to as Geysers) were put up this year only to facilitate the guests as Jaipur never experienced such cold weather as before and in this summer, measures will be taken to ensure, they do not hurt the eye. Please understand the fact that old Heritage buildings have to be respected and in doing so, at times, certain Gadgets are an eyesore. We are also working on the space in the dining hall too, wherein the adjoining room, work will commence this summer and we will have enough space indoors for breakfast and guest meals, should the Guest want to sit indoors. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Royal Heritage Haveli at the end of Nov as part of a month travelling in India.

This former hunting lodge is further out of the city then other hotels but this wasn't an issue.
Jaipur is an extremely busy place but once inside the walls of the Haveli, life really slows down.

On arrival, we were met by the Duty Manager and shown to our stunning room "the Blue Room - Suite 103 if I remember, with private balcony overlooking the pool area. We were also invited to attend a pre dinner party with complimentary drinks that evening.

Weather was perfect so we were able to sit outside to eat both evenings. Food was excellent.

The owners Pradip and Angelique, were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they're also on hand should you want a history lesson about the Haveli. I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere with this level of attentiveness from hotel staff.

This is a stunning example of a well maintained and run heritage property which just ticked all the boxes for us and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have you stay at The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It's so good to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay, while you were with us. We thank you for choosing to stay with us while you we're visiting us.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This Haveli run by "call me Raj" is of the high standard usually found in the good Indian Havelis.Enormous rooms,good kitchen,good service,pool etc.We were quite happy with it after leaving the Rambagh Palace .The only disadvantage is its location being a fair distance from the sights and central district so that even with a driver it is a fair way to anywhere.My rating is based on a three/four star establishment.

Room Tip: downstairs rooms lead onto grass area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Jean & Malcolm,
Thank you very much for your review for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. On a second note, we are only 15 minute drive from the City Palace and the city of Jaipur has extended 10 miles beyond our place. Yes, I do agree, someday's the traffic is bad due to festivities in the city and hence it does take time to navigate from one place to the other.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good address I recommend.
Very warm welcome.
The room is very nice and the service is best in class. The swimming pool is very clean too.
You should definitely stay in this quiet and peaceful haveli.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PradipChudasama, Director of Sales at Royal Heritage Haveli, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words for The Royal Heritage Haveli, this former Hunting Lodge of the family of Jaipur. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return as and when convenient.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Heritage Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage Haveli

Address: Khatipura Tiraya(Three Roads) | Khatipura, Jaipur 302012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#26 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The erstwhile shooting lodge of the family of Jaipur - The Royal Heritage Haveli is now opened as a boutique hotel after 150 years - is spread over 100,000 sq ft with gardens and courtyards flowing into one another, with a formal fine dine & an open air restaurant. You could have a cup of tea in the garden, courtyard or in the open verandas, or sit lazily in the lounge with books and a cup of tea. Enjoy a vacation with the exceptional hospitality, perfected over generations here. Go down to the pool and swim away after which you could use the Spa to relax with a good massage. Come to us at The Royal Heritage Haveli and give us an opportunity to pamper you and make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Heritage Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Heritage Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.