We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chitra Katha to your Saves list
Chitra Katha
Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 3 days. 1 day FREE!
Ranked #54 of 312 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This little guesthouse will not disappoint. For just 600 rupees you get a double room with a bathroom, TV with cable, reliable wifi, laundry service, toilet paper, and room service. The staff is extremely attentive as well. Additionally there is a roof top restaurant that looks over a fort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
What a pleasure to read a review like this. Thank you so much for taking out time and sending us this beautiful gift of appreciation. We are glad you loved the hotel, rooms, cleanliness, restaurant and the fort view. We will be hoping to see you again... soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
46
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Away from all the main tourist place, but recommendable hotel if you are looking for cheap and clean one. Located inside residential area, and from top you can see an old fort. The only problem is that you will have to drive much to have the sightseeing of Jaipur.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and clean, recommend you to take any of the AC room, which will be more good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking out time to write this review. And more so for putting up some pictures. We are glad you liked the rooms, view and the restaurant. As far as distance is concerned, we need to understand that it is a simple trade off. if you choose to live in the midst of tourist attractions (main city).... you get exposed to a lot of human traffic, noise, congestion and then you are also tucked away from railway station and bus stand. but when you stay with us, you get peace of mind, clean air, quiet neighbourhood, beautiful view and proximity to railway station and bus stand which makes check-in and check-out a very chilled out process. We are wishing you the best and will be hoping to see you soon again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel location is away from routine city traffic, quite & noise free. Service is also very good. Rooms were crystal clean, especially beds & wash rooms. Staff is also friendly, supportive. Rates are quite reasonable. Good choice to stay in Jaipur ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking out time to write this review. We are glad that you liked the rooms, view, restaurant, service and staff. We are trying to make this better with each passing day so don't you forget to stay with us on your next visit. We'll surprise you. All the best for all the travel you have planned for rest of the year. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We changed our travel plans to go to Jaipur and this hotel was recommended to us by other travellers. They had a good experience here. We had the complete opposite. We checked in very early in the morning (5am) so although we booked for one night we were expecting to pay for two nights. When we arrived, there was an arguement in recepiton between a member of staff and a guest who was trying to depart. We were quickly booked in and went to bed for a couple of hours. All seemed well at this point.

The room was decent with a comfortable bed and clean bed linen. The room and the en suite were also clean so there's no complaints here.

Things started to go down hill form here. The hotel has a roof top restaurant where service was very slow when we ordered breakfast. The chai had to go back to the kitchen becasue it had floaty bits in it. We laughed this off becasue it appear to be a relativly new hotel and these things can happen.

However the dinner experience at the hotel was no better and became indicative of the way this hotel is working. We waited a while to be served drinks and then also had to wait to order food and the food took considerable time to come to the table. I ordered a vegatable rice byriani so imagine my suprise when I found a chicken leg in it. When I called the waiter over, his reponse was 'yes this is a veg byriani' even thought I had the chicken out on the plate. Another member of staff also came over and was questioning me. It was very off putting and a little intimidating.

I eventually had the correct order although they forgot the rice for our friends and then proceeded to add 20% on to the bill along with 120 rupees for a bottle of water. As a rule, the hotel does not supply bottled water free of charge in it's rooms.

This was not an experience we could not laugh off.

To finish off this bad experience, when we went to check out the hotel disputed they had recieved the first payment and so we had to pay for two nights stay. This was done at a time when we were leaving to catch our train and where there is no wifi to access any accounts to show payment. Again, it was also quite intimidating with around 4 members of staff in the reception pointing and talking at us. In the end we paid for the two nights just so we could leave and get to our train.

We have since checked our account and money has been taken from our account so we have paid for three nights in total in a sub standard hotel. It is very reminiscient of the guest who was trying to catch his train and was being pursued for more money and it makes you wonder whether this is a regular ploy by the hotel.

The whole sorry story is a real shame becasue the hotel is located in a nice area and when they are being helpful, they are really helpful. I would not recommend this hotel based on our experience

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
What an irony. It cannot be worse than this for us. It breaks our heart to know that you came to stay with us because our guests recommended us. And we failed to deliver on so many aspects. These guests were happy and satisfied with our property and services. We are really thankful that they recommended us and disappointed with ourselves. The fact that your room was made nicely and cleanliness was taken care of is really the saving grace for us. We apologize for the mishap that happened in the restaurant but that is still a mistake that can happen. It is ghastly but still a human error. Such absentmindedness can happen if the work load is too much. It can be ignored and forgiven with a promise to never repeat it again but what happened at the check-out is unacceptable to us. The manager who asked you to wait at the reception and pay for an extra day instead of catching your train has been asked to leave. Such inhuman people have no place in our premise. However, we checked your bill and you have been charged only for 2 days, not 3. This as per the rule is correct. As you checked-in at 5am and checked out the next day at 9am, while check-in and check-out time is 12 noon. I agree that you occupied the room only for some 28 hours only but your timing was such that we could not help. Yes! we could have considered it as a special case and offered you discount which we actually do for a lot of our guests but then the man (the manager on duty) wasn’t human enough right? And that is why he got fired. As far as free water bottles are concerned, please note that we are a budget hotel and we don’t operate on such fat margins that we can provide free water bottles every day. The 1ltr water bottle is available at a reasonable price of 28 rupees and not 120 like you mentioned in your review. A water cooler with RO purifier is also located at the rooftop to fill free water. And we do provide free pick-up from railway station, free Wi-fi, free toiletries, free towels etc. for all guests. We thank you once again for considering us on others recommendation and we hope that when you are here next, you will give us another chance, to redeem our reputation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Alright, the hotel itself wasn't anything extravagant... although it did have a rooftop restaurant that's pretty stellar, and the prices weren't amazing... though there's the dorm option which was nice. But, what sets this place apart is the staff... all-too-willing to be as helpful as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much. Really. It is so nice that know that our staff is being appreciated for such basic qualities and values like; willing to listen, being helpful etc. This is what is expected out of them. Thank you once again for appriciating the rooftop view and the food at the restaurant. We will be hoping to see you soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Recently stayed here in Chitra Katha and keeping in mind the price, the hotel was nice and well located too. The restaurant upstairs was good and food too. There are also lot of TUK-TUK's outside the hotel which takes you around for city, just take care with the price thing, sometimes they overcharge. The room was upto the expection, clean and with a private bathroom. Had Free Wifi.........that was the best part....!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor with a view and a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for remembering us. To review us after your stay. We really wait for these. We are glad that you have nice things to say about our price, restaurant, food and services. As far as tuk-tuk fair is concerned, we suggest all our guests, to check the correct charge with reception before stepping out as it will always benefit you in negotiating the price the same with the tuk-tuk drivers. All the best for all the journeys you have planned for. We hope these plans will bring you back to Jaipur and chitra katha someday. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights standard room with Fan . Room was clean,Fast check out.peaceful place. Only disappointment was washroom was not in the room was not shared but it was out side room key provided, seems it was only with my room.Staff was good except guy at reception Jai Seems over friendly asked many questions and offering services massage & whatever you need ' etc..on the time of check in .Bit over priced for Budget travellers.

Room Tip: Ask Tuk Tuk to take to you to Gopalbari(gopalbadi ) or hotel near Hotel pearl palace, They seems los...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking out time to review us and appreciating the services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. And while we agree with most of your review, we fail to understand how can the tuk-tuk drivers be confused about our location. Our hotel is at the base of a fort, a very popular location. All one has to say is that I wish to go to 60 Hathroi fort, even if someone doesn't know where chitrakatha is, which can be true as we are just 3 and half year old, but I can guarantee you that there's not a single rickshaw/ taxi driver in Jaipur who will fail to reach the Hathroi fort. Leaving this aside your feedback about the boy (Jai) has been taken seriously and befitting action will be taken. Thanks for bringing it our notice. We agree that our staff should come across as pleasant and warm, and not overbearing or intruding. We'll be hoping to see you soon again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Address: Ajmer Road | 60 Hathroi Fort, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 312 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitra Katha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.