We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell short of expectations...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chitra Katha

Save Saved
You added Chitra Katha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chitra Katha
60, Hathroi Fort | Ajmer Road, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fell short of expectations...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this property instead of Sunder Palace Guest House located just around the corner. Both properties have views of the Hathroi Fort. Sunder Palace upped it's room cost for the holidays and this place was a little bit cheaper.

The room was clean and plain. It smelled of fresh paint. When we asked for a different room they told us none was available. We regretted prepaying for the three day. The best thing I can say about the place is the bathroom was clean. There weren't any side tables for the bed. A small table was placed awkwardly in the corner under the TV for the phone. There was a small seating area, but the whole place was bland and tiny.

The lock to the door didn't work very well. We had to continually check it. Once when I came out of the bathroom from the shower I saw someone had pushed in open a centimeter and was peeking in. I slammed it shut. My friend swore that he had closed it. You could hear almost everything that was going on in the room next to us.

The room service left something to be desired. We waited three hours for food, and then were told they were out of everything. Terms the conditions on the prepaid receipt stated "4. Outside Food is strictly not allowed in Room," so you are stuck. We finally got some food, but three hours is far too long to wait. I could of had take away delivered more quickly.

Over all I am not impressed. I wished we had just spent the extra money and stayed someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello, We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We will try to match them the next time, for you, and future guests. Having said that, please note that the room you stayed in is freshly built, just before this tourist season. The reason behind fresh paint, bland interiors and clean bathroom. It is so, because it is not done completely. That's the reason why we are reluctant to give it to any guest. All the other rooms are well done. It so happened that you placed the request during peak season and couldn't find a place elsewhere, we don't want any traveller to miss the opprtunity of exploring jaipur. That's the motive of our budget hotel. And hence we gave it to you for cheap. Please note that we don't increase or decease the room rent basis peak season like other hotels, and the room rent remains same for the entire year as mentioned on the official website. I hope you appreciate that. Even these rooms will be well done in some time. As far as the lock is concerned, it was fixed the next day. In all, we are disappointed that you felt this way. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
34
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My stay at Chitra Katha was a good one. It's located in a good neighbourhood with other hotels with restaurants. The dorm accommodation is comfortable and there's plenty of room for backpacks etc. The rooftop is a great escape from the crazy busy Jaipur streets with a cup of chai. The staff were always happy to help if you had a problem. A good choice for those travelling alone and in need of a dorm room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We so happy to know that you likes the dorm facility. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very pleasant, spotless rooms, where the staff make you feel at home from the moment your arrive. Tall people: Mind your head in the first Mt after the reception. The small details in this hotel make the difference. The decoration and the furniture add up to it. The rooftop restaurant is a pleasant place, decent food, the special thali is very good value. The area is very quiet and pleasant and nearby MI Road and the railwaystation. We could easily our motorbike next to reception (off the street)

Room Tip: Some rooms (we had 108) have access to a common balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, view and the restaurant. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked for 4 nights in January 2013 and on the very first night I had a cold shower when this happened the morning of the 2nd day I brought it to the attention of the manager, that evening i had another cold shower the manager said he would get the electrician in, but guess what on the 3rd night the same happened. The response from management was that the shower needs to run for a few minutes and another room was offered to take a shower. To prove that there was not enough hot water for one to have a shower where one baths, washes hair and can shave ones legs etc filled up a bucket which was all the hot water you got when the water went cold and had to wait 15 min before it warmed up again. I was not happy about the situation where I had to wait...cold and wet for 15 min before getting hot water again and not being able to have a shower in a shower but a shower with the hot water i saved from a bucket. As the weather in Jaipur was 3 degrees it makes for a cold shower and a cold room, also requested a heater and had to pay for it. After showing management what was happening with the water they had the nerve to come up with many excuses and to say if we are not happy to leave. To top it off after 2 days our room was serviced and when I climbed into bed the new sheet had stains on it.... that kind if room service is unacceptable. I am not a fussy person but do expect to have a hot shower out of a shower not a bucket and would seriously suggest those considering this hotel to move on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,

First of all let me apologize for all the inconvenience caused. We agree that no hot water can pinch a lot during this time of the year in Jaipur. Having said that, please note we have 20 other rooms and all are full right now. It will surprise you that not even one guest has complained about the water heaters. Even in your case, we are sorry that it wasn't working properly the first night when you checked-in but the matter was resolved the next morning. You were informed that every bathroom has a separate water heater has got a fixed capacity to deliver. It can only provide a bucket full of piping hot water in 3 degree centigrade (at a time) - You have to make a choice - Either you can make 2 buckets out of this or you can use it as a single person to take a hot shower bath. After which you have to wait for 15 minutes for the machine to generate hot water. This is elementary level science. Unfortunately, in your case inspite of our repeated requests and explanation you kept complaining about the fact that it generates only a bucket full of hot water and that is not sufficient. We would like to mention that, in the times that we live today, water is a luxury. And a bucket full of hot water is found to be more than sufficient to take a bath in such extreme conditions. In future, we will definitely move to central water heating systems, so that we are able to meet all kinds of demands and also to serve you better but still, we will put up a sign in the bathroom to urge each and every guest to use water (a scarce resource) - 'responsibly'. Hope you agree. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went with two friends to visit Jaipur in December. Before it I visit the website www.chitrakatha.co.in . It’s a very good hotel located in a peaceful locality. Great food, super service and an excellent staff support combines it all. The rooms are well furnished and nicely lit-up and interior design sums it up. Management on the ball and organized. The staff really seems to take their jobs seriously, and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. There's is nothing more satisfying than a pat on the back. It encourages our staff to perform even better. We wish you and your family a very happy new year and will be looking forward to welcoming you in future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were a group of 10 students, who went to attend a conference in this city. Our Director selected this building for accommodation because of its location, but it was perfect in every sense. Great staff, excellent services, delicious breakfast, free wi fi and nicely decorated rooms were enough to impress us. Restaurant at the roof top was really fabulous. The only downside was that the place is located away from the main markets of the city and we could not manage to go for shopping. Truly a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. It certainly helps us in becoming better. We will be happy to welcome you again and hopefully soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

On 2nd January'12 me and my fiancée reached Jaipur. Just after making a call to the hotel reception we were sent an auto(as written on it's website). As we reached the hotel we find the area extremely clean and noiseless. The hotel's exteriors were appealing. We entered and were warmly welcomed by the owner Mr. Ravi Sharma. By the time I filled the formalities my luggage was shifted in my room. Though it was cold outside but we found the room warm without any heater(money saving fact). Rooms were beautiful and bathrooms were well furnished and clean and facilitated with 24 hr running hot water. The only problem I faced was the noisy bed. Though I believe they'll fix it out soon. And this is not going to put any impact over my review too.
Coming to the food. One word: Delicious.
There's a roof top restaurant with an excellent menu and attendant Saven. There you can not only customize your type of spice preference but also breads and oils too. The attendant gets everything done. The ambience was worth clicking too.
The hotel is located at a prominent location. You can find autos just outside your hotel but you've to bargain for a justified price.

Conclusion: Stay here and you'll find my words less when you'll be writing your own review. Sincere prices both for staying and menu. The hotel have a tagline: A Story per Stay. And I can proudly say-"Yes, I HAVE ONE".

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. It certainly helps us in becoming better. We are delighted to know that you have 'a story' to remember us for. We will be happy to welcome you again and introduce you to our culture, values and lifestyle through stories of a bygone era. We are working on the content for these stories. It will be done, hopefully soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chitra Katha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitra Katha

Address: 60, Hathroi Fort | Ajmer Road, Hari Kishan Somani Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in Jaipur that shares its boundary with the stunning Hathroi fort. in sanskrit 'chitra' means 'picture' and 'katha' means 'story'. and thus the name literally means 'a pictorial story'. rajasthan, a land of chivalrous warriors, legendary kings, beautiful maidens and rich traditions has always been famous for its inspiring folktales. come and stay with us in our extended home to bite into a story, share the sun, smell the fresh sand and also to borrow some vibrant colours for your memory lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Chitra Katha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitra Katha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.