We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oaisis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dera Mandawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dera Mandawa to your Saves list
Dera Mandawa
New Mandawa House, Adjoining Pnb | Sansar Chandra Road, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 366 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Oaisis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You leave a bustling metropolis behind, as you enter the gate to this charming corner of Eden. The courtyard is full of flowers, birds, trees and seating to enjoy a book or just relax. The owners,who live there, make you feel at home and make a personal connection. We had an Indian cooking lesson given by Ushia, which was wonderful, as was she. Our room gave us a feeling of staying in a small palace and was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Excellent location and an opportunity to see and taste that large hotels do not provide! TRY IT, YOU WILL LOVE IT.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
115
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Turning in from the bustling streets of Jaipur, we entered this beautiful, tranquil haveli and immediately relaxed. Our stay here was memorable due to the cool, spacious, quiet suite we occupied and the excellent attentive, yet unobtrusive, service from the staff. We enjoyed the simple but tasty Thali meals with as many helpings as we could eat. "Bed Tea" was another personal touch which we appreciated! The courtyard garden is an ideal place to relax with a cool drink and a book...Dera Mandawa is a peaceful haven and was one of the best places we stayed on our 3 week trip to India.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After a long drive from Agra we arrived at this beautiful peaceful 120 year old residence. It is in the heart of Jaipur but inside the boundaries it was so peaceful and the gardens are beautiful. Durga, the owner, greeted us as if we were family and showed us around the small property where he lives with his son, daughter in law, grand children and other family members. The daughter in law also showed us around the women's quarters and into the barn where 2 cows are kept. The cows are all part of the plan to run a eco-friendly establishment. The gas stove in the kitchen (which we also visited) was powered by methane from the cow dung. Our room was absolutely amazing and I felt like I was in a palace. We were woken to a tea tray in the morning and later, while we listening to twittering birds, a delicious breakfast was served on the balcony - "home grown" wheat porridge , chick pea pancakes and eggs and toast. The evening meal in the courtyard was equally delicious and the staff were excellent. This place is a little gem and I would certainly return on our next trip to Jaipur.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that opens onto a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. Make sure stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay from 30th March to 2nd April 2013.

First of all, the owner, Mr Singh, is really interesting. Besides having a hotel that is well located, clean, well run and with excellent staff, he operates in as environmentally friendly a way as possible (if you get the opportunity to have this demonstrated by the man himself, I would suggest you take it).

Suites are spacious, authentic, cool and clean. Food is excellent and varied, with seconds and thirds offered! The staff are all very friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. The family live in and tend to mingle. I don't always like this, but it's such a nice family, that in this case, it definitely adds to the experience.

We will probably return to this fascinating city, and we will certainly stay here again when we do.

Room Tip: I think they're probably all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A wonderful family-run haveli close to the centre of Jaipur. We were greeted by the owner who did his best to make us welcome and comfortable. We had two double rooms which shared a balcony which in turn looked over the quiet courtyard below. One room was the honeymoon suite and it had a large circular bed. We played cards on the balcony in the evening. Meals were eaten in the courtyard and all the food was delicious and plentiful. We particularly liked the thali.

Room Tip: If you like a circular bed, ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were a little underwhelmed as we arrived at the outside hotel, but quickly changed our minds.Once inside you felt miles from the hustle and bustle of the street outside.
There is a lovely courtyard with comfortable seats and where we ate in the evening.
The food and service was great.
The owner and her son and daughter in law are gradually converting the Haveli. We had a lovely suite with a seating area and a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

An delightful place to stay in Jaipur. It is a calm oasis in the centre of this colourful, vibrant city. The suites are individual and charming. We shared a large balcony with our friends where we played cards in the evening. Breakfast is in the courtyard with birds singing. Dinner is under the stars accompanied by live music and singing. It is small enough not to be bothered by tour parties and large enough to give you plenty of personal space. Service is carefully attentive, overseen by charmings hosts. Stay a few days to get the most of this super city. It was chosen by our wonderful tour operators Indian Moments. A highlight in an absolutely superb Indian holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a large round bed, choose the honemoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dera Mandawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dera Mandawa

Address: New Mandawa House, Adjoining Pnb | Sansar Chandra Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lesser-known fact about Rajasthani monuments is that rarely were forts, palaces and havelis (large residences) constructed at one go. Each generation added new wings, rooms and arches in an architectural style prevalent during its time. DeraMandawa has also seen such an evolution, as the Mandawa family constantly kept extending the residence over the years. Thakur Durga Singh, the current custodian of DeraMandawa is a keen observer of history, culture, religion, current affairs, and is a bank of knowledge so vast that he has a point of view on anything under the sun. He is what one could call a modern traditionalist, actively seeking the use of modern technology and methods to support the principles of traditional living. The inquisitive can have endless conversations with him on a number of his projects like rain -water harvesting, biogas plant, solar heating and, even, healthy cooking. He would be more than delighted to share his experiences with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dera Mandawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dera Mandawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.