We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 300 hotels in Jaipur
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great place to stay. The Admiral was so welcoming and friendly. His staff was too.
Food was just okay... I was really thankful they made something for us though as we arrived pretty late at night and needed something to eat.

The Admiral helped us discover what to explore in Jaipur, too. He even booked a driver for us. I wasn't too happy with the driver though - and pretty sure the Admiral had no idea about this but - the driver was booked for 4 hours - he drive us up to the Amber Palace and tells us to come back to him in 2 hours - we thought, okay, that should be enough time - so as were driving back towards town he starts telling us we'd like to go see some jewels and other stuff (there was a language barrier) and we said - "no, were fine, just take us back" (we were tired and kind of just wanted to relax) - but yet he still takes us to this strange office type building where they basically forced us on a tour where they sell jewels and textiles and art and we had no idea why we were there at all! It was so odd! All these nicely dressed salesmen hounding us to buy stuff was completely annoying! We rushed through there and went to the driver and said to take us to the city palace of Jaipur because we just wanted to be through with him! But he still kept trying to take us to other places... luckily we finally got out of the cab! It was annoying, but like I said, I don't think the Admiral had any part in this - I just wanted to let people know to beware of cab drivers trying to get you to go to overpriced selling joints that work with cab drivers to bring tourists to them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
97
78
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Devi Niketan is a really good option for any type of tourist. Different experience staying in a home converted to hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and airy. Watch out for mosquitoes.
Staff are nice and our brief interaction with the admiral was also good. We did not have any food there including breakfast. the staff had said previous evening that it was possible to give us an early breakfast at 7am, while the admiral came back to us later and said it would not be. This was the only negative.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is way more than a hotel, it is a home where you feel welcome, safe and ready to go places! The rooms are oh so beautifully hand-painted up on ceilings and along door panels. Immaculately clean, and thoughtfully adorned. Admiral Singh has made this a perfect TREAT to stay in! They also provide complimentary coffee and tea in the rooms along water boiler, a great locker and old-charm heaters in the room! The staff is so amazingly sincere and caring! It was a delight to stay here. It was delightful to meet Admiral Singh, who cares passionately for Devi Niketan, Jaipur and its beautiful heritage! Singh Uncle gave us a great description of how to cover the many delightful sightseeing venues in Jaipur and also helped arrange any help we needed. The interiors are so beautiful (discover it for yourself), we enjoyed every minute of our stay there! Thank you so much for your most wonderful hospitality, honest service and homely care :))

Room Tip: We were in room 4, loved it, on ground floor with a lovely small balcony too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed when it was quiet season. Front desk and staff quietly efficient. Room was fine. Breakfast simple and fresh. Swimming pool was a pleasant bonus. Tuc tuc taxis drivers seemed to have difficulty finding so it would be useful to have a card in Hindi with map. A well-run ship !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Admiral Singh, Indian Navy Retired, has turned his family home into a lovely guest house. The artful details on the walls, ceilings, and floors are delightful and refreshing after a jangling day in the market. It is removed from the city center and has a lovely large buffering yard so you don't hear the traffic. The house staff are charming and helpful. Food is maybe uninspired but filling, plentiful and tasty enough. Had our laundry done....even my pj's were pressed. Admiral Singh runs a tight and welcoming ship. By far, this was my favorite hotel in India. Be forewarned, the tuk tuk drivers do not know where it is. Have the phone number handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Devi Niketan is a case study in how to run a good hotel. When we arrived on the train, we called the Admiral and he directed the prepaid taxi driver to the location. We checked in, and the room was not just clean and luxurious, but also decorated to show off local taste. The food was good, though we also took advantage of the chance to eat out (Handi's on MI road). The Admiral gave us excellent recommendations about where to go, how far things were, how much we should expect to pay for the autorikshaw rides, and was always available to direct drivers who got lost (which happened a lot). We loved this place and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited Jaipur over the weekend and had booked for the Devi Niketan. The place is so well located and quiet. Stayed for two nights and had blink and you miss meetings with Admiral but these small meetings were enough to give you a glimpse of the exalted personality of the Gentleman.

The property is worth a experience only because of the fact that they have not tampered with the surroundings and there is touch of originality to everything. The common rooms decorated with the memorabilia of the Admiral during his navy years as also the history of his family are things which add glory to the place. The garden is properly manicured and very quiet. The dining hall is small and sweet and the food served is very homely.

Now on the flip side:
1. The pool is worth having a baby enclosure as kids do have an urge to go in.
2. The mosquitos are a real menace, probably the hotel provides nets during the summer & rainy season, the same can be made a permanent fixture of the rooms.

All in all a place worth staying on your Jaipur visit.

Worth a mention: The three flags hoisted in the dining hall

Room Tip: It is the tradition of the place that counts, all the rooms are worth it, 1st floor rooms overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#14 of 300 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 300 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Fr...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#8 of 300 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Mid-range, City...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 300 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Romantic, City...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#4 of 300 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Best Value Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel to your Saves list