We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay ! So many parasite” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chitra Katha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chitra Katha to your Saves list
Chitra Katha
60, Hathroi Fort | Ajmer Road, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay ! So many parasite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel
Because there are so many ticks and bedbug, fleas and parasites!
I got these insects bites more than 50 bites by 1 night.
I said this fact, but staff is very stupid attitude.
No apologize and laughing
It's so crazy
And staff said, ' please lend me your mobile charger ,because I wanna charge my mobile'
I could't believe his demand.
The stuff is foolish
I went to hospital, because I couldn't walk and move any more to made my body swell up and have allergy by insect bites.
After 2 weeks, I also drink some medicine what doctor has prescribed.
Should not stay here,If you want to protect your body and spend good time!
The medical expenses pay for my own money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It is really unfortunate and sad that you had to go through this pain and treatment because of bed bugs and insect bites. However, you need to understand that we have 21 rooms and only you have complained. Bed bugs and insects do increase after the monsoon but our hotel management and staff keep it under strict vigilance and pest control is done at regular intervals. In fact the rooms are full even today and there has been no such report. We have still asked the pest contol guy to come and inspect it thoroughly. As far as insect bites go, please carry a repellent that suits your skin type. That's the only way to survive and enjoy India at the same time. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
40
34
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I initially intended to stay in Hotel Pearl Palace across the road from this hostel, but as it was fully booked, I decided to come to Chitra Katha instead. And it exceeded my expectations. I was disappointed when I found Pearl Palace was full but this place was amazing. I stayed in the dorm which had 4 single beds, and only 2 of us occupied it so was ideal. The room and bathroom was clean, the rooftop restaurant is divine and the dinner and breakfasts they serve is delicious, amazing portion sizes and all reasonably priced. And the staff are very friendly.

The place is a bit out of city centre. but if you don't mind walking, it's a nice straightforward (though quite long) walk into the centre. Otherwise, there are plenty of tuk tuk drivers about.

Great stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
This is so wonderful to hear. And so kind of you to to refer our restaurant as 'divine', location as 'comfortable', servings as 'full' and service as 'helpful'. Thank you so much. We'll be hoping to receive you and your friends soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The rooms are terribly dirty, I found on the floor of the cotton swab used, strands of hair. The bathroom has a shower with no curtain, poorly maintained, there was no soap or shampoo.

the air conditioner is exactly above the headboard of the bed, about 20 cm from the pillow, with a jet of air which directly affects the person.

Avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We got so used to receiving fantastic reviews that today, we feel short of words to convey our apologies. I would not try to explain or defend ourselves. It was rush hour, the entire hotel was jam packed, the kitchen was delivering dinner till midnight, it has been humid for last couple of months but all these are mere excuses. We were at fault and that's the reason we offered you refund, in full. You were gracious and angry enough to refuse it and leave us at 11 in the night. It hurt as much as it would have troubled you. Cleanliness has got the highest regard at our hotel and we have taken this incident very seriously. This shall never happen again. As far as shampoo, soap, shaving kit, hair dryer, dvd player etc. is concerned, please note, that it is available (complimentary) but on request. Ours is a budget hotel and travellers usually carry their toiletries. Please excuse us for this mishap. Chitra Katha is a well oiled machinery but it is also human. We hope that you will follow our page on facebook or twitter and visit us again to give a chance to redeem ourselves. We hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The host is the nicest guy ever. He let us leave our luggage in the hotel's store room as we went to Jaisalmer for a few days. The rooms are basic but also comfy and quite clean and great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We don't call you 'a guest' just because it is an industry norm. We believe in it. Wholeheartedly. And it makes our day when we see a review like this. Love you lots 'our dear guest'. We'll be hoping to see you soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in the Chitra Katha alone for 3 weeks aprox and have to say it's a great & safe place for women who are travelling alone. The staff is great, helpful, the rooms are charling and this is one of the best quality/price hotel of the city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Lovely review. Thank you so much for appreciating our hotel and the staff. This is what we wait for, really. But most importantly thank you for putting up some pics. So thoughtful of you. Thank you once again and we'll hope to see you soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Around this area, 3 or 4 good hotels u can choose,like pearl palace,sunder palace, kalyan. But this hotel is good also, clean room(not sheet and pillow), friendly crews, nice restaurant, good view and cheaper tariff. you should take a look when pearl palace is full.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are glad to hear that you considered us over and above all the other budget hotels in the vicinity. As far as bed sheets and pillow covers are concerned, thank you for bringing it to our notice. We have replaced the entire lot with brand new stuff. In fact we do this twice a year. Sorry for the unpleasantness you might have to bear. See you soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel staff is good. Food was average. Complementrary breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean and location is approachable. Now some words for trip advisor, these guys R doing good but brother why are you validating word limit of 200 in reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank for such an honest feedback. Our staff will be glad to know that their services were appreciated and as far as food is concerned, we will definitely try to up the ante. Here's wishing you all the best and will hope to see you again, soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Address: 60, Hathroi Fort | Ajmer Road, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitra Katha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.