We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Glamping' in a Mughal garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samode Bagh

Save Saved
You added Samode Bagh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samode Bagh
4.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   Village Fatehpura Bansa | Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 208 Specialty lodging in Jaipur
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“'Glamping' in a Mughal garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we arrived and were shown to the tents and dining area I was slightly underwhelmed. That part of the garden is a bit scrubby looking, and the dining area is ugly. The tents (actually cnvas-clad houses, but beautiful nonetheless) have all the comforts needed, including lovely bathrooms.
When we went up to the pool though and entered the main gardens, I was stunned! The main gardens are extremely beautiful, and if you ask nicely they will light them up at night and switch on all the fountains.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
30
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Tents are in need of refurbishment.....monsoon rain marks stain the canopies on the outside, food is not great, ingratiating staff are a mimicry of the American tourist they come across - including the accent....this could be a gem find, but is a bad buy at the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Bagh, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samode Bagh and sharing your views.I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please be rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
V P - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So amazing... it's the loveliest setting, the gardens of the samode palace (that is 5 minutes away by car from the bagh), the rooms are bungalows all around the perimeter of the first part of the garden, one big restaurant and then the swimming pool, spa and the second part of the gardens which is stunning! on the 4 days I was there I never ate anything I did not like, and I tried everything! The rooms are lovely the bathrooms are spacious and the service is amazing. I would recomend it to parents with children to, since there's lots of space to run around and play outside and no dangers since it's all surrounded by walls and gated. The only thing that wasn't good was the mattress, my husband loved it, but to me it was to hard and it's a different kind of mattress, not our usual western ones... but I would go back any time!

Room Tip: ASk about the mattresses, maybe there are newer mattresses on some rooms, who knows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Bagh, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Samode Bagh and giving your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your recommendations and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you again soon.

with regards

K P Singh
VP - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The place is peaceful & quite. Its the best break if you looking to chill, read a book & spend time with the loved ones. The food is awesome & the service impeccable. Absolute value for money. The place has a good pool, excellent open air Jacuzzi & a very big park to chill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Bagh, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative comments and I am pleased to know that your stay at Samode Bagh was to your satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Samode in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
VP - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Bagh to attend a wedding at the Samode Palace, and I think that's what most traveller use it for.

I was tempted to title this "Kya Bagh Hai" unfortunately that would've been misleading...tripadvisor goes from average to very good but I'd rate the bagh at Good. The ambiance at the property is fantastic but the food could've been better. The rooms are comfortable but are too close to each other and one would expect more from a property that links itself to royalty.

It's a nice property for a couple of nights but I think the novelty runs thin pretty soon since most of the structures are modern and only the garden and annexe dates back to older times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Bagh, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Samode Bagh and for taking out time to share your views on Trip Advisor.

The Bagh is a wonderful holiday retreat for families, meeting place for corporates, for guest who love being close to nature as also for weddings and I am glad that you liked the ambience.

We hope for an opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
VP - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The bagh itself is a really cool place to stay. There is the nice pool, the beautiful gardens, there is so much to see right there including the wildlife the adventures in and out. The tented rooms are nice but do need to be updated a bit they look a bit shabby on the inside but, you should go to the bagh for the atmosphere and that is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrsnaSingh, Director of Sales at Samode Bagh, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Samode Bagh.

I am glad that the ambience and the atmosphere was to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Samode in the near future.

with regards

K P Singh
VP - Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were a group of 25-30 persons who stayed at the bagh in April this year. It was a great experience. The place is beautiful, the tents are very comfortable and the huge lawns are very inviting. An ideal place to be in the winter, so that you can soak in all the sun.
The hotel staff was most curteous and catered to all our needs. The kitchen staff was ready to please our taste buds and gave in to all our requests regarding the menu changes requested by our group.
We had a blast and will recommend this property to all who are looking for a holiday with family and friends. Take my word, like us, you too will like to go there again & again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samode Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Bagh

Address: Village Fatehpura Bansa | Gangapole, Jaipur 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 208 Specialty lodging in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samode Bagh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
an air-conditioned tented camp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Samode Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Bagh Hotel Jaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samode Bagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.