We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kebabs and Kurries

Kebabs and Kurries
287, Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Road | Itc Grand Central, Mumbai (Bombay) 400012, India
022 30151311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 6,776 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: K&K,a symphony of fine dining in an ambience that complements the cuisine. Under the baton of the most celebrated Chefs, great curries of the countries are served along with the most exquisite kebabs in the land. Years of experiment and research into ancient culinary secrets have gone into composing a delectable menu that will entrance even the most fastidious gourmet.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a review for the buffet at Hornby's. I'm surprised that a fairly regular buffet without service and one drink was about $40 USD. It's the kind of buffet one gets in the US or UK for $10. It was fine yet nothing special. Way overpriced. I ate at Kebabs and Kurries the night before. It was better and included service - actually less expensive than the buffet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at Kebabs and Kurries, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central, Parel, Mumbai

Thank you so much for your constructive feed back.

ITC is very well known for its excellence in high quality end food and hospitality. We hone our culinary skills and do our best to make each guest feel extremely well taken care of.

We will ensure a better experience for you during your next visit with us.

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“About as 'un-Indian' a dining experience as possible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Recommended by a local we went to Kebabs and Curries with high hopes. However, the food failed to justify the price tag, the atmosphere was stuffy and an incident with the chef further soured our experience.

Firstly the food. Given the reputation and cost the food should have been of the highest order. The reality was small portions of rich food. Not unpleasant, but not earth moving. We ordered three dishes, all of which turned out to be quite rich. Our waiter really should have pointed this out to us when ordering.

Secondly the atmosphere. If enjoy being served by genuflecting waiters, bowing and scraping whenever they approach your table then you'll rate the service as excellent. However, we found the servility of the staff unnatural and vapid. Furthermore, the clientèle seemed to consist largely of men in matching shirts. Which is fine, but it did rather feel like we had walked into a post-conference dinner.

Finally, a lamentable incident with the chef. After eating, a feedback form was handed to us; I gave excellent scores for the service and every aspect apart from the food, which I scored an average 3/5, giving reasons, 'too rich, small portions, too dry etc'. After returning said form the head chef came marching to our table in full chef attire and loudly enquired why we gave him a 3. He was clearly annoyed. I have never been challenged over a feedback form, not even in writing, so to be put on the spot, demanding an explanation when one had already been offered, was frankly embarrassing.

The manager offered to cook us something to our liking tomorrow, but we were leaving the next day so this wasn't possible. The offer of a refund was never made. Not being a confrontational person I left, glad to be shot of the stuffy atmosphere. In hindsight I should have complained to the manager about the chef but I simply felt too embarrassed by the incident to prolong the matter. So here is my complaint in writing.

The food gets a 3/5, but due to the chef the experience deserves 2/5. And that's being generous.

However the management may try and spin this below the fact is the chef should never have confronted us like this. If he was unhappy with our feedback he should have arranged for the manager to speak to us discretely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at Kebabs and Kurries, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central, Parel, Mumbai

Thank you for your valuable feed back.

We have duly noted your experience with us and we will definitely make it up on your next visit.

Looking forward to meeting you soon once again.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food. always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

love the food everytime i come here.
from the starters to the main course and desserts. everything is always perfect.,
crisp wheat naan were awesome. the soup too.
service was excellent.
cant miss it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My personal favorite in Mumbai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Been in Mumbai on a long stay for work and found myself visiting this restaurant very frequently. The food is excellent and the service is exceptional. Menu items include signature dishes from all ITC restaurants such as Bukhara, Peshawari and Dumpukht. The cusine is mainly North India and Mughalai, and has a mix of vegetarian and non vegetarian options. I highly recommend trying Kakori Kebab, Dampukht Biryani, Burrhani Ghosht, Dum Aloo Bharwan, Tandoori Aloo and the famous Dal Bukhara. Sikandari Ran is also good, but it catered to the local taste and its somewhat dry. Do ask the waiter to prepare it in Bukhara style if you want it done in a typical North Indian style. I do not recommend the seafood though, specially Jhinga Anari. I always tell this to my friends, no one could possibly go wrong with ITC Indian restaurants!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itcgrandcentral, General Manager at Kebabs and Kurries, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ITC Grand Central, Mumbai

Thank you for your positive feed back and patronage

It gives us immense pride in telling you that we are the pioneers at ITC K&K for offering a menu for strict vegetarians within Central Mumbai.

We look forward to your continuous visits.

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent food & awesome kebabs. Try the set meal its good. Good service & good crowd. Dal is awesome & so is the meat

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebabs and Kurries also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Kebabs and Kurries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kebabs and Kurries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.